Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Quaint Inn

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Good supply of tea and coffee in the room. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Perhaps the decor could be modernised a bit. The shower although hot was not very powerful.
Location: 15 minute walk from Ironbridge village. Well situated for visiting the ten or so Ironbridge museums including Blists Hill. Also RAF museum nearby.
Quaint is one way of describing the Bird in Hand. The decor of the room and the bar and restaurant area were slightly dated with lots of knick knacks etc. but both were comfortable and made for relaxing evenings. There was no reception area as such and I had to ring the door bell of the pub to gain the attention of a member of staff. Access to the bedrooms is at the rear of the premises and I was provided with a key to the back door as well as to the room. This suited me as I like to get out early to take photographs. The stairs are very steep and would not suit someone with mobility problems. This also applies to the steps from the car park to the pub. My room (4) was quite small but adequate for a short stay. The bar and restaurant were also quite small but this gave a pleasant intimate feel. The menu was quite extensive but not very adventurous. Good solid pub grub. One night I had local Shropshire pork chops which were delicious and on the second night I had one of the best steaks I have ever had.
4 out of 5
by Keith from Basingstoke, Hampshire

A Good comfortable Inn

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was very nice, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There were Tea and Coffee making facilities, a flat screen TV, hairdryer and sufficient storage for a couple. Bed was very comfortable and we had good nights sleep. The Bar/Lounge was traditional and where we had our Breakfast and Dinner. Both meals were satisfactory. Staff very welcoming and friendly as were the casual diners/drinkers who came in whilst we were there. This was nice as sometimes when staying at an Inn, the Locals treat you with coolness. Overall a great stay. Thanks guys!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location in a very attractive town.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff, location was very good and the hotel is very comfortable. Good range of beers and menu.,
Cons: We should have stayed for two nights rather than one.
Location: Located on the banks of the river and a close distance to the town of Iron Bridge and its museums and shops.
We arrived late in the evening,later than expected, and the landlord had contacted us to let us know when the meals were finishing that evening which was very thoughtful and very useful. The hotel is in a great location. The room was clean, and comfortable with a view over the river. The meals are home cooked, generous in proportions and there is an extensive menu.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire


Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Good food and friendly owner.
Cons: Advice about steep stairs.
Location: Ironbridge is unique and well worth a visit.
An interesting place to stay and the owner was a particularly nice man. However, as my wife and I are both 90 years old, it would have been helpful if we could have been warned about all the steps to be climbed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ironbridge museums

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Very good cosy but dated room. Good shower and staff friendly and helpful. Nice evening meals.Steep steps to pub but staff willing to carry bags. Will be back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rutland

Beautiful Location Opposite River

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Friendly, comfortable, great food. There are outdoor tables and chairs and a small play area for the good weather, but my stay was in winter.
Cons: Add biscuits to the tea & coffee tray in the rooms.
Location: Nice location across the road from the river. This appears to be a quiet road and no issues for traffic noise.
This is a very nice and friendly, family run hotel. The room I had was very comfortable, but the highlight for me was the food, which was both excellent in quality and value. I will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Old inn (hotel/pub) with a lot of character.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Lots of character, apparently it has been there since the 1700's. Good food, more choices than most pubs. Friendly landlord.
Cons: It's an old building, so you're not going to get all the mod cons of a modern hotel. Check-in time was late, it was dark at 5:30 pm in January.
Location: It's in the heart of the Ironbridge valley, tons of stuff to do nearby - but not walk-able, short drive.
We arrived just before check-in time (5:30 pm) on a freezing Monday in January and the place was deserted. But just as we were wondering what to do a car pulled up and the owner appeared. He was very friendly and helpful and directed us to our room which is accessed through the back. Narrow steep stairs took us up to our room which was not huge but quite cozy, and he had just had all the carpets replaced. It's an old room but had all the things you expect, TV, good sized bathroom, modern working shower. Beds were comfy enough. We then went downstairs for dinner in the pub which the owner/landlord had opened up especially for us, we were the only ones there apart from staff. So we got personal treatment! Their food selection is a better than most pubs and it was pretty good, especially the traditional English sponge pudding. We wished we had spent the previous night there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: The location was good and the food was also good
Cons: The twin beds we had were far too small to be comfortable and to get to the rooms we had to traverse outside the building.
Location: Location good with lots of museums very close by. Footpaths by the score and in good repair.
The beds were too small for comfort. The Inn was closed during the day and as we arrived an hour earlier than expected we were locked out. To gain access to the rooms you have to go outside and around the back of the building.
4 out of 5
by robert from Wirral

October sunshine

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
we booked the bird in hand as it was central to all the museums. the Bird in Hand is one of the oldest buildings in the world heratige site of the Ironbridge. It is in a raised position over looking the river severn with seating outside and a childrens playground at the rear. it has a large car park to the front and the entrance is reached up a flight of steps. Once inside you are greated by the very friendly owner whos family have owned the Inn for generations. Service from the staff was excellent. The decor is of an old worldy Inn and very clean and cosy. We dined quite a few times here and found the food generous in portions and top quality,even if the choice of fayre was a bit dated. The rooms are at the back of the Inn and are reached by some more stairs ( a bit tricky if your not very good on your pins) The rooms are very clean and tidy and decor is in keeping with the Inn. You can hear the odd car go past in the morning but its not too much of a problem. Everything Ironbridge has to offer, nice Resteraunts good Pubs,Museums and beautiful scenery is within walking distance or a short drive away from the Bird in Hand. I recommend that you stay here, as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are planning to return soon. ( ps there is an ATM at the CO-OP and the Post Office in Ironbridge if you need cash )
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly hotel close to Ironbridge

Posted Sep 14, 2015
This hotel is a really nice hotel run by a lovely couple. The food was fantastic and very reasonable. 5 minute walk from the centre of Ironbridge and views across the river.