Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Denis

Honeymoon

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful beach, warm and friendly staff. Food was fantastic. Good range of facilities.
5 out of 5
by J H

Restorative

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Restorative...exactly what I needed to unplug from a hectic life for a respite. Excellent service, attentive but not intrusive. Quality but not pretentious or trendy, full of charm and class
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Disappointment and Displeasure

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Rehabilitating the food, policies and facility
Location: Location was fine...even Management could not mess that up, although if they would if they could.
La Samana is an old and tired facility with its Glory Days well behind it,somewhere in the '70's or '80's I had a problem with their facility, their food and their financial policies. Rooms were dated, nothing out of the ordinary. Food was pedestrian. Room costs are considerable,but you know that already.I get that. However, facility is a tired vestige Gratefully a higher power created the beaches.Other than that...not much. Food was stunningly boring...buffet breakfast ,,ordinary...dinner, disappointing. With so many choices of places to eat on St Martin. eating here should be your last choice.. Stunning how ordinary and commonplace this food and place was. My other issue with La Samana was my inability to secure a refund for a 5 day stay that turned into a 4 day stay. I had a reservation made by Expedia that was pre paid. It was a 5 night reservation. I fell ill, and had to depart 1 night earlier. La Samana refused to refund the 1 night I did not stay, despite Expedia's best efforts to secure such. They refused to refund the 1 night and refused to even answer a letter I wrote. Truly stunning. These rooms,as you can see can run thousands of dollars a night and to refuse a refund or even a response is...well frankly, worth writing a review to hopefully influence and convince at least one,,,just one traveler not to venture to this ill-responsible, over priced, out dated money grabbling institution. STAY AWAY.
5 out of 5
by Lorraine

Amazing room on beach

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful, relaxing, beachfront room with comfortable king bed. We spent all our time on the beach, but the two pools looked lovely. Well maintained, quiet surroundings with no loud kids or people at all. Front desk staff was excellent. We had snacks but not dinner and it was okay. My one complaint is the food and drink were crazy overpriced. I realize it's vacation, but $18 for a cocktail is gouging. There is a market down the road so you can buy your own for the room instead. Other than that, we plan on coming back. Great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Feb 19, 2017
A lot of things I recently read were simply not true. TVs worked, biting bugs at a minimum ( a few mosquitoes), room condition excellent. We had a wonderful stay . The employees were fantastic and absolutely outstanding . My one criticism is that the food on site is quite expensive, there is one really nice restaurant and one nice but expensive wine cellar restaurant. Overall I highly recommend this hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania, USA

Absolute First Class Resort

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Just about everything!
Location: Amazing dining nearby!
This was our first visit to the Belmond La Samanna resort and we have to say we could not be more impressed. We stayed in a suite overlooking the ocean and with a private plunge pool, covered rooftop gazebo and amazing views… it was truly an amazing experience. Lounging on the rooftop with a fine bottle of wine, a cheese assortment and the one I love made this one of our best visits to St. Martin. The amenities are second to none and something we always look for in a resort is the fitness facilities. La Samanna has a gym that would make most private clubs jealous and we took advantage of that every day of our stay. We also enjoyed a private dinner on the beach during our stay and the personal service and delicious fare made it an incredible visit that we hope to repeat in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SFO

need to be active to stay in that hotel...steps

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: excellent food, excellent beach
Location: the island is saturated with cars..could not get to where we wanted
excellent food, excellent beach, not for bad KNEES or hips
4 out of 5
by Michael

Very nice not spectacular

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
good stay. Very nice people. Not worth $1500 a night though. For that price you expect spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

You won't ever want to leave the hotel!

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Rooms are not particularly spacious, but beautiful, clean and renovated, with nice beach front terraces. You'll probably be out of your room anyways!
Cons: We could hear a little bit our neighbors (and their TV), which is something that could be improved. We would have also loved that our room was checked
Location: It's a 15 minute drive to any town, so it's very laid back and quiet, with a private feeling and atmosphere. But it's an easy ride to all towns in SXM
Fantastic architecture, right on the beach, and probably the best beach on the island. Rooms are not particularly spacious, but beautiful, clean and renovated, with nice beach front terraces. You'll probably be out of your room anyways! We loved the pools and water sport facilities, with great service. Breakfast buffet was reasonable, but a bit pricey for its quality. We could hear a little bit our neighbors (and their TV), which is something that could be improved. We would have also loved that our room was checked and made up more frequently. Overall, we liked our stay very much and would love to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016
The hotel is beautiful. We were upgraded to a suite that was gorgeous with a view out of a postcard. The rooms need a. It of updating. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'm looking forward to going back