Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Wouldn't stay if full price

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Room 103 front of hotel. Woken at 6.45 by rubbish bins Room so hot had to open windows Room not ready at 3pm check in Breakfast poor - cold weird scrambled eggs and undercooked sausage Would be very annoyed if payed full price Can imagine room on a Saturday terrible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Full of character and history

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Stayed in Frederick V suite. Very comfortable bed in a room full of old beams. Nice cozy lounge area just off the main bedroom. Combined with lovely new bathroom with bath and modern walk in shower. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcs

nice quiet position in the town

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: The staff & the position.
Cons: The refurbishment needs to be extended to the third floor & the ordinary rooms updated.
Location: Good position for an easy walk to the town centre.Several excellent restaurants, cafe's & eating places close by.
All the staff were very efficient & friendly. Hotel very clean. Most of the Hotel appeared to have ben updated., Our room was on the third floor and hadn't been refurbished. Not a bad room but stll smelt of the old 'smoking allowed' days.The bed was a very small double & my Husbands feet stuck out of the bottom of it. But apart from that we would happily stay again. There was a very good walk in shower, the valet car parking worked very well & the breakfast offered was excellent with lots of choice & very well cooked & presented. A very good weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel, cosy room.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Character.
Cons: Warm up the Bistro bar..
Location: Shrewsbury is an old and interesting town and well worth a visit with hotel situated centrally with easy access to thing to see.
This is based on an overnight stay. Overall the staff were very accommodating and pleasant to deal with. The room was small but this was not unexpected. Room had a balcony which we were upgraded to which was nice :) . The only down side was the Chambers Bistro which was cold and dark also my girlfriend had a sneezing fit and was reminded by a very curt member of staff that there were other guests? (two in fact). Putting that aside we enjoyed our stay and would go to the hotel again but probably steer clear of the bistro especially on a cold night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

would not reccomend

Posted Nov 14, 2016
hotel is really hard to find,was not told there is scaffolding all over the front of the building,its an old hotel but no excuse for plaster off walls by lift,dirty walls in room,general feeling if you book via internet sites you get crap rooms as ours was with views of heating ducts,messy electrical cables and a window you had to stand on a chair to look out of,will not be going back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't Stay Again

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very difficult to find. Staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel in a convenient mid-town location

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
We told the Hotel we were celebrating our Engagement Anniversary and on arrival they very kindly upgraded us to the 'Prince Rupert Suite!' (A special thanks to 'Rachel.') Great Hotel, it was supposed to be haunted, but we had 2 x nights of undisturbed sleep. Special mention to 'Johnny' the Porter for parking the car. Overall - 10 out of 10, would definitely recommend the 'Prince Rupert Hotel' in Shrewsbury, to one and all! Randy & Jo, Stoke in Trent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location. Good Hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for one night on a Saturday. Great location. Near to pubs, restaurants and shops. Room was on the small side put clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good and we found the staff very friendly. Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Walls thin in rooms, floor boards very loud (you could hear someone walking down the other end of the corridor. Room was very cramped (had to move chair in room every time i needed to use the wardrobe or leave the room! Had to wait quite some time for service at breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels