Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

delightful, romantic getaway

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: It is relatively secluded with a beautiful garden. Nearby town has excellent murals and a state park nearby with beautiful waterfalls. . for romance
Cons: Not much. They just need to continue what they are doing
Overall our experience was first rate. The only problems encountered were the lack of communication among staff regarding special surprises I had arranged for my travel partner on her birthday.Room was very well appointed, garden very nice, restaurant -good food- live music in bar every night (a very rare thing at any property). We happen to be dancers, so this was special. staff was very friendly, We have been there three times and would go back. i called three time to confirm the surprises mentioned above, but for some reason they were not prepared.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Elizabeth , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your visit and your review. I apologize for any miscommunication that happened among our staff. We do work very hard to try and get all special requests handled correctly. Outside of the miscommunication, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning. We will conturine to improve on our communication to hopefully full fill any future special requests you might have.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

It worked...okay...

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: It was a tester and worked fine....
Cons: We honestly had high hopes of this at least being like a McMenamin's hotel. Very old but not in a shabby chic way.
Location: Location was easy to get to for our Salem family
Tried out Thanksgiving brunch because we were all tired of the hassle. It worked fine. They had a new manager that didn't quite connect with staff (who were sweet and great). They ran out of turkey...BIG NO NO on Thanksgiving. Staff seemed disappointed by what they could offer. Hotel is run down and I thought it might have been an Assisted Living facility at one time. We thought we had a private room to ourselves and were led to believe so....but were shocked when we had another family walk in. Men's urinals...uh...are smack dab open to the public when the door opens....just an fyi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by -Elizabeth , Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear things were not what you expected or up to standards. We tried very hard to make things great for everyone. However that was not the case, again I am sorry for your experience not being what you wanted. I do hope you give us another try on a regular night to see how we function on a normal basis. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very enjoyable place to walk about

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: clean, freindly alot to see and enjoy
Cons: nothing
Location: farms to look and enjoy within the country side. I bought fruit trees to bring home to plant
a beautiful place to stay in the winter or summer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by -Elizabeth , Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and your review. Our guests are very important to us. I am so glad to see you enjoyed your stay and got to a piece of our little area home with you to enjoy. we hope to see you in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gresham

Garden Dream

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Resort rooms are beautiful and spacious and comfortable. The garden itself is diverse with a wonderful conifer area that is growing. Go at Christmas if you can. Fun outdoor lights!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Elizabeth , Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and review. The lights are so much hard work on our staff, I am glad you were able to enjoy them. Hopefully you can make it back to enjoy the ice skating and the snow-less tubing we have added this year. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minden, USA

wow a beautiful place to visit summer or winter

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The massive gardens, the fireplace in the room and how quiet the room was.
Cons: nothing It was very pleasant to stay there.
Location: The gardens are massive , I went on several walks and saw so many variety of plants and trees that were unknown to me. A great place to relax.
Beautiful gardens to walk through. Wonderful pleasant staff. A very nice spa to enjoy as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Elizabeth , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for your glowing review. It really makes our team feel good knowing that we are doing such a great job. We do so much to make sure everyone has an experience like yours. I hope you visit again during our Christmas in the Garden. It is going to be amazing. Thank you again for your stay and your review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gresham, United States of America

Beautiful Garden Resort!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
I have been coming here since the opening. It is charming and quiet and close to where I live. I enjoy the hot tub year round outside. The music in the bar was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Elizabeth , Hotel Management
Hello, I am so glad to hear you had such a good time visiting us. We welcome you back soon to enjoy our Christmas In The Garden event. It is going to be wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Excellent stay

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: The garden, downtown Silverton, Mt. Angel and Silver Creek Falls park art all close by.
I'm going To preface this with we stayed here in November so I don't know how the summer months will be. That being said, the rooms were quiet and peaceful. The added perk was free entrance into the garden. And bring off season, it was nice to walk around and be almost the only ones there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Elizabeth , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for your review. Yes in the summer it can be a very different but just as lovely experience. W have things to do all year here at the resort. we welcome you to come see us in the summer months when we have the tram running and the sun is up much longer. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you stay with us again soon. our Christmas in the Garden starts in 10 days and will be spectacular.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great place for viewing the great outdoors

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The proximity to the Oregon Gardens with well appointed rooms and the most accomadating staff I have ever encountered
Cons: There were no comfortable chairs in the room. But I didn't spend much time there anyway
Location: The Gardens are amazing for all ages. However, the trolley was not running and that limited what my handicapped wife could enjoy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Elizabeth , Hotel Management
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. For all your future stays, the tram runs in the Spring, Summer and the Fall. The last day of the tram running was October 31st It will start back up again on May 1st. Hopefully you can visit us these times so your wife can fully enjoy the Garden.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful!

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: Great location, easily accessed, yet setting is like another world far away from daily pressures.
Comfortable, relaxing, welcoming in a beautiful setting. Great bed & terrific shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Elizabeth , Hotel Management
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you for the great review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland Metro Area

Avoid AM staff

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Beautiful location right next to the gardens
I like to register and get paperwork out of the way first thing. I don't want to go to the room. I do this all the time at other venues. AM staff person at desk was very curt about not being able to do this. Why? No one was even in the check in area, she had her computer up and running. PM Desk check-in person was quite pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Elizabeth , Hotel Management
We apologize for your experience. When it comes to check in we do it all at one time. This could have been explained to you in a better manner. Please give us another shot and visit us again in the future.