Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Room smelled like tobacco despite being a non-smoking hotel Hot water was intermittent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carrickfergus

Business stay

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Very good. Hotel clean and tidy and efficient staff. A memorable stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

they didn't clean the room

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: the location is great.
Cons: it needs to be redone, and the staff needs to retrained.
Not only did they not clean the room, but they also would not give my husband a key without calling me, and our infant daughter needed to go to bed. The hotel was not clean, and not comfortable. Not a Marriott if you ask me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Great lobby, associated amenities.
Cons: Speed up the shuttle elevator between the street entrance and the lobby.
Pleasant 3 night stay, great central location in Silver Spring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Not too bad at all

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: self park - very easy in and out. Great coffee and food bar on lobby level.
Cons: Rooms could be a little updated, beds a little softer, and more linens (blankets, etc) already in room.
Location: Whole Foods and CVS right across the street and restaurants and shopping within walking distance!
We stayed here with a family of 4 (2 adults and a 5 & 7 year old). This is not a super fancy hotel but certainly perfect if you need to be in town for something. The room was a little dated and would probably be too small for a family with older kids. Also the bed was pretty hard and we had to ask for an extra blanket. The a/c worked GREAT though! The bathroom was nice with good water pressure in the sink and shower and the water heated up well (I only add that because I've had some terrible water temp issues before). It's a great location with a Whole Foods (which has FANTASTIC hot food and salad bar selections) literally right out the door of the hotel. It is also about a block or so from a downtown street area with shopping and restaurants and it was nice to be able to walk to dinner. One complaint I do have is that the entrance of the hotel is VERY confusing. You are actually supposed to self park in the parking garage which is around the corner from the hotel. Once we figured that out though we loved doing self park. The 5th floor of the parking garage is connected to the lobby floor of the hotel and it was VERY easy in and out. Another plus is that the parking garage is free on weekends!! I wouldn't recommend Silver Spring as a destination or a place to stay if you are visiting DC for touristy stuff, but we would definitely stay again at this hotel if we have another reason to be in the immediate area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large-sized room!

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: The size of the room and the ease of getting to your car via a walkway. Parking at the weekend is free.
Cons: Put a note on the bed to hang the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door if you don't want to be woken up early by Housekeeping. Need a shower cap.
Location: Very lively area of town with lots to do and see.
Initially my GPS took me to the rear of the property which was very confusing since there was nowhere to park and the Reception desk was on the third floor. The best way to check in with a car is to drive to the 5th floor of the Wayne St. Car Park and go into the hotel via the walkway. Wish I'd known that in advance. The room was wonderful and spacious. Housekeeping started banging at my door pretty early and gave me no time to answer before the second lot of knocking started again. No apology for waking me up so my advice is to hang the "Do not Disturb" sign on the door if you don't want to be woken up by that.
4 out of 5
by Harvey

Marriott stay at 2017 Jazz Fest Silver Spring

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Room was ready upon arrival. Friendly, helpful staff. Front desk attendant very helpful in assisting me to enroll in the Marriotts Rewards Program. My 2nd stay at this hotel. Will definitely plan to come again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Great location for what I needed to accomplish. Plenty of eateries nearby as well. Hotel is not in the greatest shape my bathroom and air conditioner we're severely outdated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greensburg pa.

Clean hotel close to metro station.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Great hotel. Very helpful staff. Got a shuttle to the metro stop. Location to shopping and restraunts is great. Directly across from Whole Foods which serves a hot food buffet all day. Will use this hotel each time we visit our daughter who is a student at Catholic university of America. Only 3 metro stops away.
5 out of 5
by Janine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels