Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Twin Cities

North Shore Vacation

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Quiet rooms. Kids loved the pool. Good free breakfast. Nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Mn North Shore Perk

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Looked clean, smelled clean and was very nice and clean. Staff - all of them were super friendly and ready to assist.
Cons: The WiFi no longer needs a password - make it a well known perk. Not all of us remember to ask when we are at the front desk.
Location: North Shore of Lake Superior Mn Many !!! State parks, all have lots of activities for all ages, many have hiking, biking, access to beaches, camping,
I picked this hotel since it was close to the activities my family wanted to participate in, and my experience with other AmericInns have been very satisfying . I was not disappointed: staff was great! Friendly and well informed - ready to assist. Room was clean, hotel was clean, pool area was clean and well maintained. Would recommend not only this AmericInn - but so far - all AmericInns. 5 + ☃
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice hotel with dumb water slide rules

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Nothing wrong with this hotel at all -- good value, nice hot breakfast, friendly staff -- except it's water slide rules. It's only open until 10am on weekdays and then closed again until 5pm. Despite there being nothing fancy or dangerous about it at all, they keep a full time attendant at the bottom of the stairs who insists that not only can only one kid be on the slide at a time...but on the stairwell as well!! As you can imagine this is a huge waste of time when several kids are waiting for rides.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible reservation.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I reserved a hotel room through Expedia that "sleeps up to 6". When we arrived we were given a room that "sleeps up to 4" instead. Upon my request to give me the room I actually reseved online, I was told that "Expedia unortunately, does not tell us which room you reseved online". This is just ridiculous. I would never go with Expedia ever again. Since they "do not tell" the hole which room the guest reserved. This is just absurd. The room smelled terrible, like an old rotten egg. The bathroom had hair all over it dried to the bottom of the bath tub. This was just terrible. We had to pay for the rollaway bed extra charge. This was just a NIGHTMARE. I am so glad it was just one night. I would never use your services again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Nice clean rooms. Friendly staff who are helpful. Great breakfast and rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Need new beds

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Both my husband and I had a tough time sleeping on the beds! They were not comfortable at all...
5 out of 5
by Patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Would stay again!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: View from our window and pool.
Cons: The sauna/steam room was out of order
Location: Split Rock light house/beautiful North Shore.
We stayed here one night on kid's MEA break. They are 6 and 8, they loved the pool. Good temp, fun waterslide, and a hot hot tub for me! Room was nice. Breakfast in the morning was a great bonus :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sterling Heights, MI

Good location to explore the North Shore

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Orbitz
This was a nice hotel with a great location. I only had one complaint - room cleaning service was not as expected. I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights and during that time they did not change the sheets. Perhaps I am being overly fussy, particularly since I don't change my sheets at home on a daily basis. However, my expectations for a hotel are clean linens. The room service sign said it would be changed every other day - it wasn't. Bathroom cleanliness is also my hot button. It wasn't bad, but again, short of bringing in new towels, the bathroom was never cleaned while I was there. So if you stay for a day or two, I would recommend this hotel - if you plan for longer, consider your expectations for room cleaning before booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicest place to stay in Silver Bay

Posted Sep 29, 2016
There is not a lot to choose from when staying in Silver Bay. We didn't use the pool/ hot tub area. The shower nozzle was wimpy. We should have turned on the blower in room to drown out hallway noise and other room noise.