Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Maria

Terrible room.

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
The room is nothing like the picture at Hotels.com. We were told that the picture is the only ONE superior room they have, and that it was not available. Terrible room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Older style hotel ok for quick stay over

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Great breakfast - many breakfast cakes and a delightful full honeycomb of honey (no bees!) which we ate on a cool terrace. Easy free parking outside hotel. Very hot weather (35+ degrees) and unfortunately air conditioning marginal. Hotel had a fish restaurant on first floor so some smell of fish.
3 out of 5
by NISHANT

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2014
The room we stay was big and clean, but the TV was so small. Staff was ok. Free wi fi. Breakfast was good, a lot of choice. Parking space was available. Hotel sign is not obvious. Over all was above average.
2 out of 5
by Paul from Sheffield

Needs refurbishment

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice people but the hotel is looking very tired and the rooms need to be spruced up. Mine had a fusty smell and an ancient tv with no picture on some channels. Also, the wifi signal was very hit and miss.
4 out of 5
by NancyW from Dublin Ireland

Friendly Hotel Staff / Lovely Breakfast on Terrace

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
Older hotel, but friendly staff and free breakfast on the terrace each morning. We were visiting friends in the area, so really only used the hotel for sleeping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Poggibonsi

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Staying un Poggibonsi is convenient if you want to visit Ciena, Florence, San Gimignano, Chianti region without having to change hotel each night. The hotel is nice with a very good restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from London, England

A few days in Poggibonsi

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Price, location is good.
Cons: Better breakfast, bigger TV, better aircon, update the public areas (though some may like the 79s Italian feel)
Location: San Gimignano, Florence, Barberino and Siena all very close by car.
A few days in Poggibonsi is enough, we were here for a friend's wedding and Alcide hotel is perfect for the price. You need a car as there isn't anything to do in PB, we couldn't even find a restaurant in the town! Out and about though is wonderful, we had dinner one night at Monteriggioni and another night at Vico Furbo in Vico D'Elsa. Its also only twenty minutes to drive to San Gimignano which is where we spent the second half of our trip, where one of the hotels in the main square was just a extra €30 per night. The room is large enough, there are two bathrooms one with basin and bathtub the other with basin and toilet so that makes morning logistics for a married couple slightly easier. The hotel wifi works well, once you can figure out how to get connected. The free bottled water in the fridge was good. The TV is too small and without any international channels. The aircon is a little slow and ineffective and we couldn't figure out how to override the automatic operation. The breakfast was very average. Overall we would recommend the Alcide for a few nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was just okay...

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels
Usually when I seen something rated so highly by users I expect more. I guess I went in with high expectations...everything was fine just not exceptional. Of all the places we stayed on our trip, this one was the one with lowest quality breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: They had a very fine breakfast buffet. Given their history as a ristorante, this is no surprise.
Cons: Could have more parking spaces, more conveniently located.
Very friendly, attentive people, especially at the bar.