Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Nice hotel more comfortable and quiet area

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Part of history
Cons: Need vibrating pad link fire for deaf clients
Location: The road near hotel need wider for road safety
Concern for deaf clients link with health and fire safety issues
4 out of 5
by Kris

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
No hear in the bathroom
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Will never stay here again, the room was a disgrace. Carpets were filthy, loose tiles in the bathroom and bath filled with water when showering, the room was dated and extremely uncomfortable and unclean. The check in experience was horrible as we were kept waiting for over 15-20 mins for someone to come to the desk and see us and when the staff member saw us from the office behind reception after we rang the bell, he told us to wait and so we continued waiting and it was past 11.30pm and we were tired and cold and had lots of bags to carry. Unacceptable. We paid £60 for one night and I find this totally unreasonable for the room we were given and the lack of service we received.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Try and stay in a historical room!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
We had a lovely stay in a lovely historicTudor room - once we had asked to move from an unattractive modern room that had not been properly cleaned. Service likewise varied from the very good to the merely satisfactory.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1 star - would not go there again

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel night service was appalling. I booked a quiet hotel with serene ambiance. only to find a Christmas disco going on next to my room. give the manager credit they did give me a refund
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Bed was comfortable and room fine for our one night stay.
Cons: We were disappointed with the bathroom facilities as we had a long hot drive and arrived late afternoon and found no proper shower in the room.
Location: Location fine, went to Ironbridge for sightseeing and dinner.
Nice room, helpful staff. Good location. We were only there one night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Receptionist very helpful, staff in bar very friendly. Young waitresses at breakfast a bit slow and spent more time chatting to each other. I asked for an egg as none left at buffet. Waited some time and went back to my table. Waitresses did not bother to inform me when eggs came. Dinner - excellent choice on menu and great food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashford

Fab hotel worth more than 3 star

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was great Hotels.com paperwork not so good - we missed breakfast on the first day because it wasn't shown as included on our confirmations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Beautiful old hotel with quirks

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here on our way to North Wales and have stayed here before. Such a beautiful old hotel with amazing character. As with hotels like this there are a few quirks that add to the stay. Rickety old stairs and sloping floors. A comfortable bed and a bath tub. If you prefer a shower the older part of the hotel is hand held...