Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Superb !!!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: short walk down into the town square .You can go up to the old town . Amazing old church and stunning views . Lots of nice little cafes in the square
What a fantastic place. The old medieval building is amazing. The staff were all very nice and Marco bent over backwards to ensure my stay was perfect. There is a lovely ristorante down in the cellars. A lovely pool outside and amazing views of the old city up on the hill. I will visit this hotel again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016
This is an amazing place to stay. The room was huge and had a view of the old town. The restaurant, Il Cardinale was fabulous! We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Hotel was okay, room was a bit basic and different from the photos on the website but it was okay. There wasn't very much to do in the area but there was a great restaurant across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorktown, VA

Great Hotel with Loads of Atmosphere

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Charm of building and breakfast.
Cons: It would be great if the restaurant had an earlier serving time or there was a way to get a light meal before 8PM
Location: Chianti offers so much...great shopping, restaurants, breathtaking views. It's a great half day or full day adventure.
Great hotel! Rooms are unique and beds are comfortable. Plenty of places to sit and relax throughout property. Close to town and places to eat, plus restaurant on-site. Wonderful breakfast buffet each morning included in price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful authentic Tuscan hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Beautiful peaceful atmosphere, romantic air of mystery, extremely comfortable and homely at the same time with only a short walk to the local town.
Cons: The only minor thing to say is that noise between bedrooms travels quite easily.
Location: Local town delightful only 10min walk. An ideal base for exploring Tuscany. If you're veggie/vegan 'Sbarbacipolla biosteria' is highly recommended.
We stayed for a week, but wished it could be longer, mainly due to the sincere and helpful nature of all the staff. Whatever we needed to know about the locations we were visiting they had extremely good advice, provided maps and gave useful tips about parking and areas of interest. One of our days was spent sitting by the pool side, which was extremely relaxing and the staff again, were extremely tentative making our whole holiday very pleasant and memorable. We particularly loved that the hotel has managed to retain an air of it's old ancient monastery roots whilst still attending to modern needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice stay in a beautiful facility

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: the facility the secluded pool. the intimate restaurant
Cons: AC units
Location: Not much nearby at walking distance. But it's 10 minutes driving from the center.New center with restaurants and old restaurant incredible charm
Relaxing, charming, extremely well renovated. Careful details and peaceful environment. Love the place even during a very hot time and it's not given of the most powerful AC units. Deluxe room on the main floor would astonish you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal, Québec, Canada

Great stay!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Clean and quiet environment with very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: We were quite satisfied with everything.
Location: Major points of interest easily accessible from here :San Gimignano, Siena, Chianti, Voltera, Montepulciano, Pienza, San Quirici d'Orcia, Montalcino.
We were impressed with the service and location of this hotel. It was very quiet and peaceful. We were at rRelais Rovere for three days and found it to be a great base for visiting local attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Tranquil place to stay

Posted Aug 27, 2014
A former monastery which provided a wonderful tranquil atmosphere. Comfortable good sized rooms. An excellent sized swimming pool. Good breakfast with a wide choice to eat. We had a lovely stay. Only downside was that it is 10 mins walk from the town although after a big meal it helped to walk off the excess. I would definitely use again if in the area. The staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tucsonan from Tucson,AZ

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: All the staffs there are very friendly and extremely helpful.
Cons: Stand-up showers instead of a bath tub with hand-held shower handle.
Location: We would recommend visiting the towns of San Gimignano first, very close to the hotel. Then visit towns of Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano, Chianti.
My husband and I stayed at hotel Relais Della Rovere for 5 marvelous days. Our room was big and spacious and clean, with comfortable bed. The foods in their restaurant are excellent. All the staffs there are very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel location is nearby to other wonderful Tuscany towns.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jaydan from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Splendid respite in a village off the beaten path

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: Terrific buffet breakfast, on site pool and delicious restaurant
Cons: Difficult to find
Location: Beautiful quiet village setting, colle de Valle d'Elsa is a hidden gem
My wife and I were looking for a hotel with a rustic ambience somewhere in the Tuscany region. We booked on the fly while in a limited wifi zone from the office of our lodging in Riomaggiore. The hotel delivered in every way, with wifi in the very spacious room, a pool in which to relax and lounge next to, and a restaurant in the ancient basement, Il Cardinale, featuring the best of local Tuscan cuisine. Overall, the hotel experience was most pleasing and good value for the price, especially considering the quality of the food in the included breakfast buffet. I recommend anyone with a desire for a relaxing stay to visit this hotel; we will be back.