Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very good, near to everything

Posted Sep 10, 2015
I love the architecture of his hotel, the stuff very friendly and helpful, Jasmine in the middle of hotel give you feel good, the breakfast very rich and the chief of the Kitchen Very nice and cool, thanks for all the workers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Traditional Tunisian Dar

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The location and beautiful old building and courteous staff.
Cons: Once the building works are completed in way of the view it will be better. Advise of the cost for making a phone call from your room.
Location: Sid Bau Said is very pretty and has specatcular views, 15 mins to Tunis and close to Carthage . Good restaurants too but not many.
Beautiful jasmine scented, tiled courtyard. Kind and courteous staff. Breakfast by the small but pretty pool. Views of the sea (just one building obstructing the view with building works going on- other than that gorgeous. Sun bathed on the grassy terrace and were brought towels and fresh lemon juice. Small but fresh and pretty room with painted wooden bed frame and ensuite facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from Tripoli

Charming hotel with a beautiful view

Posted May 26, 2014
Stayed for 3 nights over a weekend and had a great time. The staff was friendly and motivated, breakfast was simple but good, and the location is perfect for walks in Sidi Abu Said.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Istanbul

A jewel of a hotel with a jewel of a view

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: I loved the quiet and the old-world feel combined with modern cleanliness and amenities.
Cons: Breakfast was disappointing because the fruit was so poor and there was no protein at all. A bit of cheese or a boiled egg would have been nice.
Location: Tour the museum Dar el Annabi and the home of Baron d'Erlanger, eat at Le Bon Vieux Temps, grab a hot donut, and climb right to the point - great view
We arrived at 2 o'clock in the morning, much later than expected, and got the same warm welcome that one would expect at a more reasonable hour. The staff had us settled in our charming room in minutes and off to sleep we went. in. The next morning, we got to see how beautiful the location of the hotel was. It has a stunning, unobstructed outlook onto the Tunisian Gulf. My friend and I extended our stay by a night rather than go to one of the trendy, all-included hotels in Gammarth as originally planned. We loved the peaceful, traditional feel of the Dar Said. The Dar Said is a boutique hotel perched near the top of Sidi Bou Said, a Tunisian village made famous by Paul Klee, Chateaubriand, Gustave Flaubert, Alphonse de Lamartine, André Gide, Colette et Simone de Beauvoir. The village is a glorious jumble of white-washed buildings with blue doors and shutters, and it looks out over the Tunisian Gulf. No traffic goes by the hotel, so guests hear nothing but birdsong. The staff is friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. Our room was sparkling clean and included all the touches - shampoo, bath gel, blow dryer, minibar, safe, a good sized closet and chest. The room was fresh and pretty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roshd from New York

It was just amazing!!!

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Upon our arrival, we were surprised to have been upgraded to a superior room automatically since the hotel was not at full capacity. What a nice gesture!!! We were greated with attention and care. We were helped to our fantastic room by the staff. A minute later, while we were unpacking, the door knocked and two staff members brought in a huge flower arrangement, very fresh and extremely beautiful, along with a gorgeous basket with fresh fruits and two glasses of seasonal juice. Which was strawberries at the time.ur bed had fresh jasmin petals on it. The jasmin flower is the tunisian national flower. I can't describe how wonderful it smells. A very personable touch that we greatly enjoyed. My wife and I will go back to Dar Said, WITH NO DOUBT!!!! And we highly recommended this place to all our friends and families. Rest assured that will leavevthis boutique hotel with fantastic memories.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

An Exceptional Experience

Posted Sep 17, 2010
This is truly a wonderful boutique hotel in beautiful village that has a charm rarely have I encountered. I am well travelled and have covered most continents and a variety of hotels from the the international chains to bed and breakfasts. A very good friend who is Tunisian by birth recommended this hotel and village within greater Tunis. I read the reviews and although some questioned this hotel, I booked my 3 night stay. I really did not want to leave. It is a real special hotel for those who want to be pleasantly surprised and experience all that is beautiful about Tunisia and the Mahgreb. And of course, the location cannot be better surrounded by very nice restaurants, coffee shops, galleries and pleasant gift shops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Turkey,Antalya

dissappointed

Posted Mar 3, 2010
i don't know if i can recommend this hotel.if your expectations are high,than not.but i would not recommend people this hotel out of touristic season.you will be totally alone in a hotel witch is designed for the hot summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Stunning and pricey but worth it

Posted Mar 13, 2008
Beautiful well mantained dar. The stunning breakfast terrace near the pool is used as a cover for a book on Sidi Bou Said, Tunis. The room we stayed in had beautiful tiled bathroom and it's own private terrace. Sidi Bou Said is great to see and photograph. It is on the train route via carthage - which is very cheap. If there is one place in Tunisia to spoil yourself -this is it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Portdsmouth

Charming, peaceful, discreet service

Posted Dec 17, 2007
Sadly we only had one night to stay in this lovely hotel perched above the Bay of Tunis. Although very expensive (by Tunisian standards),the standard of service was very, very high and the atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming. We needed to leave at five in the morning to catch the early flight from Tunis airport (20 minutes drive), but the night porter was charming and brought us morning tea and cakes at four, with a suggestion that we should dress warmly. A delightful hotel, and we were made to feel at home very quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Great place to stay in Tunis

Posted May 27, 2007
If you want to be in a beautiful setting near Tunis, you should stay here. It's in gorgeous Sidi Boo Said which I think, after spending 10 days in Tunisia, is the most scenic spot in the country. The taxi will have to navigate down narrow streets to get there. But you can't beat the views. It's also next to the President's lodge for his guests. The hotel is not a resort, it's in a historic area, so manage your expectations.