Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historical building, great spot!

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Proximity to sights, the fact it is an historical building, being a monastery from the 13th century
Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Breakfast was amazing. Hotel staff are very professional and helpful. We took advantage of the laundry service. Everything was cleaned, folded and ready within 24 hours. Grocery, great restaurants and all the sights are within easy walking distance from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Lovely room, good breakfast , peaceful location, beautiful building in an old church , reasonable price, cannot fault this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Loved it!

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: very close to everything. must take a taxi from bus or train station unless you have no luggage.
wonderful old world hotel with fantastic views over the hills (ask for those). great service, very comfortable. Stairs will be difficult for the less mobile. They have a bellhop to carry suitcases - no lift. good breakfast. good location and I really cannot say enough about it's beauty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Too Noisy and a bit disappointing.

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Room was large enough
Cons: cleaner and remove smell
Our room had a room adjoined to it and it was an awful experience because we never slept due to the lady next door coughing 24/7. So upsetting! The room was not the greatest and it had a bad smell. Older an da little run down but a place to lay your head for one night. Staff was great though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

unassuming hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: I liked the fact it was a converted monastery. Having breakfast in the courtyard was lovely.
Cons: Bathrooms could be better, breakfast and coffee could be improved.
Location: Recommend the Duomo/Cathedral - you book a time to go up when you buy your entrance ticket.
The hotel is a converted monastery and my room had an uncovered fresco on the wall, which was really unique. The room was pleasant but the bathroom was a little small. The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the main thoroughfare in Sienna; it was a quiet location, but it's quite a long trek if you are arriving by train. Although I had requested a room with a view, this was never acknowledged, but that's definitely not the end of the world. The reception is open 24hrs, but they close the main entrance after around 10pm (buzz to get in). Breakfast was in the courtyard, which was really pleasant. The breakfast itself was below average though - usual continental fare and bitter coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Charming place to stay!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Everything! Want to return!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect. Within easy walking distance of Siena
The hotel is an old cloister or monastery filled with charm
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel in historic convent

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The hotel is in an old convent and has a wonderful inner courtyard. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were great, friendly and helpful. Only one beer in the mini bar and no means to open it was a little disappointing. Also you were out of luck if you wanted coffee just tea provided and no milk. Its not far from all the sites and bars just inside the city walls so a good spot to base yourself.
5 out of 5
by Randa

Comfort and beauty in old monastary

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
The Il Chiostro del Carmine is a wonderful hotel that used to be a monastery! The art is amazing. The staff was very helpful. The courtyard was stunning and breakfast, which was included in the price, was outstanding and fresh. I loved the spectacular view from our room. It's a great value and I'd highly recommend this hotel!! Large room with good size bathroom. Good a/c. Very clean and inexpensive. Well worth the money. This hotel is located within the city walls in the historic section, so parking is scarce but the hotel has a couple of areas where you can park your car for a small fee. It's a little bit of a challenge to get there, but follow their emailed instructions and you should be fine. The drive in was exciting as you drive along the ancient city wall for a ways. I would go back in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Friendly staff in historic building

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Kind staff that goes out of their way to help you. Beautiful courtyard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good atmosphere. Calm and sophisticated.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Location: Just outside the busy centre of Siena but only five to ten minutes to walk to everything. Excellent!
The staff were friendly and helpful with good English. There is a beautiful cloister with plants to sit out in at any time. Breakfast was generous and varied.