Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, VA

Family visit

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Only limitations of this hotel is the access. Our GPS took us the scenic route and it took a little maneuvering to get through the surrounding streets to get to the hotel and the garage adjacent to it. Glad to access to the hotel from the garage. Staff was very accommodating, very friendly!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business, family and fun

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Fifth stay and once again these fine folks continue to exceed my customer service expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Room smelled like tobacco despite being a non-smoking hotel Hot water was intermittent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carrickfergus

Business stay

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Very good. Hotel clean and tidy and efficient staff. A memorable stay
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
I come to this hotel every year at the same time to attend an event at the AFI Theater. Excellent hotel all the way around in a perfect location for me.
5 out of 5
by Stanley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

they didn't clean the room

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: the location is great.
Cons: it needs to be redone, and the staff needs to retrained.
Not only did they not clean the room, but they also would not give my husband a key without calling me, and our infant daughter needed to go to bed. The hotel was not clean, and not comfortable. Not a Marriott if you ask me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hot water for the sink didn't seem to work. I let it run for a while and it never got hot. The A/C unit is very noisy. The bathtub had mold on the caulk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Great lobby, associated amenities.
Cons: Speed up the shuttle elevator between the street entrance and the lobby.
Pleasant 3 night stay, great central location in Silver Spring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Not too bad at all

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: self park - very easy in and out. Great coffee and food bar on lobby level.
Cons: Rooms could be a little updated, beds a little softer, and more linens (blankets, etc) already in room.
Location: Whole Foods and CVS right across the street and restaurants and shopping within walking distance!
We stayed here with a family of 4 (2 adults and a 5 & 7 year old). This is not a super fancy hotel but certainly perfect if you need to be in town for something. The room was a little dated and would probably be too small for a family with older kids. Also the bed was pretty hard and we had to ask for an extra blanket. The a/c worked GREAT though! The bathroom was nice with good water pressure in the sink and shower and the water heated up well (I only add that because I've had some terrible water temp issues before). It's a great location with a Whole Foods (which has FANTASTIC hot food and salad bar selections) literally right out the door of the hotel. It is also about a block or so from a downtown street area with shopping and restaurants and it was nice to be able to walk to dinner. One complaint I do have is that the entrance of the hotel is VERY confusing. You are actually supposed to self park in the parking garage which is around the corner from the hotel. Once we figured that out though we loved doing self park. The 5th floor of the parking garage is connected to the lobby floor of the hotel and it was VERY easy in and out. Another plus is that the parking garage is free on weekends!! I wouldn't recommend Silver Spring as a destination or a place to stay if you are visiting DC for touristy stuff, but we would definitely stay again at this hotel if we have another reason to be in the immediate area.