Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Convenient

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: I was not a whole heck of a lot to do in Simi Valley but very nearby is in the mall see me Towncenter is the movie theater left the restaurant but not
I requested a double queen smoking room and upon check-in was notified that it was no double queen smoking room available I've been asked for a non-smoking double queen as it was for my two children and myself it was unavailable down my daughter ended up sitting on the floor in the room on my son and I share the bed. The second night I requested a rollaway bed as the first night there wasn't one available and I did receive the wrong way bad but it was charging additional $10 fee I was not happy about that. But all in all every stay at extended day has been a pleasurable today and I would go back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. First, please accept my apologies that you didn't receive the room accommodations you requested. We will work on doing a better job of honoring reservations and making sure to assist guests properly when changes occurred. Overall, I am glad you had a pleasant, convenient experience and would stay at our hotel again. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent experience

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Mexican restaurant in Chatsworth "Los Toros" is the best
The only negative is the breakfast is only packaged muffins and granola bars
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to see you had an excellent stay at our hotel and that your convenient location was beneficial. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

The manager Chris is awesome you get good service

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: I love that you can cook in your room
Cons: Some of the staff don't care
Location: Simi Valley. Not a ton. Mall, movie, Regan Library
Great if you get a good price. It's really convenient to be able to cook your own meals. Good location friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so pleased to hear you liked our kitchen facilities in the room and that you received excellent customer service from one of our managers. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent quality, low price

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: I stay here pretty frequently and am always very happy with the experience. Very good cost to quality ratio, super affordable and very nice.
Cons: Everything was good! Nothing to post. Good beds, pool, not to bad of a drive anywhere
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto. Can

No professionalism.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
I reached the hotel for check in but they surprised me by saying they cannot give me a room because they had an emergency. After a lot of argument they gave me a a room in another branch approx 17 miles away. It took me another 40 Mins to reach there and I had been up since 5.00am. It was already 10.30pm. When u reached the other hotel, I had a bigger surprise for me. The hotel Libby was stinking, the elevators were terrible and stinking more and the corridors were a horror. It is the worst hotel I have ever seen. The place also had a security guard to walk the all the corridors on each floors. The worst experience. They do not honour your pre paid reservation and have no courtesy or professionalism.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. The situation you described is truly regrettable. Please accept our apology. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you are in town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Several other rooms near mine were occupied by people partying all night and hotel staff did nothing about it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, CA

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: It was conveniently situated for my needs.
Cons: bringing up to date and having clean carpets, and some conveniences for elderly customers might help.
Location: I was visiting friends. I did notice a few restaurants nearby.
Staft was ok. The carpets in the hallways smell of dog urine and are badly stained also in the room, not so stinky but with dirty spots. Bed was not too bad, pillows are old and lumpy. Also if I wanted clean towels every day I had to bring dirty towels downstairs and ask for new ones. I was informed there is no housekeeping for the rooms. the so called continental breakfast was very disappointing, coffee was terrible. My last day I was locked out the room at 9:00 am. I had to go back downstairs to get someone to let me in. I am an elderly person and have difficult time walking, this was rather inconvenient for me, also, there are no bars or anything in the bathrooms to facilitate using the showers. Having a hotel that is pet friendly is a good idea, but not having the adequate facilities is not.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The only reason I am giving a low score on the overall condition is because in the middle of my shower in the morning the hotel lost water. I was unable to rinse off my body and left for my appointment with dried soap all over me. It made for an uncomfortable day. Otherwise the price was great and the room was decent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry our water was cut due to maintenance at the most inopportune time for you. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with fridge

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The room was very nice and clean but the pillows were to hard for me! Extending my stay one night was a lot of drama not the clerks fault but corporate should make it easier to get a discount!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Please know we are sincerely sorry that extending your stay was such an unnecessary hassle. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A few days before moving on.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Not a bad hotel but as other reviews hav said, it does smell of smoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our staff is consistently working on eliminating smoke odors so thank you for your patience. I'm glad you were able to have a good stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.