Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Margaret from Clonard, Co Meath

Walking the Via Francigena

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Avery beautiful place with a lot of history
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect location and atmosphere

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, comfort of the room, friendly staff (incl. Pongo :) ).
Location: Perfect location for exploring all major Chianti & Val d'Orcia destinations by car.
The hotel is in a perfect location for reaching Chianti, Siena, Orcia valley and all major historic towns (Volterra, San Gimignano, even Monteriggioni is minutes away by car). Using it as a base, could explore all the surrounding major destinations. The converted villa has a lovely atmosphere, staff very friendly and helpful - the absolutely huge but very friendly dog called Pongo added a superb touch to the reception area...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eileen C.

Perfectly splendid hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Ebookers
The hotel was everything we wanted ,friendly, helpful staff. Two restaurants to choose from, wonderful breakfast, pool. tennis court, parking and each room individual and charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eileen C.

Memorable Stay

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Ebookers
We found everything to our liking, The hotel far exceeded our expectations. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. The Breakfast was far too good. Both restaurants were very good. We booked for two days and stayed a week! Because we were'nt expecting such a good hotel we in fact stayed in three different rooms and loved all of them. We will certainly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eileen C.

We went for three days and stayed a week

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Ebookers
The hotel was everything we wanted. Beautiful old building full of interesting objects and lovely old furniture. The rooms were all different but all had an individual character. Great breakfast and the best coffee. Hot water was abundant. Choice of two restaurants. Pool and sun loungers. Quiet at nights and all the staff from the manageress -restaurant waitress to the combined breakfast server/ cleaner could not have been more helpful or friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul H

A charming quirky hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Ebookers
Although the Villa Belvedere is an aging building it has great character. The breakfast is good and the coffee great. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Pongo the huge dog is very friendly also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, Virginia USA

Somewhat dated

Posted Sep 27, 2013
We stayed there September 15, 2013. This old villa did not live up to the expectations from the pictures on Expedia or their website. The staff was nice and the food in the restaurant was good. The grounds were unkempt and the room was very small. The bathroom had a folding, broken plastic divider that separated the toilet and the shower. We were disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Canada

Exactly what we were looking for in Tuscany

Posted Jun 10, 2011
The hotel was easy to find(GPS helped), well managed and convenieant to the Autostrada to go to either Firenze or Sienna. The manager was of great assistance to us in helping us plan our touring. It is also central to visit all of the very classsic Tuscan towns and villages and adjacent to the Chianti region. It was a nice home to return to at the end of the day. Breakfasts were excellent although one would expect so as they was a small extra charge. Internet worked well also for a small extra charge. We would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Kiss Me Im Italian

Posted May 30, 2010
The hotel is easy to find if you call the hotel and ask for the address to enter into gps, the address on Expedia is not good enough if you are using GPS Tom Tom Device. We easily found the hotel, it is very close to Siena and it was great. The people who run the hotel are very warm and friendly and speak English. The hotel exterior is beautiful and the interior is lovely. The facility is not 'new' it is NOT supposed to be it was built in 1700, the atmosphere shows the age of the building and it has a tremendous amount of character. The outside grounds are lovely, the pool is great, the flowers and landscaping are wonderful. I did not want to leave, we stayed one night and I wanted to extend our stay, but we could not. I would stay there for weeks, the feeling of the place and the character alone makes a trip to this hotel worthwhile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great Access to Florence,Siena and Chianti Region

Posted Nov 24, 2009
Ideally located to access all parts of Northern Tuscanny. Leave your car and take the bus,hourly, right outside the door to Florence and Siena. Charming hotel, friendly and coopeative staff. Best of all great meals at a reasonable price. 15 minutes from San Gimigignano and 10 minutes from Monteriggiore.