Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Townsville, Australia

Luxury Hotel on the Outskirts of Siem Reap

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Sopheara; this man made our stay at the Empress Hotel very personal and special. He organised a birthday surprise for me on our last night. Thank you
Location: You are not located in central Siem Reap, however the hotel offers a free shuttle into the city 3 times a day.
When you drive into Siem Reap the line of luxury hotels on both sides of the road is an amazing sight, and we were shocked to realise one of those hotels was ours. It was a grand entrance to say the least. On arrival our bags were collected and taken to our room whilst we checked in. During the check in process they took us around to a waiting area with welcome drinks and hot towels to relax and wait. Once we were in our mini apartment (which is again something we did not expect) our doorbell rang. It was a waiter with some mango and banana for us to enjoy. We stayed when they had an international buffet night (all you can eat for $15.00USD per person) with some talented local and traditional enterntainment. Definitely worth a look if you are staying when they have this on. We used the tour desk in the hotel to organise a Sunrise Angkor Tour. The guide we had for the day was so knowledgable about the history of Angkor. I could not believe how much he knew! It was fabulous to be able to explore this amazing part of Cambodia with someone who knew what they were talking about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by Panha (Mr.), Hotel Management
Dear Ashlee, We would like to express our sincere thanks for spending your valued time to share your experience during your stayed in our hotel and had chosen to stay with us. Your review is much appreciated. We seek another chance to welcoming you back to our resort in the nearest future. Thank you! Panha (Mr.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Okinawa

Very Good Customer Service

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Though he customer service was good, the hotel has room for improvements; 1. Wifi was horrible; limited to no connectivity throughout the day 2. Breakfast buffet, though free, the same food was prepared and presented everyday (even on the weekends) If you are looking for a place to relax, this is not the hotel, for the atmosphere is family friendly: Linus music and kids playing most of the day (meaning you hear this throughout the day).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by Panha (Mr.), Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for spending your valued time to share your experience during your stayed in our hotel. We are delighted to have your positive review as it is our improvement in term of products and services. Your review is much appreciated and every effort or negative comments from our guest is taken very seriously and the negative issue. You mentioned will be ironed out immediately and apologize for the inconvenience caused. However, please note that our live music will close at 22:00hrs and we can't control the young guest (kinds). Thanks again for choosing our services. We seek another chance to welcoming you back to our resort in the nearest future. Thank you! Panha CHOEUN (Mr.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Awesome stay everything was catered for our stay including the children. We would go back in a heartbeat. Kudos to all the staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Panha (Mr.), Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for spending your valued time to share your experience during your stayed in our hotel. Your review is much appreciated. We seek another chance to welcoming you back to our resort in the nearest future. Thank you! Panha (Mr.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Korea

Cambodia Vacay

Posted Aug 12, 2017
I fell in love with the hotel as soon as I checked-in. The staff was friendly, the room was quaint, and the spa was subperb. Some not so good moments: a gecko was in my room for 2 days, the breakfast buffet was always the same (they would run out of food everyday), lunch and dinner menus were so-so. The pool was very nice. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this is not the hotel: Loud music every night, hotel guests very loud, and wifi is horrible. If you want a family getaway with limited electronics for the family (since the wifi is terrible), this is the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Panha (Mr.), Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for spending your valued time to share your experience during your stayed in our hotel. We are delighted to have your positive review as it is our improvement in term of products and services. Your review is much appreciated and every effort or negative comments from our guest is taken very seriously and the negative issue. Your mentioned will be ironed out immediately and apologize for the inconvenience caused. We seek another chance to welcoming you back to our resort in the nearest future. Thank you! Panha CHOEUN (Mr.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was very nice. Beautiful accommodations

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It really has a peaceful easy feeling. Lovely grounds.
Location: Easy to get local transportation to anywhere from here. The spa worked to accommodate everyone that wanted services. Nice to have this available.
Really enjoy this hotel. Very beautifully decorated. Peaceful place. Restaurant staff was painfully slow at outdoor seating but other than that this place was great!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Hotel building is impressive. Inside detailing is no-expense-spared: never seen anything so meticulously presented, with plentiful authentic Khmer artifacts. Pool is great. However, the colour ambience is rather sombre and dark, like a tomb. The bad point is the buffet breakfast: only 1 meat choice (either ham or rubbery sausage). All other choices are non-meat and noodle varieties. Very bad waiter service: plates never cleared until the end.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Panha (Mr.), Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, We do appreciate your constructive criticism and do apologize for any inconvenience caused, and rest assured as we speak we are investigative this situation. Our reviews have usually been positive, and we are truly shocked to know that you stay was not up to expectations. Every effort or negative comments from our guest is taken very seriously and the negative issue. You mentioned will be ironed out immediately. We would like to express our sincere thank you for taking your time to share your experience during your stayed. We do appreciate on your comment. We seek another chance to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.
4 out of 5
by Davidson

Good Hotel (expensive menu)...

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good Hotel, close to the airport and free shuttle bus. Other than that, no much to do around. Food and beverage inside of the hotel is about 5 to 10 times more expensive than out in the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Alberta Canada

Vacation to Angkor Wat

Posted Mar 13, 2017
What an awesome experience to enjoy some historical wonders of Cambodia at Angkor Wat and have wonderful modern amenities at our hotel Empress Residence Resort & Spa! Thank you
5 out of 5
by Jeremy

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
Communication occasionally was an issue and we were sometimes misunderstood. Good breakfast with excellent choice of Asian and European food
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never judge book by the cover.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Hotel is aesthetically pleasing but close look reveals an older facility.