Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Bugs and Bad Attitudes

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Unit had cockroaches. traps everywhere in out of plain site locations but was lying on the bed and had one crawl across my chest. You could call their level of cleanliness "Island clean" but not what ordinary tourists expect. Left after 4 days and still trying to get my money back for the balance of dates reserved. Office people were brief and rude when asked a question. Would not recommend staying here Usually do not fill out reviews but had to for this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Clean, comfortable and convenient

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Good locations for my needs, reasonable rates.
Cons: Needs beverage and snack purchase options.
Location: Highly recommend Jules French Bakery steps from the hotel. 1/2 mile to Cupecoy Beach. 1 mile to Maho shopping/dining. 2 miles to SXM airport.
The Summit Hotel is not a fancy destination resort hotel, like a Westin or similar. It is a clean, comfortable and affordable base to stay at in Sint Maarten that is close to the airport and gives you convenient access to Cupecoy and Maho - and reasonable driving distance to Simpson Bay and destinations on French side (St. Martin). The property is made up of a number to two story cabins. Some of the second floor cabins provide a view of SImpson Bay. The property is kind of rustic and may not be suited to those with mobility issues. The sidewalks are uneven in places. The second floor units are only accessible by stairs, and those are quite steep. There really aren't any guest services. You can't buy food, drink, or toiletries. However, the Jordan Village neighborhood is two blocks away and there are many excellent restaurants and a few stores. Other merchants are available in Maho. There is an on-site pool and sundeck, and the hotel staff is very friendly. Internet access was surprisingly good. It should be noted that i stayed in the off-season (US Labor Day weekend) and left 2 days before Hurricane Irma, so the resort started boarding up on my departure date. Communication about this activity was provided to hotel guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

horrible

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
horrible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, stand alone cabin style rooms.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Easy check in. Welcome drink. Deep pool. Good views of water. Room has all amenities, consistent WiFi, AC, sleeps 3 comfortably. Easy parking. Quiet. No complaints. Extended our stay and will be back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Summit. I appreciate it. I'm glad you enjoyed the pool, views, room, parking and more. We look forward to your staying with us again in the future. Best regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bungaloos

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Island stay is different, but this hotel consisted of a cluster of bungaloos, one and two story. There was security, but no snacks, ice machines, etc. The rooms had kitchenettes and cable/internet and nice bathroom. The mattress was the worst part. It was clean. The staff at the office were really nice to us, they called cabs and shuttles for us and made suggestions. It was walking distance to several restaurants, but not the beach. It is not much like the pictures showed. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Bruce J, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review and for the 4 out of 5 stars rating you gave us. I appreciate it very much. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your room but you can be certain we will replace the mattress in your room now that we know it was a problem for you. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff. They work hard to make sure every guest enjoys their stay with us and I am glad you found them to be helpful. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back to the Summit in the future. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

ten day stay

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: the view fully equipped kitchen for self catering facilities nearby
Cons: none
Location: gym restaurant shops in walking distance
fully equipped kitchen with shops and restaurants nearby...and a good gym! clean, nice room and staff were very helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Bruce, Hotel Management
Dear Stewart, Thank you very much for the great review you posted about the Summit on Expedia. I really appreciate it and am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you come back and visit us again. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Albany, New York

Everything you need

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The kitchen came with everything you needed in order to cook meals.
Location: There were a couple nice spots to get food within walking distance, one was fat tonys a smokehouse, and the other was a french bakery right across fro
We enjoyed our stay at the Summit. We got two free drinks tickets to redeem at the bar upon arrival. Our room had everything we needed in it; nice kitchen with all the pots, pans, and silverware. We got fresh towels in the bathroom everyday when our room was cleaned very well. The room even came with free wifi and cable TV. The pool was a short distance from our room, it was small and intimate but nice and had an amazing view of the bay. We weren't in the room much during our stay but we definitely enjoyed our little private shack in paradise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from TN

no thrills

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: throw away old mattresses
this is my third stay in this hotel front desk personnel is professional cleaning staff is mediocre craftsmanship of repairs and construction is low
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Really pleasant older hotel with super nice staff

Posted Dec 3, 2016
I had open expectations. This hotel was very charming, quiet, with a small but nice pool overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. The staff was super nice. This is not a fancy resort/casino/beachfront hotel. It is a charming older hotel with bungalows and with kichenettes. I'll go back for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Pleasant place for one week stay

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: desperately need new mattresses this can be an issue for middle aged or elderly travelers or those with back problems
this is our second time in this hotel overall impression is satisfactory I will probably stay there again once as it is close to the point of our interest.