Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Not so comfortable hotel far from town

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Not convenient location, some parts under construction with banging noise during the day, beds were uncomfortable, hot water come and go
3 out of 5
by Texas traveler from Texas

Could be excellent - but...

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Everything would have been perfect - except hotel in under construction. Also a/c is severely lacking!
3 out of 5
by Jana from Florida

Great the first day, fell apart the second day....

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
We had a fabulous first day but on the second day it all fell apart. They couldn't figure out the credit card (ever) which led to a trip to the ATM for cash. This is despite the "We proudly accept credit cards" sign on the front desk. In addition, our massages at the hotel the first day were top notch (traditional Camdobian) but the second day my friend and I had two girls who were extraordinarily unprofessional. They talked nonstop, giggled, asked if we knew how to speak Cambodian (I can imagine why) and routinely would stop massaging for a minute at a time in order to focus on their conversation. Also a girl came in and started discussing business for some minutes with them and us (if we were supposed to have one hour or only one half). Fully ridiculous. Their food was pretty good, with the exception of a pizza that was clearly frozen and seemed like cardboard. The bed is rock hard but I kind of like that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and pretty good for the price

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Nice hotel that's located walking distance from one of the largest street market in Siem Reap.
Cons: Bed could be softer, shower drain could work better and water pressure.
Location: There is a large street market that's near by. They are open from early in the morning and close around 5:00 pm.
Hotel is nice enough, but given that I have not stayed anywhere else in Cambodia, I'm not sure how I would compare. Comparing this hotel to some of the hotels that I've stayed anywhere else in the world would be unfair. Now for the room, we had the deluxe pool view room. While it wasn't the biggest room I've stayed it was enough for 2 people to comfortably stay. The bed was bit harder than I would have liked but it was decent enough for nights sleep. Only real issue we had was that the shower drain wasn't very good. Granted that they had both standing shower and a tub, the drain for the shower wasn't very good and the water took a very long time to drain away. Besides that the water pressure for the shower was weak, but this could be an issue common in Cambodia so I'm not sure if it is unique to this hotel. They have decent breakfast buffet, nice enough size pool. They have one restaurant by the lobby that charge about $6 for the fried rice and $3 for fresh juice. To give perspective, the street vendor that sells similar type of food charge $2 for the fried rice and $1 for the juice. My wife wanted to eat at the restaurant due to cleanliness and hygiene issues. Street vendors are not the cleanest places to eat. They have one gift shop that has some gifts. Here is a tip, there appears to be two manager type that works there, they can easily be identified by ties that they wear. Other hotel staff does not wear ties. They can speak very good english so utilize them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila

Pleasant hotel with pleasant staff & good location

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: The room, the staff, the facilities, the location and the rate. Oh the hotel building itself looks good and has a charming Cambodian character to it.
Cons: The breakfast needs to be more varied. For 1 entire week, I only saw 1 type of noodles and sausage. The hotel lobby is decent but it's stuffy...
Location: It is pretty strategically located between the city center & the temples, so the places to visit are accessible by tuktuk in 10 to 20 minutes.
Overall I had a good stay in Smiling Hotel. It has spa, swimming pool, restaurant, souvenir shop and the staff are friendly. It is not too far from the places and attractions to visit and the staff would willingly arrange for a tuktuk or car for you, at a reasonable cost. The staff are warm, but so is their lobby! It seems that they don't have air-conditioning for the lobby. But it was minor for me because I always either hibernating in my room or temple hopping. The room is cozy and complete. However, I am a light sleeper and at times in the middle of the night I would wake up to the sound of thuds against the glass doors to the balcony. Apparently, those are from crickets, grasshoppers or what have you who accidentally crashed against the glass at night. They must have been attracted by the nice beige curtains but too bad they bad they didnt see the glass and probably had no idea what they hit against. Poor things.
5 out of 5
by Bonath from CAMBODIA

Good

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent
5 out of 5
by Eric from Orlando, Florida

Amazing and Incredible Service, Beautiful Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels
I personally cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The hotel is spotless, the rooms immaculate, comfortable and clean. The Service is what stood out the most! The staff here is "Smiling" and helpful, attentive, and ensured that every need was anticipated. It has honestly been years since I have had service this good. The front desk staff was simply amazing at everything. Our room wasn't ready at check-in, so they gave us a temporary room to store our bags while we went to Angkor Wat. When we came back late, they ran to the room, moved our bags, and did so with such efficiency. A true 5 star service experience! When I go back to Angkor Wat, I will be staying at the Smiling Hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Quiet.
Cons: Power supply to the hotel
Frequent power failure is disturbing. Also I was asked to pay for the linen that was dirty which was not done by us. The distannce is actually away the main street such as the Old Market Road or Pub street where tourists usually go to.
4 out of 5
by Anon from Battambang

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels
Smiling was a nice stay. They had forgotten to pick us up from the airport but managed to check us in early and were very helpful for the remainder if our stay. The masseurs are from a massage shop in siem reap centre and their requests for tips and 'special' massages can make the experience quite awkward. Overall an enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from San Francisco

Clean well-located hotel with good breakfast.

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Room. Private. Quiet. Staff. Breakfast.
Location: Hire a tuk tuk driver to take you wherever you want to go. Ankor Wat is about 3 miles away.
Pleasantly surprise with how modern and comfortable the Smiling Hotel was. Also a lovely pool and great breakfast. Staff are very friendly and helped us to navigate everything we wanted to do in Angkor. Hotel was popular with Korean and Chinese tours.