Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Prince Rupert Hotel location was perfect

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: We liked the position of the hotel, close to shops, bars and restaurants.
Cons: There is no parking outside the hotel, on arrival your car is taken away by the porter and parked close by and then returned when ready to leave.
Location: Plenty to do close by. We especially enjoyed the boat trip and lunch at the Armoury restaurant.
We stayed at the Prince Rupert Hotel on the Saturday night during Easter, it was a surprise break for my husband. The hotel is a very quirky old building with lots of character and the dining room quite fascinating. It is in the centre of Shrewsbury with lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The staff at the hotel were so friendly and pleasant. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening we visited the Thai restaurant just a few buildings away, the food was excellent. We enjoyed the full English breakfast at the hotel on the Sunday, it was very nicely cooked. We stayed in room 109 at the back of the hotel which was very quiet, nice size bedroom and out of this world new bathroom with walk in shower and roll top bath, it was lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford

Authentic old hotel with character

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Perfect for town centre Good breakfast Valet parking and complimentary sherry on arrival Nice staff Good rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hythe

Lovely friendly hotel in the centre of Shrewsbury.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The way all the staff would put themselves out to help everyone. They all had a smile on their face and were very positive with a 'can do' attitude.
Cons: Some of the fixtures were a bit worn out and the décor is dated in the breakfast room. However I didn't mind the décor I suspect others might.
Location: Shrewsbury has a wealth of places to visit from the museum, to Darwin's house, the park and river trips. Nearby Ludlow, Wrekin, and Ironbridge.
A comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff who all are polite and very kind. I was staying there during a very difficult personal time as both my parents were ill and there was no room to stay in the family home. At one point I had both parents in hospital and had been up at A&E nights in a row until 1 am. The staff were so supportive and kind making sure I was warm and had food vey late at night. The service at breakfast is amazing and they even wrapped little pastries to take to my mum. It is not the plush modern hotel but it is clean and the atmosphere is friendly and as I have some disability I had a room with a walk in wet room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smallest hotel room ever!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff, breakfast was delicious and was given great advise on what to see locally, by the lady serving us.
Cons: Our room was exceptionally small , really more suitable for one person and we had been warned that the window view was nothing to write home about
Location: Lovely location, by the church etc. but due to wife's mobility problems, the steep incline from the river and park was a problem for us
Great staff, could'nt have been more helpful. Welcoming glass of sherry on arrival was nice after our train journey. The cost of two glasses of wine was the most I've paid in an hotel bar, nearly £14!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Good location once you can find it. Porridge was awful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston

Excellent location

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The room was very clean and modern, but still retaining it's character. The hotel is in a fantastic location near the shops, pubs and restaurants. The breakfast was excellent and the dining room is spacious and relaxing. Would highly recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Wouldn't stay if full price

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Room 103 front of hotel. Woken at 6.45 by rubbish bins Room so hot had to open windows Room not ready at 3pm check in Breakfast poor - cold weird scrambled eggs and undercooked sausage Would be very annoyed if payed full price Can imagine room on a Saturday terrible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Full of character and history

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Stayed in Frederick V suite. Very comfortable bed in a room full of old beams. Nice cozy lounge area just off the main bedroom. Combined with lovely new bathroom with bath and modern walk in shower. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
by Neil

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Right in the centre of town. The service from the staff was incredible, what some might expect from a hotel twice the price or more. lovely single room, can't fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcs

nice quiet position in the town

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: The staff & the position.
Cons: The refurbishment needs to be extended to the third floor & the ordinary rooms updated.
Location: Good position for an easy walk to the town centre.Several excellent restaurants, cafe's & eating places close by.
All the staff were very efficient & friendly. Hotel very clean. Most of the Hotel appeared to have ben updated., Our room was on the third floor and hadn't been refurbished. Not a bad room but stll smelt of the old 'smoking allowed' days.The bed was a very small double & my Husbands feet stuck out of the bottom of it. But apart from that we would happily stay again. There was a very good walk in shower, the valet car parking worked very well & the breakfast offered was excellent with lots of choice & very well cooked & presented. A very good weekend.