Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul

Good location for the sightseeing of Siena.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Enough big bathroom. Good wifi.
Cons: The safe in the cabinet is old. It doesn't have its screen. Upgrading the safe would be better.
Location: The location is not near a sightseeing place. Calling a taxi would be very convenient when reaching the city center of Siena.
Old, but well-maintained room. Enough big bathroom. Wifi internet is good. Breakfast buffet is ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, old world charm. Amazing Resturant

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Staff is friendly, warm and inviting. Old world charm. Excellent restaurant for dinner. Loved the free wine and tapas hour!
Cons: My only real complaint is that all the hotels we stayed at in Italy, their mattresses are extremely firm and washcloths are not available.
Location: visit the Siena Duomo. Take the Pisa/Lucca tour & the San Gimigano wine tasting tour! Ask the front desk about these.
Originally wrote 3x as much! Close to the train station, not walking distance, will need to take a cab. Parking avail if you have a rental car. You cannot drive in Siena unless you’re a resident or cab/mass transit. The main hotel does not look that big, but they have separate buildings. The place is bigger than you think. I booked one of the lower cost rooms, they upgraded us upon arrival since it was our honeymoon. All the staff were so friendly & helpful. I love the Tuscan décor of the whole place. Don’t expect new, luxe or modern, it is typical and gives the appropriate Tuscan feel you should want for your experience. Breakfast is included, it’s good, the tartes were personally my favorite. Skip the “American” scrambled eggs & bacon and enjoy the fruit, cheese, meat & pastries. Take advantage of their nightly wine & delicious tapas in the bar, it’s included but I don’t see it mentioned in the description. We enjoyed our wine & nibbles on their outdoor patio which overlooks beautiful Siena before heading in for dinner. Everything we ordered at their restaurant for dinner & dessert over the course of our stay was amazing. Make friends the with matradee, he’s a gem! They packed us box lunch for free one of our tour days. The Duomo is prettier & more intricate then anything in the Vatican museums and the Sistine Chapel. We extended our stay an extra day so we could enjoy and explore Siena more. We will be glad to stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Be aware

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Rooms outdated
Location: Nothing nearby ... Everything is away
Expedia pictures is missLeading ... They have two builDing .. One for the advance prepaid online customers and feel like dorms rooms ... Very basic...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Great hotel close enough to city center

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Great stay. Close enough to walk to center of town. Food there was quite good. Rooms large and comfy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hampshire

nice hotel but beware what you are booking!

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Clean and tidy,lovely restaurant staff, especially the Maitre 'D
Cons: See comments above. Bed roomsize,
Location: Close to town, visit Siena and Chianti area if have a car
As title says beware, we booked a superior room through Expedia, photos looked great, description said 215 sq ft room, now I was brought up in metres and cms so this sounded large. Well it isn't. We had a superior room but it was the smallest room. Pictures are of the larger rooms so don't be fooled. When complained to staff all we got was 'you booked with Expedia'. superior rooms have a kettle and tea and coffee, oh no they don't, they have a kettle with fruit teas, paper cups and no milk or coffee, so take your own. The beds are very hard- orthopaedic I believe the manager has described them, well you will need an osteopath after staying. My bed at home was bliss last night! Moans over we did have a lovely stay at hotel garden. It is a 20 min walk to edge of town, all flat. There is a bus €1.20 a trip. Restaurant was lovely and staff very amenable, reserve your table in the morning as it gets booked up quickly. Breakfast, I advise getting there early to avoid the crowds but a general European affair. Orange juice is disgusting and like water though. the bar is expensive but then the bar tender does have a very heavy hand with the spirits, one cubre libre lasted all night it was so strong,thank you Atier. Bar snacks are fantastic and terrace has a view over to Siena. Didn't use the pool Word of warning DON't BOOK A CLASSIC /STANDARD ROOM, I believe thy are like a school dorm and not like the pictures. Pay a little bit extra for superior albeit a small room if it's Expedia
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lebanon

Uncomfortable experience

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Although the hotel exterior was nice I advice everyone to take their pillow and mattres with them. No laundry and ironing service. No room delivery, you have to go get your stuff from the reception. Location was OK if you have a car. Parking lot was always full. Breakfast selection was poor for a 4 stars hotel. Poor bathroom amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great hotel.

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: All.
Cons: Shuttle bus into Siena once or twice throughout day and evening
Great hotel. Staff very helpful. Food was excellent. 15 minute walk from Siena centre but well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Perfectly situated and appointed.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Siena is very busy and crowded so we really appreciated returning to the calm and comfort of the Hotel.
Cons: Perfectly suited our needs.
Location: Siena itself is wonderful; the architecture, art and history of this medieval town warrants a long stay. The Tuscan countrside is delightful.
The hotel is extremely comfortable and well appointed. The spacious grounds with it's terraces and pools is ideal for relaxing after a day's sightseeing. Breakfast was was plentiful and varied and we enjoyed an evening dinner and a bar meal whilst there. Plenty of free car parking was available and the reception staff were very helpful. We look forward to another visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Cons: Modernize the rooms.
Nice place but the rooms in the separate building are only OK. Pool is nice and the restaurant is actually very good ... even by Italy standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Very good value

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Very good hotel, excellent restaurant and very polite and helpful staff. Well worth considering. Good pool.