Ratings based on 1,878 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton BC Canada

The Jewel in the Crown of Bangkok

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Have stayed in this hotel before and enjoyed it Immensely. When I found out they were going to tear it down in April of 2018 I was heartbroken. Then I found out my son and his wife and family were going to be in Bangkok in late August I decided to tag along. They had a special on Club rooms so that's what I booked I have stayed in other hotels with that feature but the Dusit Thani out did them all. The breakfast included feature in the Club Room was absolutely fantastic. Besides a laid out buffet they also had a full menu you could order off of The room was well laid out and the view outstanding. Very clean and quite elegant Numerous restaurants with lots of verity and even if you are not in club class the breakfast in the lower lobby is fantastic The pool area and pool are superior and very private and the staff very attentive My biggest regret of them getting rid of this hotel is that it holds a secret of Bangkok that not many people know In the middle of the Dusit Thani is the most private and relaxing spot in all of Bangkok. There is an oasis with beautiful trees and the most awesome waterfall To sit and relax with a glass of wine and listen to the flowing water you would never know that right outside are 7 million people moving in and around the city. In a city of this size to find a spot like that is amazing. I hope they change their mind on the tearing down of this hotel I would never stear you wrong. The hotel is the best of the best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Ben Perera, Hotel Management
Dear Dean, It is certainly a pleasure to read and share your review of your experience and description of the hotel. Thank you so much for your support and for choosing staying with us before the closure next year. We are pleased to know we managed to give you a memorable stay with the required service and facilities. All our staff will be very happy to know their effort made the difference and thank you for your appreciation. It is sad to realize the inevitable will happen next year where we will close our doors on April 16. This however will not mark an end to it's era but signifies a new beginning, a continuation albeit with new "clothes". In it's core, Dusit's values and heritage lives on. I am sure there will be aspects of the tradition and heritage which will be retained which has made this property such an icon and hope to welcome you to the new era when we open our doors in 2022 if not earlier. Thank you again for your morale boosting review. Warm Regards Ben Perera Resident Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A s demise of an iconic Bangkok landmark

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: The front desk were polite and very honest about the situation .. they advised that the hotel was due for demolition shortly and a three year re build
Cons: Bring forward the demolition.
Location: The location is excellent opposite the beautiful Lumpini park and close to a metro station
We stayed in this hotel ten years ago and remember its opulence and excellent service . We were so disappointed with the rooms that we received. Firstly on check in at 2pm only one room of the three was ready and we were told that we were being "upgraded" due to this. Unfortunately this was not true and we were allocated rooms that appear to have been barely maintained in 10 years. Peeling paintwork, dirty carpets, hooks falling off the walls , sealant smothered across the baths and chipped , stained tubs , rusted railings on the balcony which still had the used matches and cigarette butts from a previous guest. Breakfast was equally poor with a buffet that had a dismal choice of fresh fruit, scrambled eggs that were cold and resembled omelette, overcooked bacon and bitter coffee. After the first night we decided to check out of the three rooms. This review applies to the standard rooms, we were offered to be upgraded , but apart from an additional seating area the quality of the bathrooms was just as poor
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Ben Perera, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thank you for your honest review regarding your experience with us. While the hotel is quite old, there is no excuse for the poor maintenance of guest rooms no matter which category. We are in the business of not only providing accommodation and food but also for creating experiences and memories. We will step up all maintenance works in all rooms and daily inspections will be organised. We will also look into the cleaning effectiveness and ensure all staff understand what needs to be done. I have shared your feedback with the culinary team and service team for their immediate action. Rest assured we will do our best to improve the experience. The hotel will indeed be torn down and will be closing our doors on April 16, 2018. In it's place will be a mixed use development with the hotel, residences, office and retail. We do hope we will be able to welcome you back then. Warm Regards Ben Perera Resident Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room smelling old. carpet and phone old and filthy

Posted Aug 24, 2017
hotel is next to train station and near to shopping center , supermarket and spa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Ben Perera, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed we were not able to give you a positive experience with the poor condition of the room, carpet and aging facilities. We will certainly look into improving these areas in order to improve the overall experience. Thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards Ben Perera - Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la Romana

