Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Changed our room type without asking us

Posted Aug 17, 2017
They claimed to upgrade us, but when I said I wanted my original room type, because it had a balcony and the upgrade did not, they said it was not available. They had given it away and the "upgrade" was all that was available. That pretty much affected our entire stay as we had been looking forward to the balcony and view. The "upgrade" was also right above a noisy street (the original room was on the other side), which made things worse. Too bad, because it is a nice hotel in a great location. But they can't seem to hold on to the right type of room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Beautiful rooms, views, staff, experience highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Nathalie Beaugonin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, your feedback is very valuable to us and we thank you for the comments shared. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Contienntal Siena - Starhotels Collezione. With kind regards, Nathalie Beaugonin Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Comfortable, clean and spacious room. Handy location. Classic castle hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Nathalie Beaugonin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for the excellent review of your recent stay in Siena. We are pleased to know that you have appreciated the accomodation, the style and the locatoin of the Grand Hotel Continental Siena - Starhotels Collezione. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. With kind regards, Nathalie Beaugonin Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay in siena

Posted Jun 29, 2017
If you can afford it, choose this hotel to stay in Siena, it's amazing and i dare to say, magical!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Nathalie Beaugonin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your most positive review, we truly value all our guests' feedback. Grazie! Nathalie Beaugonin Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Lovely Property

Posted Jun 29, 2017
This is a must stay at hotel in Sienna. A bit pricey but the staff, rooms, location and brrakfasts are worth the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Nathalie Beaugonin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and we are most pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay, the location and the service provided. There are categories and offers that may always be of interest further to many promotions in lower season periods. Hope to welcome you again in Siena, with kind regards, Nathalie Beaugonin Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville, CA

Great hotel, great service, close to attractions

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Service, cleanliness, the beautiful building, the comfortable bed, breakfast. All were great.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Right in the main part of the town. 3 min walk to Piazza Duomo
Best hotel we stayed at during our trip. The location was close to the main part of the town, the staff were very polite and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Nathalie Beaugonin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experience and for the detailed review. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again in Siena. With kind regards, Nathalie Beaugonin Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent stay

Posted Jun 6, 2017
i was impress because they have valet parking, the locations is wonderfull every thing was near
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Nathalie Beaugonin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your excellent review. We place high value on our guests' feedback. We hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Siena in the future. Best regards, Nathalie Beaugonin Executive Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by Joy from Bangkok

nice location

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
breakfast could better at hotels in LHW.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Pete Beach, FL

I find it hard to believe this is a 5 star hotel.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The architecture.
Cons: Needs updating and cleaning.
Location: Good location. Walk to everything.
After reading reviews I booked this hotel for our stay in Siena. This hotel is not a 5 star by any stretch. I bet at one time it may have been close, but that time passed long ago. The hotel furnishings and carpet are dated and stained. The musty smell is everywhere and both my husband and I were bitten by some kind of bug while we slept. I do think with an update this hotel could return to its glory.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Nathalie Beaugonin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Siena. We are sorry not to have met your expectations and that the opportunity to offer further assistance was not given during your stay. Your remarks have gained our best attention and will support the plans of maintaining the quality of our hospitality. Nevertheless there is ongoing activity in maintanance and cleaning. As for the insects reported, the matter has been investigated but nothing has been detected within the hotel itself, therefore it most probably must have been be a case of a mosquito here or outside. We do hope that you may have the occasion of returning to Siena and to verify ongoing improvements. With best regards, Nathalie Beaugonin Exeuctive Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff was world class!

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We celebrated our 30th wedding no anniversary and arranged for a private room in the basement. It was private, gorgeous and had that old world charm. A fantastic night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Nathalie Beaugonin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank for choosing the Grand Hotel Continental Starhotels Collezione for the celebration of your special event. The medieval wine cellar is indeed a most unique venue for private occasions. Best regards, Nathalie Beaugonin Executive Assistant Manager