Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Good price
Location: Sidmouth nearby
It was pleasant and well worth the money paid for the night - good breakfast too
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffs

Lovely 18th century building with lots of charm

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Could not fault anything. We will be staying again. The owner was outstanding in all aspects and was very easy to chat with about anything.
4 out of 5
by Marian

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly hosts. Beautifully freshly cooked breakfast. Would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
by Przemyslaw

Comfi stay!!!

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Great value

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Did what it said on the tin. Very comfortable for a no frills overnight stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thatched bed & breakfast.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Facilities in room & comfortable bed, together with a good breakfast.
Cons: The blind over bedroom window fell off its mounting when I raised it to get more light in room (bedroom 1) needs replacing maybe with curtains?
The bed was very comfortable & the breakfast was good (full English cooked, with toast & jams the marmalade was home made & delicious) There was an unpleasant smell when I entered the downstairs rear door near the kitchen area, which smelt like stale vomit or food gone off? this needs sorting as it put me off when I first arrived, but lucky it was not upstairs or in my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Lovely comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Nice friendly owners, good food in a very quaint and olde world building, room was quiet even next to a very busy main road to Exeter, and very clean. The only fault I could find was the en suite which was quite cold even when the heater was on. Would I stay here again? yes most definitely, Terrific value for money. 5star. Very handy place to stay only a short drive or bus journey into Exeter, Sidmouth, Seaton.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from worcestershire

nice looking hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Not the best room , very dated , no heating in room just a electric heater which hadn't been put on ! .. toilet didn't work very well in en suite room , sink in bedroom ..man quite nice breakfast ok , would I stY there again .. no thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A good deal with a slap up breakfast.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Price, and the breakfast.
Cons: The shower temperature was hard to control. The building is old, for instance the floor of my room was not level, but I would not suggest altering it.
Location: The location is Newton Poppleford, in rural Devon (Not Sidmouth as the Expedia website seemed to suggest). It is near Exeter, the M5 and the seaside.
I booked the room because it was conveniently located and cheap. The building is old. It has low headroom in places and no right-angles. There is a busy road immediately outside the window of the room I slept in. Nevertheless I slept well and felt welcome. The internet connection is free and works well. The electric room heater proved more than adequate despite the frost outside. There is plenty of parking, although entering and exiting the parking lot requires caution due to restricted visibility and the narrow road. Best of all, a full English breakfast is included, complete with English mustard, a home comfort appreciated by this ex-patriot.