Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay more than a day

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Location, size of rooms, excellent restaurant.
Location: Wonderful area with nearby wineries, cellars and an old city to explore.
Wonderful Country Hotel outside the craziness. Friendly staff and beautiful area. The restaurant has excellent food. I recommend the Wild Boar and you must try the wine. We only stayed for 1 day, but wished it was more.
4 out of 5
by Aaron Jay from St. Louis

Our First Agriturismo

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Coming from Siena by car, we wanted to experience Tuscany's beautiful countryside (though during the winter months) and chose to spend a night in this agriturismo in Montalcino, home of the prized, world-class wine, Brunello. From what we read about agriturismi, we were expecting to have more interaction with the owners, if even an offering of wine tasting, as we've read from many of the reviews here. We did not have such experiences here, but, nevertheless, enjoyed our relaxing stay at Piombaia. The farmhouse itself was characteristically beautiful and the room was very spacious, but, as others have noted, the furnishings lacked appeal. As you'd expect, the owner had only a basic command of English, and this only presented us with an issue when the heating (for both the room and shower) was not functioning well. We had dinner at the Osteria La Crocina, which had great (but not outstanding) food and service, though on the expensive side as far as osterie are concerned. The regional wine was also way more pricey than expected. Overall, we had a nice stay, and would recommend this agriturismo, especially for summer stays.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful location. Furniture and decorations out of date. Big room!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great spot, excellent hospitality!

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Arrived at this hotel after a beautiful drive from Rome airport through the countryside (avoiding most highways). Vitorio was an awesome host- we were able to meet with his family and his father Roberto presented us with the wines created on the land in which they own. We were able to attend the tasting at the family residence just a short drive away (without having a time or tour arranged). Beata, an employee that handles the day to day operations at the Piombaia apartments was a pleasure to deal with. She delivered breakfast to our room each morning (coffee, juice, fruit and pastries) for a nominal fee per/day. This spot was the highlight of our trip so far. The Brunello wines being created in the area of Montalcino are world class. Tour the area, enjoy the immediate offerings - you won't be dissapointed if this is your next stay!
4 out of 5
by John from USA

Lovely Stay

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful agriturismo with a wonderful staff. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the cantina had delicious food! A lovely farm about a 5 min drive from Montalcino center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Excellent apartment for the money

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Quite, serene surrounding. Friendly and helpful staff.
Location: A few minutes of driving to Montalcino and the Abbazia San Antimo.
We stayed here 3 nights.This Fattoria is ideally located for exploring southern Tuscany. The buildings are new/renovated but have an appealing aged, rustic feeling and are very comfortable. Our apartment is spacious and bright. All windows have wood shutters which when closed keeps out noise and light and, with the comfortable bed, helped us sleep well every night. There is a hot tub outdoor. We used it once but it was barely warm enough because of the cold nights in end of October. Our delicious breakfasts (cost extra because we had an apartment) were delivered on time every morning to our room. We ate at the restaurant once and loved the food. The wine we drank, produced on site, was pretty good, too. There was no WI/FI access in the apartment but we got good reception in the common sitting room.
5 out of 5
by Rhonda from Toronto

Excellent place to stay!

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
Absolutely great on all fronts. We would have liked to have spent more than 2 nights there!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only hotel in town.

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels
Fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, peaceful location.

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Staying a few more days
Location: It's a 5 minute drive from Montalcino and no more than 90 minutes from Cortona, Siena, Florence or anywhere in Tuscany.
We only had one night here but I would recommend staying here. We enjoyed an amazing bottle of red wine whilst looking out of our bedroom window over the very grape vines that had produce this beautiful wine. Vittorio (the owner) had to return to harvesting his grapes after he'd checked us in. We had one of the best meals of the holiday in the restaurant here too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2012 on Hotels