Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great place to relax

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Lovely peaceful hotel in beautiful surroundings, ideal for a get away from it all break
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad staff

Posted Jul 30, 2016
We asked for extra pillows and sheets and the hotel charged us for 30 Euro for that. The hotel staff attitude was very bad and didn't behave nice to us. The hotel structure and overall view is amazing but definetly would not come back with this kind of service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by julia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we would like to remind you that you booked a room for two people and arrived at the hotel in 4. We offered you a second room, which costs much more than 30,00€, you refused it and asked for 4 more pillows, 4 extra sheets and 4 extra towels; we allowed you to sleep in 4 in a room for 2, which is not regular and gave you all you asked. If you think that 30,00€ for all you asked means bad service, we are really sorry, but we have a different point of view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tewkesbury, UK

A Real Gem

Posted Jul 19, 2016
This hotel ticked all the boxes for us. Wonderful setting only 5 mins drive to San Gimignano. Set in an old 16th Century nunnery. Absolutely loved the place. Only stayed two nights but wished it had been two weeks. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Small Cozy hotel w/ Great View & Excellent Service

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Service and the view
Cons: Bar area is a little small, but outside dining area makes up for it
Location: Wineries and San Gimignano
Unexpected treasure. 20 minute walk from San Gimignano. Service is 1st class. Had to move rooms because of a last minute change and hotel staff stored and moved luggage and drove car and loaded luggage from room. Staff gave great recommendations on wineries.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid the restaurant at all cost.

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel and setting are beautiful, but our stay was ruined by an inedible meal and the rude behavior of the hotel staff. Our filet was a miserable cut of meat, and quite possibly not beef. When we complained we were met with rude responses and told that we were wrong about the quality of the cut of meat. Enjoy the hotel, but don't eat at the on-site restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed.

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
The air condition was turned off for the season so we had the windows open. Then it was quite noisey with the kitchen below the room....definitely ask for a room that is not above the kitchen. The restaurant was "fancy" but the food was just "OK" for the price paid. The dessert was horrible.
5 out of 5
by Kimberly from Darien, CT

Beauty and serenity in Tuscany

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
We loved La Collegiate! This former convent is lovely and peaceful. The buildings and grounds (gardens, pool, patios) are beautiful and beautifully maintained. There's even a small open chapel with a fresco of St Francis of Assisi in it. The decor is the right blend of antique furnishings and modern comforts. Our room and bath were spacious. The views from our room stunning. Breakfast was amazing - with a broad array of fruits, yogurts, eggs (even scrambled), meats, cereals, breads and juices. Finally, the staff was warm and helpful while not being intrusive. It really felt a bit like being in a convent. Lovely and peaceful. The hotel is several km from San Gimignano, but the town is easy to get to and parking was plentiful (in October). It also became our base for exploring other towns in Tuscany.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2015
The stay at la collegiata was everything we wanted , location, beautiful accommodation, very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by Wei from UK

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful building and the surrounding area. View is to just amazing. Nice size room and the bathroom (annex 24), very clean, good power show. Breakfast is nice. Lot of choices, delicious pin nuts cake, it's the best we've had in Tuscany.Friendly staff. Nice 15-20 minutes walk to the town. Very quiet day and night. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by Kessler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels