Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Full of character and history

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Stayed in Frederick V suite. Very comfortable bed in a room full of old beams. Nice cozy lounge area just off the main bedroom. Combined with lovely new bathroom with bath and modern walk in shower. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcs

nice quiet position in the town

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: The staff & the position.
Cons: The refurbishment needs to be extended to the third floor & the ordinary rooms updated.
Location: Good position for an easy walk to the town centre.Several excellent restaurants, cafe's & eating places close by.
All the staff were very efficient & friendly. Hotel very clean. Most of the Hotel appeared to have ben updated., Our room was on the third floor and hadn't been refurbished. Not a bad room but stll smelt of the old 'smoking allowed' days.The bed was a very small double & my Husbands feet stuck out of the bottom of it. But apart from that we would happily stay again. There was a very good walk in shower, the valet car parking worked very well & the breakfast offered was excellent with lots of choice & very well cooked & presented. A very good weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel, cosy room.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Character.
Cons: Warm up the Bistro bar..
Location: Shrewsbury is an old and interesting town and well worth a visit with hotel situated centrally with easy access to thing to see.
This is based on an overnight stay. Overall the staff were very accommodating and pleasant to deal with. The room was small but this was not unexpected. Room had a balcony which we were upgraded to which was nice :) . The only down side was the Chambers Bistro which was cold and dark also my girlfriend had a sneezing fit and was reminded by a very curt member of staff that there were other guests? (two in fact). Putting that aside we enjoyed our stay and would go to the hotel again but probably steer clear of the bistro especially on a cold night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

would not reccomend

Posted Nov 14, 2016
hotel is really hard to find,was not told there is scaffolding all over the front of the building,its an old hotel but no excuse for plaster off walls by lift,dirty walls in room,general feeling if you book via internet sites you get crap rooms as ours was with views of heating ducts,messy electrical cables and a window you had to stand on a chair to look out of,will not be going back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Location perfect!

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Location location location! Staff were consistently helpful and friendly. Breakfast offered good portions. relaxed and friendly.
Cons: parking could have been clearer
Location: lots of lovely shopping, restaurants, bars, walks (by the quarry), a really lovely town to visit!
Location in centre of Shrewsbury was perfect, easy enough to find and staff were friendly and helpful on arrival. 24 hour reception meant we didn't feel pressured to meet a deadline and were able to come and go as we pleased. The décor is a little dated but in keeping with the theme and the rooms were clean, bathroom was updated and modern, shower was lovely. Breakfast was more than ample and again good helpful staff. Cooked breakfast to order and buffet with cereals and juices to eat until your fill, no pressure to move out immediately which meant a nice start to the day with lots of tea! It was a bit noisy in the morning (room location) and the only thing a bit annoying was the parking - it wasn't clear that there was valet / off site parking so we ended up paying for NCP car park down the road so we could go into the hotel. also I don't really like other people driving my car so for me that was a bit of a grumble but location wise perfect and the staff were really nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Disappointing, more so with the price tag.

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and staff.
Cons: Employ cleaners that actually clean to a decent standard expected in any hotel, irrelevant of price tag.
Location: Shrewsbury has a lovely vibrant and historical town centre and some awesome trendy nightlife with a very friendly atmosphere.
The room was extremely small. Months old dust on the lamp shades above the bed (head height, so inexcusable). The windows were very dirty on the inside, someone before us (who knows how long before) had written 'clean me' in the dirt. The drawers had hairs in them (unfortunately not from someone's head). There was used millac cartons on the dresser. It wasn't filthy per se, but given the advertising on the homepage, very inexcusable. I've stayed in the odd Travelodge across the country and never experienced this level of dirt and they are a budget hotel. The plus points were the staff were excellent and the breakfast was lovely. I personally wouldn't stay here again though as there is no excuse for that level of dirtiness in any hotel room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Hotel Disappointing

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Location: I went to the local library and the Archives. The shops were o.k.
I found the waitress, during breakfast, was unpleasant. So much so that I walked away instead of having breakfast on my final day. The guests were also unpleasant, but that is not the hotel's fault. I was on my own and felt low. Some of the hotel staff were pleasant enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Gorgeous hotel, great welcome, some rooms dated

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Fabulous hotel, great welcome with a free glass of Sherry, public areas immaculate, great location in a lovely town that is well worth the visit. My room was a generous sized single room with a large bed, decor dated, but clean. Bathroom basic and in need of work, but overall I'd recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Germany

Friendly helpful staff, perfectly situated

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff, good food, central position
Cons: Rooms and hot water supply
Location: Central location good for shopping cafes restaurants
Enjoyed stay apart from very slow running hot water ( we were on 3rd floor - not to be recommended). Rooms in need of updating, bathroom optically good. Staff excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel, excellent food

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, food.
Cons: No.
Location: Right in the centre of a beautiful medieval city.
Friendly staff, great location, great food. What more can I say?