Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Nice location on the outskirts but not to far. Great staff. Pretty good room. Beautiful scenery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017
After site seeing throughout northern Italy with all its beauty and history, we really needed a place to just kick back and enjoy its country side and this was the perfect place to do just that! Probably the best of all the places we stayed. The staff was wonderful and treated us like family. We had requested a nice local restaurant with local cuisine and were absolutely blown away by the place that was recommended. Exceeded my expectations!
4 out of 5
by Christine from Sydney

Great gem. Just better with a car and window view

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Casale Virgili is definitely a great summer location. I went in spring and although getting warmer, the room I had was a lower room at basement level - and it felt quite cold and clostrophobic during the day - at night it didn't matter as heaters worked well. Also being on the lower level every time the upstairs chairs or tables move its really loud. I suggest they put mats down! On the plus side the outdoor table and garden were lovely and you could sit out there all day. The wifi was good as it was avail inside and out. As it was April the pool was still covered so can't comment on that but it would have been amazing. They sold wine which was good however the downside being no food places nearby and they didn't encourage any cooking - as a single female with no car it was a bit limiting at night. The day bus is great. It goes right to the city at Piazza Gramaci bus stop and via the train station. I'd recommend but get a top level room with a window. Enjoy
3 out of 5
by Bogdan from Aberdeen

good stay overall

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
It could have been more useful to have a kettle and cups/glasses in the rooms as it was very unconfortable to go and interrupt a staff dinner party to ask for a couple of glasses one evening and did not have any hot water to prepare my medicine for both the evenings spent there. Other that that everything was very nice, breakfast was quite ok also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2015 by Roberto, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you, for your review. We're sorry if you've had little problems with your medicine. Next time you can book book a superior double room, which are equipped with kettles and cups. However the reception staff is at your disposal until 8:00 PM
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome View

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel staff is very friendly. They make you feel like home. The view from room as well from swimming pool is awesome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Country comfort

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels
It was a beautiful and peaceful place with a short drive to the city centre. The room was cosy and clean, great shower and hot water. The owner was extremely helpful and pleasant. He had great knowledge of the surrounding areas and gave us great information. The pool and the gardens were clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great B&B with really nice staff and great view

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Stayed 2 nights with 3 adults and 3 children between 2 rooms. All the staff was great, the gentleman working reception spoke fluent English and had plenty of recommendations for things to do and how to get around. The breakfast was a nice, normal Italian style with pastries and various coffee's to order plus some yogurt, bread and fruit. The area around the hotel is nice to hang out with and good enough for the kids to run around a play a bit outside plus there is a nice view of a typical Tuscan landscape. The pool was closed but looks like it would be great in the summer! The hot water wasn't working in 1 of our showers but it was late and since it was working in the other room I didn't bother the owners.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robyn from Syracuse, NY

Not bad but maybe you'll want to reconsider.

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: The scenery and the quiet atmosphere. Although a bit far to travel back & fourth from attractions, this hotel was very affordable.
Cons: The bedding could be updated and more comfortable. They could also improve the signage leading to the hotel itself.
Location: There are some great restaurants as well as the Piazza Del Campo which is absolutely marvelous to visit and @ the hub of activity.
This hotel is located on the outskirts of town, away from the hub of activity. While some would find this inviting...we found it very difficult to find, little signage and after traveling overnight, totally exhausting. When we finally arrived, Roberto was warm & caring. Our room was small and located in a basement type of setting so it was dark and the bedding & towels were scratchy! The area surrounding the property is lovely with great views of the valley. This hotel has a small wine cellar from where we purchased an outstanding, "Brunello!" This was costly @ $35 per bottle but our nerves outweighed "common sense. "
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Holiday maker from Chichester

Lovely relaxing place to stay with great views

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Lovely facilities, great views, lovely pool and very close to Siena
Cons: Noisy motorway close by
Location: Great relaxing location if you have a car to get into Siena.
Best place we stayed at for out whole trip. Lovely setting and great facilities. Beautiful house and great views. The family is very friendly and helpful. Convenient as only 10 minute drive to Siena but feels as if you are in the countryside. We were allowed to use the barbeque facilities one night which was a nice break from eating out. The only downside is that there is a noisy motorway close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Stay in Siena

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Everything - pool, views, great staff
Location: Just outside of Siena town on a hill top, great location.
The most amazing experience and wonderful hotel, beautiful views, very friendly and helpful staff, good sized pool, a good breakfast with amazing coffee and perfect location. My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights in total during our tour around Tuscany, frankly this was our best stay, just outside of the hustle of Siena, a quick and easy 5min drive or 15-20min bus ride into town. Roberto was very helpful even on our last day he took us to Euorpcar to collect our hire car as I didn’t know where it was which we are very grateful for. We were able to bring our own lunch / dinner / wines, free use of a fridge (Warning: we found that not many B&B / Hotels allowed use of a fridge during our stay around Tuscany). I would be happy to stay again in the future.