Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Lovely hotel.

Posted May 16, 2017
We always stay next door in the Telford International but decided to try the Holiday Inn. Wow what a great decision. The rooms are about the same but the facilities are so much better. Staff are more friendly and you can use the gym and swimming pool. (Which we did)..... Now the breakfast, again WOW. So much choice and when I asked if I could have poached eggs it was no problem and the waitresses were all so helpful. Will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Lis, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review and I hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Lis Frost Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good Amenities & Walking Distance to Shops

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great dining area and breakfast. Although a little chaotic and most staff friendly. Two young ones brought room service then quickly complained to management we had lit candles (all in secure glass holders) wished they had the courtesy of telling us to our face. Felt they were disingenuous and trying to score brownie points with their boss. Bit naff really. Rest of staff very pleasant and HONEST. Swimming pool great and bath lovely in room but shower power weak. No lifts both out for servicing but no one thought to tell us this prior to our arrival and we had heavy bags to lug up two storeys. Walking distance to Telford Indoor Shopping Center and International Centre. Overall enjoyed our time there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Lis, Hotel Management
Dear Sam Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. I'm sorry you were disappointed with some elements of your stay and your feedback has been noted. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your time here and hope to welcome you back. Kind regards Lis Frost Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in every way

Posted Apr 3, 2017
It is an excellent hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Quiet and very close to the town centre
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Lis, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Kind regards Lis Frost Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by Louisa

Mixed bag

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
POsitives first The staff at reception were very helpfuland also the people in the pool and the main restaurant were friendly. The bar staff seemed a bit all over the place. We were given two gin and tonics with hardly any gin, no ice and no lemon with a less than enthusiactic manner. Just generally felt a bit unwelcome there. The pool is great although a child has messed in it one day and it was just scoped out but not closed and cleaned. The breakfast was very good, varied and plentiful with great service. The room was generally great, clean and everything we needed BUT our radiator was s tuck on full and the air conditioning didn't work so the first night was very disturbed. We got hardly any sleep and woke up with headaches through dehydration! The recpetion staff were very attentive and got maintenance to sort out the problem and gave us two goody bags as an apology .....Unfortunatley though even the though the radiator was diisabled the air conditioning only worked for a few hours before it broke again so another night was disturbed - not as bad as the first by any stretch but the room was very hot even when the window was open. The lift was out of action for the whole time we were there - not a problem for me as only on the first floor but my sister has a bad knee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Lis, Hotel Management
Dear Louisa Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I was very sorry to read of some disappointing elements and please be assured that I have forwarded on your feedback to the appropriate managers so they can be addressed with their team. We are awaiting installation of brand new lifts after they suffered an irreparable breakdown earlier in the year. I do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind regards Lis Frost Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, England

Lovely hotel in convenient location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, atmosphere, leisure club.
Cons: Eating in the bar area was a bit too open.
Location: Very near shopping centre with cinema and great restaurants. Also close to Ironbridge and museums.
Felt very welcome from the minute we arrived at the hotel. Was very friendly and relaxed and we especially loved access to the leisure club which was open to enjoy both in the evening and following morning with the late check out. The location is excellent for exploring the Ironbridge Museums plus shopping and eateries and breakfast was fresh and delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Lis Frost, Hotel Management
Dear Sheryl Thank you very much for taking time to post such a lovely review, and I'm glad you had a relaxed stay. I hope you will come and stay with us again sometime. Kind regards Lis Frost Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really lovely stay

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Lovely hotel, great service, facilities and location. Really comfortable rooms too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Lis Frost, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah Very many thanks for your lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed staying with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Lis Frost Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by Dave

Convenient & Friendly Hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable, friendly staff and surprisingly good restaurant
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dave Thank you very much for awarding 5 stars, I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay and I have passed on your feedback to the team. Kind regards Lis Frost Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by Mark

Great Customer Service

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great central Hotel in Telford staff very good which makes the Hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mark Very many thanks for taking time to post a short but sweet review of your recent stay. I hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Lis Frost Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by Niall

Used to be a nice hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
the lifts didn't work and hadn't for some time. they are being replaced in March, but we should have been warned about this beforehand. the shower in the bathroom just dribbled water out of it. a complete waste of time !!!! The breakfast room is very large, and was virtually empty when we used it, but the staff insisted on placing other guests right beside us (the tables are too close together!!!) - just to make it easier for them. Hotels need to operate for the convenience of their guests - not their staff. This used to be a nice hotel, but small things are making it very sloppy
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Niall Thank you for taking time to share feedback with us after your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the lifts being out of service. Unfortunately they had a major irreparable breakdown and we have to have them completely replaced which takes time from ordering through to installation which is about to commence shortly now. In the meantime we are able to accommodate guests on the ground floor wherever possible and of course to offer porterage and assistance with luggage as always. I have referred on your comments about breakfast to the Food Services Manager so she can discuss your experience with her team, thank you for letting us know. I do hope you will stay with us again, please let me know if I can be of any assistance. Kind regards Lis Frost Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by bargain from ideal location

excellent hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
really enjoyed
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for awarding us five stars, we appreciate it. Kind regards Lis Frost Guest Relations Manager