Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very good, near to everything

Posted Sep 10, 2015
I love the architecture of his hotel, the stuff very friendly and helpful, Jasmine in the middle of hotel give you feel good, the breakfast very rich and the chief of the Kitchen Very nice and cool, thanks for all the workers
5 out of 5
by Sophie from Cambridge

Residence de charme in every way

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
This is the second time staying here and it was just as perfect as the first time. Wonderful room, first class service with that- Nothing is too much trouble attitude ! I asked for room 8 when I booked and this room was given, upon arrival, which was late, the lights were on to give a ral welcoming feeling.
5 out of 5
by Abdulrahman

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ruth from NYC, USA

Beauty and comfort all in one

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
We loved Dar Said - the room, the views, the pool, great breakfasts. Very peaceful yet right in town near all the lovely mingling of many people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Traditional Tunisian Dar

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The location and beautiful old building and courteous staff.
Cons: Once the building works are completed in way of the view it will be better. Advise of the cost for making a phone call from your room.
Location: Sid Bau Said is very pretty and has specatcular views, 15 mins to Tunis and close to Carthage . Good restaurants too but not many.
Beautiful jasmine scented, tiled courtyard. Kind and courteous staff. Breakfast by the small but pretty pool. Views of the sea (just one building obstructing the view with building works going on- other than that gorgeous. Sun bathed on the grassy terrace and were brought towels and fresh lemon juice. Small but fresh and pretty room with painted wooden bed frame and ensuite facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from Tripoli

Charming hotel with a beautiful view

Posted May 26, 2014
Stayed for 3 nights over a weekend and had a great time. The staff was friendly and motivated, breakfast was simple but good, and the location is perfect for walks in Sidi Abu Said.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Istanbul

A jewel of a hotel with a jewel of a view

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: I loved the quiet and the old-world feel combined with modern cleanliness and amenities.
Cons: Breakfast was disappointing because the fruit was so poor and there was no protein at all. A bit of cheese or a boiled egg would have been nice.
Location: Tour the museum Dar el Annabi and the home of Baron d'Erlanger, eat at Le Bon Vieux Temps, grab a hot donut, and climb right to the point - great view
We arrived at 2 o'clock in the morning, much later than expected, and got the same warm welcome that one would expect at a more reasonable hour. The staff had us settled in our charming room in minutes and off to sleep we went. in. The next morning, we got to see how beautiful the location of the hotel was. It has a stunning, unobstructed outlook onto the Tunisian Gulf. My friend and I extended our stay by a night rather than go to one of the trendy, all-included hotels in Gammarth as originally planned. We loved the peaceful, traditional feel of the Dar Said. The Dar Said is a boutique hotel perched near the top of Sidi Bou Said, a Tunisian village made famous by Paul Klee, Chateaubriand, Gustave Flaubert, Alphonse de Lamartine, André Gide, Colette et Simone de Beauvoir. The village is a glorious jumble of white-washed buildings with blue doors and shutters, and it looks out over the Tunisian Gulf. No traffic goes by the hotel, so guests hear nothing but birdsong. The staff is friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. Our room was sparkling clean and included all the touches - shampoo, bath gel, blow dryer, minibar, safe, a good sized closet and chest. The room was fresh and pretty.
3 out of 5
by Miguel from Madrid

A bit expensive for what you get

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is really nice, however the standard rooms are quite normal (almost no windows) and still they are ver expensive. Summary: you are paying for nice views from the terrace & pool.