Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel close to town but away from the hustle

Posted Sep 29, 2016
My forth visit to this hotel. Easy to daytriparound Tuscany
1 out of 5
by Geoffrey from Davis, California

Didn't even answer the phone

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
I can't tell you about our stay because we never made it onto the property. First off, it was hard to even get out to Montepulciano from Florence, so we ended up getting there really late. When we called the hotel from the train station we got no answer. When we showed up at the door, there was also no answer. The next day, after needing to find another hotel last minute, we called them again. Still, no answer.
4 out of 5
by Ada from London

Relaxed stay in the middle of a vineyard

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
Had a great one day stay at Farmhouse Il Fenile, the last night of our Tuscany trip. We were 2 couples, sharing a huge apartment. Very clean, nice decorations, nothing to complain - would have appreciated having tea & coffee in the kitchen though. We loved the pool and the garden, and Montepulciano was close to drive to. The owners were friendly, even they didn't speak too much English. Recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la

Love this place i can't wait to go back.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Its rustic charm
Cons: breakfast would be great, you must drive to the grocery store after your arrival
Location: Montepulicano is awesome, so many great people and a charming hillside town
Graciella was out awesome host who appeared shortly after check in with two bottles of wine . We stayed in the 3 bedroom which was perfect, morning swims and the most charming little cat adopted us on our first day. It is not luxury, it is rustic, and charming so if your looking for something more chic this is not it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and quiet hotel with convenient location

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel was clean and in quiet surroundings. The hotel is conveniently located to reach Montepulciano. The service was friendly. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent home base, great location

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Loved the location and the quiet country nights
Cons: air conditioning might help cool the nights down a bit
Location: just down the hill from Multipulciano, within 20 minutes of 4 or 5 other hilltop towns
Real Tuscan experience in the middle of wine country. The owner is a wonderful lady, gave us fresh fruit off the trees in the farm each morning. We had plums, nectarines, peaches and apples. Ofcourse she has grapes as well :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Enjoyable stay in pretty farmhouse in great spot

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay il Fienile. Great location, lovely pool and comfortable accommodation. If you're looking for the Ritz, this isn't it ... it is simply a lovely farmhouse, surrounded by vines and fruit trees, managed by a lovely lady who takes great pride in her wine and fruit ( ... her barely speaking a word of english adds to the charm!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brookline,ma

Highly recommended

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Clean pool The owner is very gracious and kind, accessible The family flat was spacious - 3 bedrooms and 2 toilets/showers
Location: Montepulciano sights and supermarket are 7 minutes away. We liked it even more than Siena
I would highly recommend this location. Welcoming, clean, spacious, very close to Montepulciano and accessible.
5 out of 5
by Jay from California

relaxing, convenient, and authentic experience

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels
Our family of 5 had a great time staying in the Girasole apartment at Il Fienile. The property is beautiful - looks just like the pictures. We felt like we were immersed in the countryside of Tuscany as we sat by the pool in the midst of a vineyard with sheep on the hillside. Truly a memorable part of our trip to Italy. Our hosts were gracious and thorough and the property is very comfortable. We have 3 older boys and we had more than enough space to stretch out and relax. The location is just a few minutes from Montepulciano, and very close to a grocery store. We stocked up on a few things like coffee and breakfast and then spent our days enjoying Montepulciano and the surrounding other hill towns (don't miss Cortona or Pienza). Highly recommend Il Fienile!
4 out of 5
by RS from Edmonton

Beautiful farmhouse and very clean

Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels
Although rooms didn't have heating and it was quite chilly since it had been raining all day, I have to say that this place was really really charming and beautiful. I am sad that we didn't plan to spend more days here. The owner was polite and though conversing in English was a little difficult, she still tried to answer our questions. I'd love to go back there one day. Place was very clean, had everything that we needed, location was excellent although there aren't many places to eat or hang out at night nearby but we had a car and everything was in approach.