Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from White Plains, NY

Nice hotel outside of San Gimignano

Posted Sep 27, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at this old hotel outside of San Gimignano. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Our room had a second floor in a tower with windows on all four sides. We had a great view of San Gimignano and the surrounding countryside. The grounds are gorgeous. There are many terraces and seating areas and a lovely pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver canada

A little far out from town, no picnics allowed

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Bed not very comfortable, do not want you to have picnics on the grounds. About a 3 K drive to town. Pool was very nice but hot tub not clean and not working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Amazing hotel in a fantastic setting!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Not the hotel's fault, but GPS really doesn't work in this part of the world so we had a bit of trouble finding it.
Loved our stay here and wish it was longer. Our two rooms were huge (the staff had tried to keep us and our kids close together which somehow resulted in an upgrade so we had two rooms that each had a separate living area and two bedrooms). Furnishings are simple but perfectly adequate and very comfortable. The view from one of our rooms was amazing -- the town in the distance out one window, and the pool and vineyards/olive groves out the other. The pool was lovely and tranquil with the same vineyard/olive tree views. In fact, there are places all over the property where you can sit, either at tables or lounge chairs, and all of them are beautifully sited. We had a good dinner on the terrace -- simple menu with just a few items, but we enjoyed our meal. Breakfast, also on the terrace, was very nice too with lots of choice. Although the town of San Gimignano itself was the reason we were there (it's a 5-minute drive), I would gladly have spent all my time at the lovely hotel enjoying the peace and quiet and beautiful setting. Hope to return some day soon!
4 out of 5
by Aristos from Sevenoaks, Kent

5 night stay in Tuscany in character hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Good: Great location, clean rooms, friendly staff, character hotel, nice pool and all maintained. lovely views of San Gimignano. great value and would recommend others to stay here Negatives: Disappointing breakfast (coffee good but limited items and not great quality given the food in the area is so good), lunch & dinner menu exactly the same menu and very limited. Tennis court in sever decay and needs updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic view of San Gimignano

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Fantastic staff, stunning views.
Cons: Rooms are relatively basic, but you don't spend much time in them anyway.
Location: San Gimignano is a small, walled town with plenty to do. Lots of places to eat, followed by a gelato in the town square.
The hotel is about 10 minutes drive from San Gimignano. The staff were fantastic, as were the views. The pool is lovely (with plenty of sun loungers and even a hot tub!) and the gardens are very pleasant. There's not much else to do at the actual hotel, but the location means you can get to many of the major Tuscan tourist destinations with ease (a car is absolutely essential).
5 out of 5
by Guy from White Rock BC Canada

Beautiful Tuscany

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Michael. Great spot in Tuscany. Breakfast was wonderful. Very relaxing at the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Tuscan vacation place

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Loved this place. Next door also has highly rated restaurant
5 out of 5
by Pui Har

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark from Philadelphia

Serene, beautiful, friendly hotel (B&B feel)

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
We spent 4 nights there, it was just amazing. The views of San Gimignano are INCREDIBLE! If you don't have a car they can call a taxi for you for 10Euro, some nice restaurant / site seeing options there. But overall, we barely wanted to leave the hotel grounds. Beautiful places to lounge all over the place, views of vineyards / olive gardens. You can take a nice stroll past the hotel to walk through some of them yourself, so many amazing beautiful picture opportunities. I can't thank the staff enough, they were all so friendly and helpful, and it was a blast (attempting) to speak our broken Italian with them :) The hotel also has a nice selection of great local wines, a beautiful big pool, and good grilled Tuscan style food. Highly recommend if you want some time to unwind and just take in the beauty that is Tuscany!