Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Martin from Dublin

Great place to relax

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely village (the hotel is in the old part of town, up the hill: get any of the buses that stop at the rail station and just tell the driver "Hotel SfinJay": the old town is just 7 minutes away). The restaurants Zaira and the Michelin Guide Book one provide gorgeous food. Lots of friendly cafes to have gelato and your choice of coffee. And a truly interesting revealing tour of the Etruscan underground. The hotel lobby is lovely, the rooms really quaint and old-school--as well as clean, the beds really well made. The lady running the place is nice; sign-language works if you've no Italian! If you want to do nothing for a few days, great spot.
5 out of 5
by Herbert from Forestville, Ca

Quaint.

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Estrus can museumsee were fabulous. Views were amazing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly basic hotel in good location

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
I chose La Sfinge because it was the hotel within walking distance to the Etruscan Museum. For that it was perfectly and also beautifully situated with its panorama of Chiusi's hills before the entryway. Two cautions: Travel light. There is no elevator and all the rooms are upstairs. And watch your step over the spongy patch of carpet at the top of the stairs. The no-frills room and its adjoining bath were clean, the lack of carpet here a plus. The shower was good and hot; the towels were thin-webbed cotton but adequate. The front desk was unattended with a bell for service so I only saw people at check-in and check-out. Both interactions were cordial. At check-out the proprietor kindly offered me a ride to the station for much less than a taxi tariff. I slept well here in the city of the Etruscans and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena

buon hotel in un paese incantevole

Posted Dec 26, 2015
piacevole e silenzioso piacevole e silenzioso piacevole e silenzioso piacevole e silenzioso
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Pleasant, clean, convenient

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, friendliness, kindness of the manager or owner. Good price, and lovely location with beautiful view.
Very close to the center where there is a good museum. Terrific view from my room over the countryside. Services are minimal, but the room is very clean and the manager is very helpful. He gave me a ride to the station. Wifi was a little iffy, but there was a very friendly bar nearby called Papanero, which had wifi.
5 out of 5
by Brian from halifax,ns

a relaxing place in tuscany

Posted May 16, 2015 on Hotels
quiet hotel, excellent price. i remembered it from 1992. good restaurants nearbt.handy to transit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fell in love with Chiusi

Posted Jul 18, 2014
The staff at this hotel were very kind and even picked us up at the train station. The room was perfect and the bathroom, very spacious. Great view. No elevator, but long flight of stairs.
5 out of 5
by Stefano from Isola d'Elba

Bellissimo Hotel all'interno diUNO splendido paese

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Arredamento fatto con gusto, WIfi Free
Cons: A mio parere nulla da migliorare.
Location: L'hotel è in una posizione centrale facilmente visibile Il paese è bellissimo, da vedere il museo ed il labirinto di Porsenna spettacolare.
Albergo con standard di qualità,servizio, ed ospitalità al pari di un'Hotel di categoria superiore. Qualità-prezzo ottimo, pulizia impeccabile consigliatissimo.
4 out of 5
by Hudson's trip

Much better than I had anticipated based on stars

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: See above
Cons: English speaking TV channels
Location: If you are going to Chiusi, for either of its museums, or underground tours or cathedral I think that the location was ideal.
The Hotel was a good experience. I found the room very satisfactory and above what I had expected based on its star rating. There was wifi in the rooms, coffee making was also provided. The staff could not have been more helpful as well. If you wanted to go to this small but famous town, based on its history, you will find this hotel ideal and very good for the price.