Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Carlos

Not a wonderful hotel in El Escorial

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel has a history... it´s been running since the XIX century... so.. the rooms have not been properly updated... wooden floors cracking all the time, the beds were really uncomfortable and hard... plus the service at the reception was a bit rude.. and the cafeteria serves sandwiches with ice in them... Not definitely a place to stay in...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Cheap & Great location, but not very comfortable

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Great location and bargain price.
Cons: More comfortable furniture
Location: Monastery. Dining
Was very inexpensive (1/3rd the price of other hotels we stayed in in Spain) and located with a beautiful view of the monastery in El Escorial. However, on day 1 our bedroom had no tables! The TV was on the floor, and no side tables. We thought it was kind of funny and maybe fitting in terms of proximity to the monastery. We were told at the front desk that there was no wifi that would reach our room. We were mostly thrilled to have a room with air conditioning after 90 degree July day. However, the bed had an extremely thin mattress and no mattress pad, so the comfort level was akin to sleeping on the floor. Things improved in day 2 - we got the wifi password from a more helpful staff member at the front desk as I tried to work downstairs and found that the wifi range did extend to our 2nd floor room, though it was somewhat spotty. And when we returned to our room for the second evening, we were pleasantly surprised to find tables. So, we probably would have had a better experience had we demanded it, but no overcoming the thin mattresses.
5 out of 5
by Louise from Chicago

Steps from El Escorial. Center of restaurants

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Room was perfect for my needs. Very clean. Great air conditioning. The hotel had no notice of my reservation but I had confirmation. The desk clerk was extremely helpful and friendly,gave me a small individual room at a lesser price that I could enter at 11am. The hotel is old but I like that. Great restaurant and service there too. Literally across the street and down the stairs was entrance to El Escorial. One of the housekeepers went out of her way to make sure the air conditioning was working properly. Very kind. The only problem was that Hotels.com hadn't communicated my reservation to the hotel, but that was no problem for the hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

San Lorenzo

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
The wifi was in the lobby only. Apart from that it's a good spot. Super location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Nice quiet hotel very well located. It is close to many restaurants. Unfortunately parking is not easy. There is a public parking at a cost of 2.70€/hour. The internet is only available at the reception area and restaurants/bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Miranda and suizo review

Posted Apr 5, 2016
After reading some reviews that were a bit hit and miss and leaving booking til last minute we were a little apprehensive. We didn't need to worry, the room was spacious and clean, beds comfortable and staff friendly and we enjoyed our stay. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar seemed busy and the beer was good! Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from León

Excelente relación calidad-precio-ubicación.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Hotel centenario con encantó pero actualizado. Nos trataron estupendamente, incluso nos alojaron en una habitación de categoría superior por el mismo precio porque tuvieron un problemilla con la reserva. Repetiremos, seguro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bilbao

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: El estilo elegante y clásico de la decoración.
Cons: El estado de las ventanas y del baño. Igualmente la limpieza de la habitación.
Location: La ubicación es excelente y está rodeado de todo tipo de servicios turísticos.
Decepciona el estado del baño y de las ventanas, así como la limpieza de la habitación. Esperaba algo más nuevo y confortable para un hotel de su categoría. Sin embargo, me llevo un buena impresión general y repetiría.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aceptable

Posted Jan 23, 2017
El hotel es viejo y su estado de conservación aceptable. Habitación algo fría pero dispone de bomba de calor. Armario pequeño para mi gusto. El personal es amable. El hotel está muy bien ubicado; céntrico.
4 out of 5
by Yeon Ho

가격대비 훌륭

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
소개에는 사우나 있었으나 실제는 없었음