Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautiful grounds; fantastic staff

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: grounds facilities staff attention to detail and responsiveness
A great relaxing break. Beautiful building and grounds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the new block which was nice and quiet at night

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Location: We were there for a local wedding so didn't do any local stuff. We know the area well and visit Shrewsbury as we have relatives there.
Staff very helpful, excellent breakfast nothing too much trouble. We did feel we were intruding on wedding guests when we arrived. We had to go through them with luggage etc. the tables they were using would have been better placed on the lower level of the lawn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
We had an excellent time staying at this hotel. Very comfortable, nicely decorate, clean and good service. We had a particularly good experience in the restaurant - we have some severe allergies that were catered to expertly by the manager on duty, who was extremely flexible, accommodating and cautious (which is what is needed with allergies!). Our only criticism is regarding ordering newspapers. We did not order a newspaper from the front desk, but noticed on our room service card when ordering breakfast that there was an option to 'tick' for a newspaper. We ticked the box, assuming that we would then receive a newspaper with breakfast the following morning. Unfortunately we did not receive this, there were no other available newspapers in the hotel and we were told at this point that we should have ordered the newspaper at reception the day before. This was only a mild irritation and we weren't charged - but I'd suggest removing the tick box from the room service card to avoid confusion for guests in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntingdon UK

Country hotel...good at first glance, but...

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Dinner, staff
Cons: Air conditioning. A much improved bar that ould be appropriate in a country hotel
Location: Near Shrewsbury
Nice hotel from the outside, reception staff very nice and efficient. Why there's only one chair, so one of a couple has to stand, I don't understand. Went to the bar, felt like a town centre pub not a country hotel. Straight to the restaurant, food service and room was decent. Warm evening and no air conditioning in the room, windows don't open, just a fan in the cupboard, so not a comfortable night. Paper thin walls....could hear the conversation, tv and party taking place next door. So, good on paper, but lacking in the quality that I expect from a genuine country hotel style hotel.
5 out of 5
by Elaine from Rugeley Staffs

Mini break with my Boyfriend.

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant Hotel, Lovely Decor in the Bar and friendly staff,Dev in the bar is very helpful. Thank you all for a pleasant stay for the second timd,will be returning again.
3 out of 5
by Adam from Newtown

Average at best.

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
The whole day started badly when the hotel called to inform us that the spa treatments we had booked had been cancelled due to a staff sickness and they could only fit us in 2 hours earlier but this was no good for us. As it was late in the day we could not cancel the room as we would lose our money. We decided to attend and make the most of it. Check in was smooth, hotel has been refurbished so it was very clean. Although the room we were given was not one of the refurbished rooms and lacked that cleaniless and was rather on the small side with a shower that looked liked it needed to be replaced. We went down to the bar and decided to have a drink, ordered 2 drinks, they had ran out of both at 4pm on a Saturday - not great. Decided to stay in the bar as we had nothing else to do due to spa treatments being cancelled, we ordered bar meals and the food and for some reason mine came on a plastic round plate?.Our plates werent cleared for sometime, neither were we asked if we wanted desserts so we moved tables and sat back by the bar. Decided to have a glass of prosseco - didnt have any left.Looked on the drinks list and wanted a bottle of rose- didnt have any rose wine at all. My partner settled for a glass of cava which she left as it was flat. We decided to just go back to room around 9pm and call it a night. Couldnt fault the staff but for the cost of the room at nearly £150 a night we would not stay again.
5 out of 5
by Pauline

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
A really lovely hotel, in acres of beautiful grounds. Accessible by car.