Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joanne from Waltham Abbey, Essex

Wedding Weekend for our Friends

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed 2 nights for a friends wedding (without the kids, which was a bonus!) Really comfortable stay (apart from the false alarm fire drill at 3am on the 1st night) Room not very big but comfortable bed all the same - Breakfast was amazing with lots of choice - all in all, nothing to complain about
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Terence from Milton Keynes

Country Hotel

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived two hours before check in time but the staff went out of their way to make a room available for us immediately. The room was clean, huge bathroom and very quiet.We did not eat in the hotel so cant comment on food. Lovely gardens and setting for the hotel. It is located in a small village so you do need a car to get to restaurants or into Shrewsbury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Neil from Aylesbury

Very relaxing weekend

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
Great weather and a lovely hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Good hotel but expensive

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Areas where you could sit undisturbed by other guests. Swimming pool. Staff excellent.
Cons: The heat level in room 12 and something needs to be done about the extractor noise. Prices could be adjusted downwards - of course.
Location: Quiet country location yet only a couple of miles to Shrewsbury which is a great market town. Battlefield 1403 a .mile away has cafe, museum and walks
We booked this hotel for our anniversary after getting a good room rate for room and breakfast. It is in a country location a couple of miles outside Shrewsbury and very easy to find. Booking in at reception was quick and pleasant and our room was the expected standard Mercure type. But it was very very hot. We got an immediate courtesy phone call from reception and I explained about the heat. A member of staff came and turned off the radiator and we thought that was the end of it. However, the room stayed extremely hot overnight but we could not have the window open because of the constant hum of extractor fans in the yard outside. We had a very disturbed night but as there were no other rooms we stayed on. The hotel provided a flat top sheet and we had a better nights sleep for our remaining 2 nights. Unfortunately we found the bar and restaurant too expensive £7 50 for a glass of house wine was far too much. Having said this the hotel was very good value and had a swimming pool and spa. It was full every day with coach parties but as it was so large it wasn't noticeable. Breakfast was a perfectly adequate buffet although if we had to pay £15 50 per person we would not have taken it. There are other items for breakfast but you have to know they exist and order specifically - there is no menu so you might miss out on kippers or scrambled egg. Staff are very helpful, professional and approachable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely experience

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Lovely setting, staff professional and friendly
Location: Easy run into Shrewsbury
Very pleasant stay we enjoyed the peace of the Schoolmaster's House.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Stayed overnight for a wedding .....food was very nice ...breakfast was a bit disorganised
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stop off

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Pleasant and friendly staff
Location: Close to Shrewsbury town centre, but far enough away to have a quiet and peaceful nights sleep
Nice hotel, lovely location. Freindly greeting from receiption staff. Attentive staff in the restaurant Would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Really nice overnight stay

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Stayed in the old house which was very impressive.
Cons: Can't think of anything at the moment.
Location: Went to Shrewsbury and Bridgenorth
The whole experience was very good, including the food in the restaurant. We really enjoyed ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cheryl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathan from Gravesend

Business 2 night stop over

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel with lovely facilities, delicious food, beautiful surroundings and excellent staff. Truly worth every penny I paid for the room and more. Definitely will return.