Excellent club rooms

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The Dusit is in a great location near sala daeng BTS and Silom underground stations. The club floors have a pleasant lounge which is used as a breakfast Room with limited selection. Extremely comfortable and there are no groups. There certainly are groups in the non club rooms and it is no better or worse than other hotels..If travelling independently,go for the club floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Ben Perera, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience. We are pleased to note your appreciation and thank you for the rating. We look forward to your return soon. Warm Regards, Ben Perera - Resident Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely touch of authenticity

Posted Aug 19, 2017
We are pleased, stuff is nice and helpful. A little bit of a quest to find the glasses somewhat hidden in the multiple drawers but we were provided with all we needed in terms of some minutes. Were pleasantly surprised that the stuff temporality supplied to us like iron and additional glassware were not taken away until we completed the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Sukanya Janchoo, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, thank you for your rating and feedback. We are glad to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and wish to welcome you back again in the near future. With warmest regards, Sukanya Janchoo - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Elegant heritage with

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Sense of history And Thai Tradition Staff are friendly and counter staff pretty and handsome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Ben, Hotel Management
Dear Lewis, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted to read of your satisfaction and hope you enjoy your stay. Warm Regards, Ben Perera, Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

A Grand hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location, service, facilities.
Cons: Housekeeping please come a bit later. I prefer to wake up late while holidaying. Hehehe.
Location: Excellent location! Anything (almost) can be found on the streets and alleys around Dusit Thani Bangkok.
Been planning to stay in Dusit Thani Bangkok for a long time now and managed to stay before they close for some changes. Lobby is breathtakingly huge yet warm. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Check-in was a breeze and I was up in my room after making a slight walk to another part of the hotel for the elevator. Room was clean and more spacious than your usual hotel room. Amenities simply wonderful. Love the toiletries provided. Usually I give these a miss as they tend to dry the skin but not Dusit's. Only minor discomfort is the room smelled a little moldy upon first entering. Fortunately I brought along my bought long ago but never used scent stick. End up smelled of green apple. Oh another slight "annoyance", housekeeping seems to be too enthusiastic to do up your room they will be at your door early morning around 9+ am all smiles and cheery. I wish I can be like them in the mornings. Wifi was good. Not sure if it is my gadget but it gets disconnected at times. No biggies. Comfortable bed but too soft pillows. Can't comment on the F&B outlets as I didn't dine in. Small fitness centre with acceptable equipments. Location is superb! Both BTS and MRT lines are right at the doorstep though avoid these during peak hours if your hands are full with your shopping exploits. Can't wait to stay in Dusit Thani Bangkok again before they close next year as I expect it will be totally different. Don't miss it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Ben Perera, Hotel Management
Dear Safiee, Thank you very much for your detailed review and glad you managed to fulfill your plan to stay with us. Happy to read that you did have an overall good stay except for the eager housekeeping maids. Your compliments of the lobby and service is well received and acknowledged. We thank you for the appreciation. We are looking into the smell in the rooms and will find a solution. Thank you for highlighting this to us. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully before April 16 next year and if not then by 2022 to welcome the new era of Dusit Thani Bangkok. Warm Regards Ben Perera Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

One day in Transit

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Staffs and Location
Cons: No
Location: Major shopping Malls, MRT station and Park nearby, In-house entertainment.
Very impress with the hotel staffs, highly courteous and accommodating to the guests need, magnificent view of Bangkok skyline, next to Lumpini Park, near MRT station and Airport Rail Link, Live entertainment at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel. Close to all amneties.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Staff very helpful and kind. Food delicious but a bit pricey. Overall very good experience. The hotel offered a free cake delivered to my room on my daughter's birthday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Sukanya Janchoo, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind rating and feedback. We are happy that you had a pleasant experience staying with us and wish to welcome you back again in the near future. With warmest regards, Sukanya Janchoo General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hkg

Good bed , great location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Good bed , great location , good dinning place . Pool . Friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Sukanya Janchoo, Hotel Management
Dear Marcos, Thank you for your kind rating and comments. We are pleased to see that you had a good experience staying with us. Wish to welcome you back again in the near future. With warmest regards, Sukanya Janchoo - General Manager