Ratings based on 1,679 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel, improvements underway at the moment

Posted May 22, 2017
Rooms were nice, clean and beds comfortable, the pool and spa facility was good and appreciated. Cooked breakfast was decent, close to shops and convenient. Hotel was quiet and restful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

overnight on way up north

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: On site restaurant, and close to some shops/stores/eateries.
Check-in easy.Friendly staff. Restaurant on site with an 'Irish' theme. Buffet breakfast adequate. Request room with pool/garden view. If room faces 101 noise of traffic can be heard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and pleasant

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: The connecting restaurant provides a complimentary breakfast that has a lot of variety and is very delicious.
Location: There is a Starbucks and other shopping options right across the street. Lots of beautiful hiking trails nearby. The beach is less than an hour away.
Stayed here for two nights and was very happy with our stay. The hotel has a beautiful inner courtyard and pool. The rooms are not recently updated, but still clean and nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Hotel staff was a bit reluctant to provide room of preference. Staff was great to talk to on face but clearly ignored my request to put me on the second floor. I would have liked that as that would be quitter. I had mentioned that twice but when I came back to check-in I was assigned 1st floor. Rooms that were empty had one of the window blinds open, and so I could tell there were plenty rooms on the second floor. Since I had done this back and forth with them once I didn't care this time. Thought I get a chance later during when I post the review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Need to have vending machine stocked. Out of a lot of drinks. Food vending would be nicer too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Apr 29, 2017
On a business trip. Room and grounds were much nicer than expected. Irish pub was fun and good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Attractive older hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The recent room update was very good, but a housekeeper should go check appearance details like grouting around tiles and tub, etc. Pillows were like rocks. Otherwise a nice place to stay. On site Irish pub had excellent dinner, good breakfast. The pool area is attractive and there were lots of families enjoying it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Staff is outstanding!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Renovated, great staff, clean rooms
Cons: just finish the renovations and I'm good! But renovations weren't disruptive at all
Location: There is a grocery store and plenty of restaurants nearby, including a big mall.
I stay at this hotel often when I have client work nearby. It is a refreshingly hidden gem among all the regular hotels. It has a feeling of being away at a resort: the pool is amazing and the grounds are a lush tropical forest. The staff is always so welcoming and incredible. As a business traveler I really appreciate that. Hotel is almost done with a huge renovation that is just beautiful. I watched the hotel manager walk around the hotel several times, picking up trash, straightening chairs and greeting guests. I love that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Enjoyed the pool and great location...good food

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Visiting our son. loved the nightlife.clean comfortable rooms. Bed could have been larger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from mission viejo,ca

Loved this hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: All of the above mentioned.
Location: Very good location. Close to Reagan Library and Malibu.
Very nice hotel. Spent the night with our grandchildren so we could be close to the Reagan Library. They loved the pool and the giant chess set. Staff was very nice. We had dinner at The Irish Pub and the food was very good. Kids loved the breakfast buffet, especially making their own waffles.