Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely colonial house B and B

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The welcome and comfort provided
Cons: Nothing
Location: We visited the Mark Twain house in Hartford - really interesting to Brits who are not overly familiar with this author.
The hosts at this lovely B and B could not have been more welcoming. The room itself was delightful, with every comfort provided including a decanter of sherry! which certainly helped my work along. The only negative thing to say is that the road noise was quite loud but the actual room itself was perfect. The pool was welcome on a hot day after travelling and the breakfast made to order eaten on the shady patio the following morning delicious. My request for a different option to the menu was no problem. The grounds of the house are lovely with seats and a hammock for relaxing. We really wished we had booked 2 nights and made the most of this lovely place The restaurant recommended a few minutes down the road was also excellent
5 out of 5
by Lori from Portland

Wonderful stay with gracious hosts

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at Green Acres while visiting our daughter. Jim and Cathy were gracious hosts. The rooms were beautifully decorated with New England antiques. The bedding and towels were of the highest quality. Each room had a mini refrigerator and real cream for coffee with a Keurig coffee maker, cookies and chocolate. We had a wonderful stay and I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Taylor from London, UK

Had a great stay!

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Truly a wonderful setting to stay in! The house and yard are very conducive to a relaxing time and the hosts are extremely accommodating. The breakfast was also phenomenal! Would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by Suzanne from Ardmore, PA

Green Acres B&B

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
I didn't want a chain hotel. This was a charming stopover place. The owners were really warm and hospitable. the room was absolute lovely. No detail overlooked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Nice B&B

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Everything was fantastic however it is located near the road so you can hear the traffic. It did somewhat slow down at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

A unique experience, surpassed all my expectations

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: The charm of the details, and comfort, the delicious breakfast. Cathy and Jim are the perfect host and hostess.
Cons: I cannot think of a thing.
Location: As mentioned previously a hike in the state park nearby is a lovely thing to do, especially with the leaves starting to change.
A gem located in Simsbury CT. So glad we choose to stay with Cathy and Jim at their lovely Green Acres B & B. No detail is overlooked. Our room was the Trade Room, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The next morning we were treated to an amazing breakfast, all I can say is wow!!!! Would love to come back again for another stay, the surrounding area is beautiful. We took at hike the next day in Talcott State Park, very close by. To sum it all up a 5 stars all around. Treat yourself.
5 out of 5
by Mary from St. Augustine

Green Acres - a perfectly named B & B

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Staying in B & B's is always fun and this is a perfect example of being treated like a treasured friend. I had quiet and privacy in my suite, overlooking the 'Green Acres'. Sweeping lawn that included a wonderful lily pond next to the patio, with the landscaped pool farther away. Chickens yield fresh eggs and dogs greet you. The B & B is a perfect blend of the old and the new. My hosts, Cathy and Jim were full of stories about their previous careers and their current one. Delicious breakfasts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great B&B

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
This is a great B&B. Everything was perfect. No detail was overlooked from red roses in the room, cookies, ice cream by the pool, non-stop coffee and tea in the dining room and one of the best omelets that I have ever had. Great hosts. I will stay here again if I am on my way through.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from Dallas, Tx

Rustic & Charming

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
The owners are very personable and accommodating. They offer many extras such as flowers, chocolates, robes, and slippers. There is also a grill and fully equipped/stocked kitchen off the pool. Breakfast varies each morning and is well prepared and served. The owners have 3 rescued dogs, so it can get a little noisy at times - not to mention the chickens and rooster. Very rustic and charming. You can even take a picture with a pitchfork for those who remember the TV show of the same name.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

Posted May 3, 2015
For the first time I had been to a bed and breakfast, my experience was...EXCELLENT. The room was wonderful- they had the softest beds I've slept on in years. And the breakfast in bed option came through in the clutch. Where else can you get steel-cut apple cinnamon oatmeal? The only possible complaint I had would be the stair case was awfully tight - but you can't really do anything about that in a 300 year old house. All in all, great experience and I will definitely return the next time I come to Simsbury.