Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertsfordshire

In a good position, a very tired hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The staff and the position.
Cons: All the facilities could and should be improved. Rate paid is unjustified.
Location: It is in the middle of town, with many bars, cafes immediately closeby.
Good position, but do not go by car as to find and park is very difficult. We had possibly the worst room in the hotel, maybe deserving one star, not four. A lot of money needed to bring it up to that standard. After complaining, changed to a slightly better one. Bathroom tiny and quite dated. Staff tries hard and obliging. Breakfast the other good point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautifully located hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Terrific location.
Cons: The bedroom was comfortable and smart, but there was slightly too much furniture for the available floor space, so it was hard to get round the beds.
I had a stroke about a year ago, and since then walking has been a bit of a problem for me. So my wife and I wanted a hotel that would allow us to walk everywhere in Shrewsbury if we wanted. The Prince Rupert was perfect for this, being bang in the middle of town, but on top of that, it turned out to be a real find. The staff are delightful, the place smart and clean and comfortable and the breakfasts excellent. We had a lovely weekend, and we will be back as soon as we can organise it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Very good hotel and service breakfast was excellent have booked again next year with an extra day
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

in the city centre

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: the room rates could be a little better, have stayed in B&B's which are a lot better
hotel is in the city centre, the room is over priced and a little noisy from the fan outside, breakfast was ok but was a little on the small side
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Nice hotel near the town centre

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Ebookers
Staff looked after us and we're very helpful, only problem is it is difficult to find through narrow streets,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff made this a very pleasant stay. The location was fantastic and the common areas were very well appointed. The bedroom had a great view, though the fittings were somewhat dated, especially in the bathroom. Heating was adequate, but the sound-proofing could be improved. Breakfast was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Prince Rupert Hotel location was perfect

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: We liked the position of the hotel, close to shops, bars and restaurants.
Cons: There is no parking outside the hotel, on arrival your car is taken away by the porter and parked close by and then returned when ready to leave.
Location: Plenty to do close by. We especially enjoyed the boat trip and lunch at the Armoury restaurant.
We stayed at the Prince Rupert Hotel on the Saturday night during Easter, it was a surprise break for my husband. The hotel is a very quirky old building with lots of character and the dining room quite fascinating. It is in the centre of Shrewsbury with lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The staff at the hotel were so friendly and pleasant. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening we visited the Thai restaurant just a few buildings away, the food was excellent. We enjoyed the full English breakfast at the hotel on the Sunday, it was very nicely cooked. We stayed in room 109 at the back of the hotel which was very quiet, nice size bedroom and out of this world new bathroom with walk in shower and roll top bath, it was lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford

Authentic old hotel with character

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Perfect for town centre Good breakfast Valet parking and complimentary sherry on arrival Nice staff Good rooms
3 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels