Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Everything went beyond our expectations!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: The wooden villas maintenance should be done in a short period of time.
Location: Nothing you could do nearby.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Value for money and time spent. The staff was the number one thing making this hotel a place to stay. Bone, concierge staff, would be the one that we call "The smile of Sokhalay". We will definitely choose this hotel for our future trip in Siem Riep.
2 out of 5
by craig from Sydney Australia

Disappointed

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was apparently 5 years old but was run down and unkempt , the wooden floor in our room was was rotting and taped up in at least 10 places it smelt , really the only thing nice I can say about this hotel is the pool was nice and big and the drink and food service around the pool was very good by the nice staff at the pool , otherwise the hotel was a huge let down and very expensive for a third world country , everything was in US dollars in cambodia, and very expensive .
5 out of 5
by Chanravy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool side is excellent, neighborhood layout

Posted Jul 10, 2015
You get a large condo which is much bigger than you'll get from a hotel. Pool-side villas are definitely worth coming for. Garden Villa has bad wifi, would avoid.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
DO NOT book this hotel. It's an absolute nightmare from booking to facilities, service, environment, food to check out !!!
4 out of 5
by Liang Chin from Singapore

Good but Beware of management tricks

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
Very good hotel and very nice stay overall. However, ONE BIG NEGATIVE point: upon arrival, we have been told there was simply NO VILLA ROOM for us, although they acknowledged our booking. So called some internal booking issues. They even tried to send us to another hotel (lower grade) under same owner ... We had to show determination and refuse to bulge until 'miraculously', our 2 villa rooms could be freed and allocated to us. This kind of game should not happen at that level of hotel ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from amdavad

Cool surroundings

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Helpfull staff
Peaceful green natural settings Helpful staff We received upgrade to swimming pool fronted room on upper level that was pleasant surprise
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Nice

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
We got a great deal on the room in august as it was fairly empty and had an amazing stay. Very relaxing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from EL

The most terrible hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I reserved this hotel for 5 days in pool view villa. But I only stayed 3 days because I didn't want to stay anymore. I threw my money and time away. 1. Fabrics in a room was not clean especially sofa, cushions with spots. 2. Wifi in a room was not stable. I could use wifi only the last day after I complained 5 times more. 3. Massage in hotel was irregular. They didn't give any gown to cover my body. Furthermore, massage skill was terrible. It turned red speck on skin after massaging although we ordered tender touching. They just scrabbed not a technical one. 4. The front guys tried to deceive whenever I asked some information. I guessed it's cause of commision fee. The price is not fixed. They asked more money not the same price as they said at first.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beware!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. Maybe you could do some research and find that out for us.
Location: N/A
After booking and paying for five nights for our hotel (two rooms) two months prior, we arrived only to find that they had no rooms for us. We were told that they had overbooked by inexperienced staff. I got onto Expedia immediately and your site said that their were five rooms available at the standard of rooms we had booked. The manager told us that this was a mistake. He told us that we had to go to find other accommodation for one night. We were then driven around for two hours trying to find suitable accommodation. During this time we were told we need to find accommodation for two nights. After complaining severely we were then told it was for one night only. The next day my wife and walked to Sokhalay and inspected two rooms that were adjacent to each other. They were excellent and we decided they were for us. We were driven back to our overnight accommodation to pick up our friends. When we arrived back to Sokhalay we were taken to different rooms nowhere near each other as the rooms we where shown had been given to another patron who had just walked into the hotel and booked. We decided then and there that we couldn't stay there. We asked to see the GM. We were told that he wasn't on the property and that these rooms were the only ones available. The GM magically appeared. He thought the situation was very funny. At this this point we decided Sokhalay wasn't for us and wanted a refund. We ended up staying another hotel. How could this happen???????????????