Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Lacking that something

Posted Feb 3, 2017
The Independence has the potential to be very good, however it lacks a lot of personal touch. Hotel room was very good, very clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was average, food same each day, every morning during our 5 day stay when we were offered tea or coffee a cup would be given to us but no milk or sugar on the table. The cup and saucer never had a tea spoon so I had to stir my coffee with a knife when I eventually got milk and sugar. It's these little things that matter when you have spent a large if amount of money to stay. The hotel grounds needs a lot of work. apart from the hotel entrance the rest is poorly maintained and could do with a fresh lick of paint. Beach is very nice and private.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, Thanks so much for rating our hotel and hope to see you again on your next visit soon. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great facilities.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Not much.
Location: As above.
This hotel has great facilities including a glass elevator down to a private beach. It lacks the polish of a five star hotel but the views, pool, gym and private beach were all in that league at a very reasonable cost. The staff were friendly and helpful and although the hotel is 15 minutes from the town centre there is a free bus which will take and pick you up. If you pick this hotel you won't be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by E-Comm, Hotel Management
Dear Value Guest, Thank you for your feedback and we really happy to hear that you like our property. We always work hard to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Best regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel is probably past it best but they are working on renovations at the moment. It has a lot of past history. The room was fine but it was a stop over on the way to Koh Rong Island. Breakfast was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Value guest, Thank you so much for spending time to give us a review of your stay and happy to hear that you like our room with breakfast. For our Sunset restaurant is under upgrading and will be finished around end of December this year in order to provide our guests with an even more comfortable stay. also we building up new infinity swimming pool right on the sea bay behind Sea Pavilion Building. Thank you,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough but miles from town

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Its generally a nice hotel but its miles away from anything...also we booked a sea pavilion (at extra cost) looking forward to nice views of the sea but we couldn't see it at all. There was renovations going on there so the restaurant was closed. If you want to chill, see very few people and do nothing for a few days it might suit you
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Value Customer, Thank you so much for spending time give us a review of your stay. We are sorry that your stay did not met your expectation. Not just our Sunset restaurant is upgrading to give more exciting to guest. but also we digging up to building 1 more infinity swimming pool right on the bay behind Sea Pavilion building. Any way we still serve food at Coral restaurant and beach bar during this renovation. So after construction finished. it will be more exciting to see our hotel facilities. Thank you and hope we have chance to show our full set of facilities on your next visit soon. Best regards, Sales
5 out of 5
by OLEG from Manila

Very good hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
Very good hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Oleg, Thank you so much for your 5 stars rated on our property and will share it among staff. Best regards, Sale
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Timeless Elegance in Mid-Century Architectural Gem

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The decor and spaciousness of the private villa, the grounds, the clean private beach, the 24-hour security posted around the grounds,the warm staff.
Cons: The exit out of the rounds via the "jogging trail" was a little weird - it would have been easier to go out the way we came in.
Location: Fabulous location - tucked away down a long drive way on a private and well-maintained lush and verdant property - have cocktails in the History Bar.
What a wonderful stay in our private villa overlooking the sea tucked away on an immense private property with 24-hour security far from the madding crowd that is downtown Sihanoukville. We are not the drink-till-the-wee-hours-in-a-bar demographic anymore, so very much enjoyed stepping fom our beautiful room into the Japanese-style soaking tub on our own private terrace surrounded by trees with the sound of the ocean waves breaking upon the shore while gazing at the stars sipping some bubbly and recounting our adventures of the day. Our room was beautifully decorated and had a separate spa bathroom with the tub and overhead rain shower in a glass-and-tile enclosed cube. We had the choice of walking to the main hotel for breakfast or calling for a "buggy" to come and pick us up. We also walked along the stone causeway to the private beach - too bad it was raining that day so we didn't swim or lay out on the lounge chairs. Instead we met friends for a light lunch at the on-site Sunset Terrace on the water's edge. This was a hotel our friend used to come to with his parents in the hotel's heyday, so it was lovely for him to revisit again. We were there in the low season and the hotel was in the midst of completing repairs and upgrades to the pool and main building, but we had a lovely time. We had an excellent night's rest, a good breakfast, and I can't wait to come back to this most beautiful oasis of calm and tranquility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by ecom@darahotels.com, Hotel Management
Dear Value Guest, Thanks so much for your review of your stay and very happy to hear that you like our property. We will share this among the staff. Best regards, Sale
3 out of 5
by Judith from Brisbane

Too Expense For What You Goy

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Room good size. Staff nice beach great pool had mould. Grounds unkept. Breakfast good. Shuttle bus into town was good but as it was low season not very often.
5 out of 5
by Carsten from Snekkersten

Free shuttle

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located a little isolated, but with the FREE shuttle it was no problem coming around. The drivers were so helpful...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA USA

Classic 60's icon updated

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Well run spacious facility. We stayed in a room literally 20 feet from the sea lapping us to sleep after witnessing gorgeous sunsets. Excellent food and all staff were friendly and helpful. Almost everyone spoke at least some English and American dollars are the currency of choice, which made it easy for us American travelers. Beautiful white sand private beach with great swimming and lounging. We would go back in a heart beat.