Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Iain from Manchester UK

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
Room above a wine store in Monte Alcino. Drink on arrival. What more can we say. Clean, tidy room was just the job on a room only basis on our travels. Handy parking - free with the permission of local arrangement.
4 out of 5
by Laurence from Ohio

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very comfortable. Simone was very pleasant and extremely helpful with re-coordinating our tour connections and teaching us about the local wine community.
5 out of 5
by Nancy from Minnesota

Great location in beautiful Montalcino!

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
We loved staying at Barlanzone. Simone was away on holiday with his family, so he had a lovely woman greet us. Room is very clean and comfy. We overlooked the beautiful valley and the fort. Our only complaint is the parking situation in the town. We had the female parking police follow us throughout town while we were trying to find a place to park (before we got the parking permit). She was not nice or helpful at all!!! So, we finally found a one hour free space, and then finally moved into the permit parking lot. We left Monday morning at 9:20 only to find out that we got a parking ticket at 9:02AM !!! Since there was no one at the hotel, we went to the police station who sent us to city hall. There, low and behold was the parking woman...again! I had my husband drive around while I went in to dispute the ticket only to be informed that we couldn't park there on Monday from 9AM to 8PM because it was street cleaning day. So, 28 Euro later.... We did happen upon the only remaining winery inside the walled city,Padelletti, which we thououghly enjoyed touring and tasting. Lucia was a dear and spent a lot of time with us. Purchased a bottle of Brunello to take home with us. Did other tastings in town also. Great little village with magnificent views!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel if you drive

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Location was great, parking in lot right by hotel, or a lot they suggest. No breakfast, but there are a couple of great places to grab a croissant and cappucino. They were so helpful and interesting people, great wine shop and tasting too. Room was quiet even though it is on a main tourist area, it is still quiet at night. Room is a bit dated, but very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Jan from USA

Excellent stay.

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely stay. Reasonable and adequate. Nothing fancy but comfortable & convenient. Friendly manager. Good recommendations for eating & travel. Would definitely recommend and return!
5 out of 5
by Ajay from Mercer Island, WA

exquisite for Tuscany wine country

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
The location is just brilliant! The surrounding views are stunning!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a view!

Posted Jul 20, 2014 on Hotels
Our window looked out on to the Fortessa. Great view! The hotel location is convenient to everything in town. Loved Montalcino!. The room was nice with a very nice bathroom. All of the hotels that we booked in Italy said that there were double beds, but the beds were bigger. At least a queen size. None of the beds in Italy were very comfortable, but we got used to that after a few days. The staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alfio from Sesto Calende

Comfortable place to stay while in Montalcino

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Room was warm and clean with nice view
Cons: The shower head was terrible
Location: Everything within walking distance, but the town is basically closed during the winter
My room had a nice view over the nearby fortress. Montalcino is small so everything was within walking distance. The owner was very nice but wasn't always there, so couldn't answer some questions I had.
5 out of 5
by Marcus from Houston, TX

Castle & Wine

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels
What more do you need for a beautiful stay in Tuscany? My new wife and I stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. This is a small 4 bedroom hotel right over a wine shop and facing the famous castle. The room was clean and decent sized, but the location and service are the real selling features. Would definitely stay here again if back in Montalcino.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Canada

In our opinion...

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: The location.
Cons: Including a breakfast in the booking.
This hotel was nice, immaculately clean and comfortable. This is one of the few hotels which did not offer a breakfast included. For the price we feel it should have been. Also, when we went to check out next mornng, the office was not as yet opened (9:00 p.m.). The staff seemed quite friendly though.