Ratings based on 1,108 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Needs some upgrades

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The staff was great, but the facilities could use some upgrades. The carpet needs cleaning in the rooms. The furniture in our suite was stained and broken down. The second elevator car was out the entire 4 days we were there. That was a huge inconvenience! The price and location to local landmarks was a plus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Medical family emergency

Posted Aug 11, 2017
There were no reading lamps near the bedT. It took two days to get one in the room. The bed frame stuck out so far that I cut my leg on it The lobby was old and dirty. I would not recommend this facility to anyone .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati Ohiio

No5 great, not bad.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Not a bad place. Good staff, friendly, and quiet. Room waa clean and housekeeping was prompt. Place was run down though. Like few and hard to access electric outlets, no fridge or microwave and the breakfast buffet was overpriced for what you got.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simply put - Do not stay here.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The bar tender was nice, but the drinks were inflated 300%.
Cons: The rooms should be bigger and less run down. The entire hotel needs to be renovated as it looks like something out of 'The Shining'.
Location: Don't bother doing anything near by. You will likely just get robbed.
This hotel seems elegant on their website, but in reality is far from it. The hotel itself is run down, dirty and out dated. The staff members were absent minded and rude. The rooms themselves do not look like 3-star hotel quality. They are small/cramped and everything in the room is worn and outdated. To top it all off, a 2-minute walk outside of the hotel yielded watching one person get arrested for attempted robbery and seeing another person blatantly steal from an unattended purse. So add a high crime rate to the list as well. Overall, I could have spent less money to stay in a motel and it would have been better. I have stayed at other Doubletree hotels in the past, and I cannot believe their organization continues to allow the one in Silver Spring to operate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Horrible!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location only
Cons: Air conditioning, cleanliness, noise control
It was so bad I checked out as soon as I checked in and saw my room. It was a hot summer night and they have horrible cooling in this hotel. Not the mention the reception area had none. The attendants behind the counter had a fan blowing because it was so hot. The room hair this huge vent for air but it wasn't cold enough and it all smelled like mold. Never again, I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The only thing I disliked about the room was that the pillows were too soft.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Hotel was what I needed for my brief stay.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Hotel was in my opinion 3 out of 5. No issues with staff, in the pool area needed more lighting, bathroom was not to clean, no continental breakfast offered, except for the 16.00 breafast at the restaurant. It was in walking distance to alot of stores, only paid 6.00 for parking,(overnight) in the parking lot behind the hotel however lot is free on weekends. Hotel parking was 20.00
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Nice hotel close to the Metro

Posted Jun 6, 2017
I chose this hotel because it was close to the metro line to get to downtown dc. It is about a 20-30 minute commute into town. The stay was nice. Breakfast buffet was good with lots of options. No complaints about service. Overall a good value compared to some of the places closer in to DC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, pleasant staff

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The hotel is nice and clean. The breakfast was awesome and the breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms need an upgrade but overall this is a nice hotel. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Very nice but why no complimentary breakfast? The room was nice but the beds were small.