Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Disappointed

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Food
Cons: Customer Satisfaction
Booked a superior double room which appeared to be a standard room in a 3 star hotel but this is a 4 star ! Had problems with the heating which meant a room change on the second night , this would normally have triggered some kind of satisfaction discount on check out....sadly no. Good points were location , food , and in general good staff. So not really what you would expect from a major brand.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold and draughty rooms

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Cold and draughty rooms. First room the heater was not working and got moved to another room. Very old fragmented buildings. Not worth the money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by steve from Staffs

world class venue but nèed a few extra staff

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
we attended a wedding at this amazing hotel. everything was outstanding except. considering the hotel was full there were very few bar staff on duty. the following morning we had a private breakfast for the wedding guests which was a nice touch except there was again only 1 waitress available who went missing for 20 mins while people were waiting for the breakfast to be replenished and gasping for a morning after the night before cuppa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautiful grounds; fantastic staff

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: grounds facilities staff attention to detail and responsiveness
A great relaxing break. Beautiful building and grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the new block which was nice and quiet at night

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Location: We were there for a local wedding so didn't do any local stuff. We know the area well and visit Shrewsbury as we have relatives there.
Staff very helpful, excellent breakfast nothing too much trouble. We did feel we were intruding on wedding guests when we arrived. We had to go through them with luggage etc. the tables they were using would have been better placed on the lower level of the lawn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly Shrewsbury

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Shame that the local farmers had covered their fields in muck so the whole stay was ruined by the smell and the hundreds of flies. Would not consider staying again as a result
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Machynlleth

Great stay

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Really good