Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surprise, AZ

Great B & B

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: We went to the Mark Twain house and the Harriet Beecher Stowe house next door and had a great tour of both author's houses.
Everything was perfect. The host welcomed us graciously. He sent us to a great tavern for dinner. And after a good night's sleep, we were presented with a marvelous breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Amazing B&B!!

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Jim and Cathy made the stay a memorable one. The serice and food were excellent. They make you feel at home!!! I would definitely stay here again!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect relaxing getaway for two

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
This was our second stay at Green Acres. We came back specifically because on our first trip we only had 1 night there and it wasn't enough! Jim and Cathy are so wonderful and welcoming. Their breakfast creations are top-notch. They aim to please every guest and they always deliver. The giant yard, pool, chickens, hammock, everything adds to the home that is already busting with charm. We'll be back!
5 out of 5
by Peter from Gilford

Got away for a day and went to a concert

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
First time in area; awesome stay; innkeepers are the best and take care of EVERY detail. Asked for breakfast in room at 9:30. At PRECISELY 9:30, my breakfast was served...with a smile. Not all B&Bs feature televisions in rooms or superior Internet service...or a pool for that matter with a rooster crowing in the background. As advertised! Right on the main highway, although rooms do manage to muffle the road sound quite a bit. Say hello to the three little pooches who will warmly greet you as you arrive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely colonial house B and B

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The welcome and comfort provided
Cons: Nothing
Location: We visited the Mark Twain house in Hartford - really interesting to Brits who are not overly familiar with this author.
The hosts at this lovely B and B could not have been more welcoming. The room itself was delightful, with every comfort provided including a decanter of sherry! which certainly helped my work along. The only negative thing to say is that the road noise was quite loud but the actual room itself was perfect. The pool was welcome on a hot day after travelling and the breakfast made to order eaten on the shady patio the following morning delicious. My request for a different option to the menu was no problem. The grounds of the house are lovely with seats and a hammock for relaxing. We really wished we had booked 2 nights and made the most of this lovely place The restaurant recommended a few minutes down the road was also excellent
5 out of 5
by Lori from Portland

Wonderful stay with gracious hosts

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at Green Acres while visiting our daughter. Jim and Cathy were gracious hosts. The rooms were beautifully decorated with New England antiques. The bedding and towels were of the highest quality. Each room had a mini refrigerator and real cream for coffee with a Keurig coffee maker, cookies and chocolate. We had a wonderful stay and I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Taylor from London, UK

Had a great stay!

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Truly a wonderful setting to stay in! The house and yard are very conducive to a relaxing time and the hosts are extremely accommodating. The breakfast was also phenomenal! Would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by Suzanne from Ardmore, PA

Green Acres B&B

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
I didn't want a chain hotel. This was a charming stopover place. The owners were really warm and hospitable. the room was absolute lovely. No detail overlooked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Nice B&B

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Everything was fantastic however it is located near the road so you can hear the traffic. It did somewhat slow down at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

A unique experience, surpassed all my expectations

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: The charm of the details, and comfort, the delicious breakfast. Cathy and Jim are the perfect host and hostess.
Cons: I cannot think of a thing.
Location: As mentioned previously a hike in the state park nearby is a lovely thing to do, especially with the leaves starting to change.
A gem located in Simsbury CT. So glad we choose to stay with Cathy and Jim at their lovely Green Acres B & B. No detail is overlooked. Our room was the Trade Room, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The next morning we were treated to an amazing breakfast, all I can say is wow!!!! Would love to come back again for another stay, the surrounding area is beautiful. We took at hike the next day in Talcott State Park, very close by. To sum it all up a 5 stars all around. Treat yourself.