Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

hotel seen better days

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Keep the music noise down especially heavy metal bands
Cons: requires updating no telephone in room
Location: good location in town center easy walking distance from railway station
on arrival given key to room ,there was no lock to the door leading to resident room accommodation ,had difficulty opening door to room ,room ok needs some updating . When booking did not know that live bands played until 1_00am in the morning ,when I complained next morning was told music stops at 11-30 pm,I informed them the music sound was turned down at 12-00ampm but continued to 1-00am . Breakfast OK but the sausages looked as the had been precooked and microwaved before serving , Overall disappointed no atmosphere /feeling of warmth . I know in the Title it States OLD but expected more
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hereford

Lovely

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was huge and quick to be served. Piping hot
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close the the town centre, bars and shops
A lovely old building. Very close to the town centre. Friendly helpful staff. The room was basic but clean and tidy. We had a shared bathroom which was private to our room just not en suite. Just a shame the bar closes at midnight
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would stay there again!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
The people were really friendly, the room was very comfy. Good TV (but I never had to turn it on). Breakfast was perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Comfortable and Spacious

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Shrewsbury is tiny and can be seen pretty much in a day. Walking distance to the abbey, the Dingle and Quarry. Good Tudor houses to view.
I had a double room by myself so there was plenty of space. It's nothing fancy but then I only need comfort for a room. The shower and toilet are separate but you have your own private one, and the room has its own sink as well. The room and bathroom were both immaculate. The bed was comfortable enough. Instructions for the heater would be useful to keep in the rooms. The included breakfast was also fine and the typical English breakfast. Everything is close in Shrewsbury and the OPO is right in the center. The one issue was that I arrived, paying cash, only to find out that they wouldn't take 50 pound notes. It would have been nice to know this beforehand, and the next day, while I thought it was all of Shrewsbury, it seemed to be only a weird thing with the OPO. I was saved by a customer at the bar who happened to have enough smaller bills.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, just about adequate

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Location: Very central
Very old building, plenty of character, if you like that sort of thing. Very much a pub first. Nowhere safe to leave bags. A maze of steps to the room. Clean enough, cheap pine, carpet and linoleum floor finishing. Hard, thin pillows. Passing people noise in the wee hours. Shower took 35 minutes for the water to come through, no instructions. No refund offer. Decent little breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Lovely pub, rooms basic but clean. Lovely pub with great atmosphere and amazing food!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great location in the centre of the town.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Nice pub, great staff who are so helpful and always have a smile! Food was very good and the manager is very helpful! Had a little problem with the room but we were very quickly moved to another room with the minimum of fuss and a free pint on the house to soften the blow!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Typisch Engels, in het centrum van Shrewsbury,

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Engelse sfeer.
Cons: keuze in koffie d.m.v. machine.
Location: centraal gelegen en alles op loopafstand. Leuk om een boottochtje te maken en wat van de historie van Shrewsbury te horen.
Heerlijke Engelse ervaring beleeft in The Old Postoffice met heerlijk eten (o.a. English breakfast), in typisch Engelse sfeer door live muziek op vrijdagavond in de pub beneden. Prachtig centrum, evenals de omgeving, het bloemrijke park en eeuwenoude gebouwen.
4 out of 5
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ivor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels