Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and good location for visiting Toscany

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient and good location for visiting Toscany by car .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Beautiful hotel, location, staff

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The staff were wonderful, breakfasts were great, and the whole experience was relaxing and idylic.
Cons: Not a thing...
We loved everything about our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to explore tuscany and use it as their base. We visited Volterra, San Giminiano, Siena and Florence, all easily driveable.
4 out of 5
by Kathleen from Atlanta

Great value & wonderful breakfast in Tuscany

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Le Volpaie was perfect for our stay in Tuscany. Our room was good size with a lovely balcony overlooking the hills. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast offered a wide selection. This hotel was a great value and centrally located to places we visited around Tuscany. You'll want a car if staying here, as it's a very small town without much in the way of sightseeing or dining; 20 min drive to San Gimignano; other towns are within a 30 min drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel in small town with amazing views.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location, price, and Quaintness.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Location is in a small town, with amenities, gave amazing views, quiet and not typical tourist spot, so gave you the culture of the area.
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. You do need a vehicle as it is away in the country side and easier to get to by car. Breakfast was great, Hotel staff were kind, accommodating, and helpful with suggestions. Rooms weren't fancy, but were clean, comfortable, quiet and a place to lay our head. good location for day trips to Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano, Voltere, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mark.

Ok-very clean but some issues.

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Orbitz
First the pros. GREAt breakfast and very clean room. Now the Cons. Husband is grumpy and it seems that Sometimes guests are a burden. ACs are weak and not the best view. My son and I took a walk down the valley near the hotel and though beautiful, found a major sewage leak causing a stream of sewage and awful smell at the bottom of the valley. Occasionally there would be wafts reaching the hotel. Obviously this is nothing they can control. Nice pool! Mixed review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute boutique hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
We went to a wedding in Tuscany and needed a place to stay near by. The Breakfast Hotel was perfect for what we needed. It was reasonably priced, centrally located, clean, and comfortable. The balcony views were beautiful and peaceful and the buffet breakfast was a great treat each morning as well. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucharest

A 3 *** hotel!

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Well, dont expect Anything else than a 3 ***hotel. Staff was nice, b-fast was acceptable, room was cleaned every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

lovely, remote, suberb breakfast

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: morning breakfast buffet, in room fridge, very quiet
Cons: A mattress pad, shampoo
Location: 12 km from the World Heritage Sight of San Gimignano,. and 14 km from Volterra, picturesque, a twisty road, lovely scenery, quiet and out of the way.
Excellent service and very clean The main thing to realize is this hotel is 12 km from San Gimignano if you are planning a stay there. I was disappointed to find I had to drive 34 km round trip each day to my event near the city. And gas is very expensive in Italy (75 USD to fill a tiny Fiat) I drove around the small quaint city of SG for an hour looking for this place and asking people before finally having someone call and find it was another 12 km down the road. Most Italians do not speak English very well but nevertheless they are eager to help..........in Italian with hand motions!. However, I was treated to a superb breakfast each morning with cappuccino, fresh fruit and pastries, also various shaved meats and an assortment of cheeses and bread. I wish I could have gotten up an hour earlier each day just to enjoy it, but I had to adjust to jet lag and include travel time so some mornings I just had to bag it. What a shame! The beds could use a mattress pad as mine was a bit stiff, but the room was always clean and the place was spotless. Nestled in a very tiny town called Castillo de San Gimignana.
5 out of 5
by Peonie from Hong Kong

Wonderful Tuscany.

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
We spent a week at the hotel using it as our base to visit Florence, Pisa, Tuscany, and Siena. We had a room with a balcony so we could enjoy the beauty of the hills and vines. The couple who run the hotel are just great, they are very helpful. We forgot a plug for our phone and they sent it to us in Milan. The Breakfast is Outstanding! This is a great hotel to use if you want to enjoy the beauty and quiet of the Tuscan Hills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice hotel for base of Tuscan travel.

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Staff and breakfast
Cons: The bed was not particularly comfortable...but adequate,
Location: Close to many Tuscan towns.
Greta little hotel for a base for Tuscan travel. The staff was so nice and the breakfast was one of the best we had in our two week trip.