Ratings based on 1,662 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Attractive older hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The recent room update was very good, but a housekeeper should go check appearance details like grouting around tiles and tub, etc. Pillows were like rocks. Otherwise a nice place to stay. On site Irish pub had excellent dinner, good breakfast. The pool area is attractive and there were lots of families enjoying it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Staff is outstanding!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Renovated, great staff, clean rooms
Cons: just finish the renovations and I'm good! But renovations weren't disruptive at all
Location: There is a grocery store and plenty of restaurants nearby, including a big mall.
I stay at this hotel often when I have client work nearby. It is a refreshingly hidden gem among all the regular hotels. It has a feeling of being away at a resort: the pool is amazing and the grounds are a lush tropical forest. The staff is always so welcoming and incredible. As a business traveler I really appreciate that. Hotel is almost done with a huge renovation that is just beautiful. I watched the hotel manager walk around the hotel several times, picking up trash, straightening chairs and greeting guests. I love that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Enjoyed the pool and great location...good food

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Visiting our son. loved the nightlife.clean comfortable rooms. Bed could have been larger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from mission viejo,ca

Loved this hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: All of the above mentioned.
Location: Very good location. Close to Reagan Library and Malibu.
Very nice hotel. Spent the night with our grandchildren so we could be close to the Reagan Library. They loved the pool and the giant chess set. Staff was very nice. We had dinner at The Irish Pub and the food was very good. Kids loved the breakfast buffet, especially making their own waffles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Staff was really nice. Rooms were clean and breakfast was on par as well. The Irish restaurant where the breakfast is served has great dinner. Definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could be updated and kept cleaner.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Excellent front staff person! Haven't experience such an accommodating front desk clerk in a very long time. Rooms need to be upgraded. Housekeeping could be better. Would stay again if in area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Great Staff Treated You Right

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Clean room, complimentary breakfast and drink. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Second Waffle maker at Breakfast
Location: It was just a stop over on a road trip so did not do anything near by. I guess the Ronald Reagan museum is real close.
For once a hotel where the front desk treat you great. It was also nice to get a complimentary drink at the Brendan's Irish Pub, bartender was a trip and a pleasure to talk to. Complimentary breakfast was really good to, but they should invest in a second waffle maker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Close to shopping

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Had a pleasant stay , free breakfast, bathroom was not too clean esp the toilet. Although would recommend since its price was affordable , nice with free wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. We received an amazing welcome to this newly renovated hotel. The room was lovely, nicely decorated, nice linens, and had all amenities such as cable, free wifi, microwave, bar fridge, safe, iron & ironing board and a good hairdryer. The kids loved the nice sized pool while I enjoyed the hot tub. The free breakfast was the best out of all the hotels we stayed at while visiting Southern CA. The Irish Pub was great and economical, not to mention the friendly staff. Thank you to the staff and leadership at The Palm Garden for making our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Your customer service was impeccable. I would certainly stay again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Thought everything was ok until...

Posted Apr 6, 2017
I got to the room! It smelled horrible. Was old, didn't even want to sleep there. Cold but the heater smelt when you turned it on. Then the second day, cops were there. I don't know if something went down there or what. Cool that they have an Irish pub if you want to eat or whatever. Free breakfast but I didn't try. I ended up leaving the second night before I went to sleep cause the room was so gross. The outside is cute but wait till you see the inside. Don't think I'd return.