Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel close to town but away from the hustle

Posted Sep 29, 2016
My forth visit to this hotel. Easy to daytriparound Tuscany
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la

Love this place i can't wait to go back.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Its rustic charm
Cons: breakfast would be great, you must drive to the grocery store after your arrival
Location: Montepulicano is awesome, so many great people and a charming hillside town
Graciella was out awesome host who appeared shortly after check in with two bottles of wine . We stayed in the 3 bedroom which was perfect, morning swims and the most charming little cat adopted us on our first day. It is not luxury, it is rustic, and charming so if your looking for something more chic this is not it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent home base, great location

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Loved the location and the quiet country nights
Cons: air conditioning might help cool the nights down a bit
Location: just down the hill from Multipulciano, within 20 minutes of 4 or 5 other hilltop towns
Real Tuscan experience in the middle of wine country. The owner is a wonderful lady, gave us fresh fruit off the trees in the farm each morning. We had plums, nectarines, peaches and apples. Ofcourse she has grapes as well :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Enjoyable stay in pretty farmhouse in great spot

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay il Fienile. Great location, lovely pool and comfortable accommodation. If you're looking for the Ritz, this isn't it ... it is simply a lovely farmhouse, surrounded by vines and fruit trees, managed by a lovely lady who takes great pride in her wine and fruit ( ... her barely speaking a word of english adds to the charm!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brookline,ma

Highly recommended

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Clean pool The owner is very gracious and kind, accessible The family flat was spacious - 3 bedrooms and 2 toilets/showers
Location: Montepulciano sights and supermarket are 7 minutes away. We liked it even more than Siena
I would highly recommend this location. Welcoming, clean, spacious, very close to Montepulciano and accessible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SG from NC

I will return.

Posted May 13, 2012
Pros: charming location
Cons: Had to ask for hot water to be turned on
Location: 20 minutes from Pienza, 10 minutes from Montepulciano....fabulous wine country location. Gorgeous views driving into and out of this location.
cutest farmhouse. Last year stayed in the upstairs one bedroom apt; this year stayed in the "camomile" one bedroom apt downstairs. Both are good. Upstairs is larger, with fireplace, but I liked the downstairs better bc it had a bigger kitchen and was a little more private. Love this place and will return. Pool is gorgeous and set in vineyards. There is a nearby small road, but traffic is minimal..just be aware. Adorable and affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by lllw from Muncie, IN

Good, wouuld recommendm byu with some reservations

Posted Dec 26, 2011
Pros: the location
Cons: the apartment was cold, and the heat was not included in the price
Location: it was about 3km from Montepulciano, easy to reach during daylight hours, but impossible to find at night. The apartment was located in a stone barn.
The heat didn't work at first, but it was taken care of by the second night. It was difficult to communicate with the owners, because of language barrier. All issues were with the apartment were taken care of quickly. As we were preparing to leave, 30 minutes before check out time, the electricity and gas were turned off to the apartment, which made washing the dishes and using electronics impossible. We were not aware that heat (=gas) was not included in the price of the room. The location is beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

A Gem

Posted Sep 23, 2011
The 2 of us had a two room apartment, which could sleep 4 but I would recommend this for any couple as the second bed is a only a bed settee in the living room area. We had loads of space and a comfortable seating area. Il Fienile is a beautiful old farmhouse skilfully converted into apartments. There is a covered parking area for each apartment plus individual outdoor dining areas. The gardens are extremely well cared for and the pool was immaculately clean with plenty of sunbeds and deckchairs. We stayed for a week but many of the guests (from all over the world) were on touring holidays and stayed 1 or 2 nights to enjoy the peace and a spot of leisure on their hectic schedules. The location is perfect for Montepulciano, 2 or 3 km from the town which is full of shops, enoteca and restaurants; plus many other beautiful Tuscan towns are easily accessible. One downside was the busy road that runs past Il Fienile, it was practically non-stop traffic (cars plus heavy agricultural vehicles) from very early until late. Also our shower drainage was extremely sluggish, but the drains are probably very old, so it was to be expected. All in all we enjoyed staying here in September and would recommend it as an intimate agriturismo experience when the weather is slightly cooler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hastings

Nice agriturismo appartments

Posted Jun 2, 2011
The problem with Il Fienile is that it's a series of flats - not the cottage it appears to be in publicity photos. I am 6'6" tall & was offered a room with an iron platform on which stood the bed! I hit my head on the platform from below & the ceiling (which was the unprotected floor of the flat above) was only a couple of feet above the bed. Noisy Americans occupied the top flat.... Manager very helpful & moved us straight away to a larger unit which was not booked for 6 of our 7 days. Much more comfortable - though could still hear the Americans most nights. Bought & drank some good Montepulciano wines at Il Fienile, but moved out for last night rather than try the small room & hired a smashing room in Montefollonico rearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Adorable and Quaint Cottage

Posted Oct 20, 2010
This was an adorable little agritourism cottage. The people were very friendly and the room was pretty much what we expected. The setting was beautiful and the cottage was decorated very nicely. Less than 5 minute drive to Montepluciano. Location was a little difficlut to find, but then we didn't have a GPS. There was no internet or cell phone reception, but is that really a negatve? The pool and hot tub were very nice and the apples that fell from the trees were delicious. If we had to list one complaint it would be that we felt the bed was very hard. We definitely hope to retun some day.