Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachael from Sunderland, U.K.

Great base for touring Tuscany

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: The staff were great. Breakfast was good with a wide selection of goodies to choose from. Comfy room. Good location for touring Tuscany.
Cons: The fridge in the room could have been colder. The tv had no channels in English - although I did manage to improve my Italian!
Location: Siena is a must! San Gimignano was a good half day with several great gelateria. Volterra worth a trip too. Plenty to find just driving about too.
We had a great holiday based at "the old paper mill", whizzing around Tuscany in Florence (our hired Fiat 500 who did sterling work up and down and around the hills and winding roads). Colle is a good base if you prefer to stay in "real" Italy, and is close enough to the touristy bits (Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra etc) for days out. The hotel staff are great - friendly and helpful, and they didn't laugh at my amateur Italiano! Our room was clean and comfy with a lovely view of the old town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Toronto, ON

Top notch lodging in heart of Tuscany

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: The friendliness and the smalltown feel of the place.
Cons: Safe and WIFI access in the room.
Location: In the heart of Tuscany. Siena is 20 minutes one way. San Gemigniano is 20 minutes the other. Great location and friendly safe town .
The rooms are large and have these great shutter windows(leftover from the old factory). The customer service was exceptional. Great free WIFI in the lobby and outside in the square. Breakfast with cappuccino to order in a nice dining room hit the spot. The air conditioning wasn't very strong and there was no safe in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel la vecciol charateria

Posted May 3, 2013
Pros: See above.
Hotel was somewhat hard to find but well marked with directional signs in the area. Great breakfast and near elevator to upper old town & nearby restaurants. Also has free parking lot within 150 meters.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hard to Find.

Posted Oct 10, 2012
We were driving and this hotel was hard to find. It's located in the center of this little village and the map was not very specific. It was fine once we got there and the breakfast was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the hotel!

Posted May 17, 2012
The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from santa barbara, california

a great hotel in tuscany

Posted Jul 28, 2010
centrally located to see florence, siena, san gemignano and other places: good location in town close to restaurants and bars
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Good Centre for Central Tuscany

Posted Sep 17, 2009
My second stay at this well maintained and run hotel in an excellent location for exploring central tuscany. Helpful staff speaking good Englash and other European langagues. Colle is a very attractive and lively hill .town off the main tourist trail but only a couple of Kms from the Florence-Siena autostrada. Good local restaurants and bars around the main piazza.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very Enjoyable Stay

Posted Sep 9, 2009
My husband and I just returned from a 10 day holiday in Italy. We stayed at Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera for 4 nights. The room was very clean, The air conditioning worked very well and the hotel staff was most helpful. The breakfast at the hotel offered a wide variety of choices and was the best we had on our entire trip (we also stayed in Florence and Rome). It is also located in a beautiful hillside city and is an excellent base from which to explore the Tuscany region.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kutztown, PA

Hospitable good value

Posted Jun 10, 2009
The owner transformed his former pape mill into a cheerful, impecably run hotel. He is still very involved in daily operations, making sure the place meets up to his high standards. The location is central (1/4 block from the main square), yet quiet and open. The front desk staff, on more than one occassion, went the extra mile to help us (i.e. sought out bicyle rental options,located a cane after a bike fall, looked up bus schedules). We had a delightful week's stay at this hotel. We highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by FrenchyFred from London, United Kingdom

Ideal location, quiet, convenient and truly Italian....

Posted Aug 19, 2008
Second trip, we got a larger room this time and had a view over the old town. Colle is not tourist ridden like other local cities. It is convenient to visit surrounding Tuscan highlights.