Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Beautiful room! Great getaway!! Loved the old carriage doors in our room...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2018 by Julia C., Hotel Management
Thank you for the beautiful review and kind words.So glad that you enjoyed the charm of the Simsbury 1820 House and you had a lovely stay! Hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Beautiful!!

Posted Mar 23, 2018
Absolutely lovely! Clean, beautiful decor, friendly staff and wonderful restaurant. We will definitely return!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Julia C., Hotel Management
Thank you, Gerry, for the lovely comments and the five-star review! We are delighted that we met all your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your return visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Beautiful House

Posted Mar 13, 2018
Pros: Beautiful setting with lovely decor.
Cons: Breakfast could be much better.
My husband and I spent only one night at the Simsbury 1820 House. Our room was lovely but I must say that I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast. While it was better than the average hotel's continental breakfast, I was expecting something much better from a bed and breakfast in a historical house. Perhaps I had unrealistic expectations. The staff was very pleasant, the bed was super comfortable, and the decor was lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2018 by Julia C., Hotel Management
Thank you, Linda, for the lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed the history of The Simsbury 1820 House and the hospitality. I am sorry you were a little disappointed about the breakfast. We are a Country Inn, but because of the aspect of the building, we look like a Bed & Breakfast, so I understand perfectly when guests expect a hot breakfast instead of the extended Continental Breakfast we offer.Our onsite restaurant offers a lovely lunch and dinner but unfortunately, they are not open for breakfast as well.Thank you again for the kind words and look forward to welcoming you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Relaxing weekend

Posted Feb 20, 2018
The hotel was very nice, one one problem was the lady bugs and a few flies. When you walk in it looks beautiful but after a few mins, we had a few bugs in the room. Don't know where they cm from. They were mostly lady bugs and a few flies/one Beatle looking bug. Over all this area is if you just want to relax, not much to do around town, unless you drove to Hartford.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Julia C., Hotel Management
Thank you so much, Hiral, for your review. Please accept my sincere apology for the ladybugs and others that came into your room. The dramatic temperature changes that just occurred, caused the latent bugs to awaken and attempt to come indoors. As soon as we discovered this, we took action. You are a valued guest and I hope that you will visit us again.-Julia C
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Clean, well-run hotel with the friendliness of a bed and breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2018 by Julia C., Hotel Management
Thank you for the lovely review and kind words. We are delighted that we could make your stay a pleasant one. Hope to see you again in the near future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Birthday weekend

Posted Jan 23, 2018 on Hotels
We had dinner at the MetroBiz which was awesome and special for my husband's birthday weekend! The food, service and atmosphere was nice besides being buzy. The Inn itself was welcoming and quiet. The room was spacious, quaint and clean. The bed was super comfortable and cozy. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it got super hot despite trying to turn the heat down before bed. Around 3am we opened the windows which helped. It would have been nice if there was complementary water bottles in the room and the continental breakfast would have been nicer if there were more places to sit and eat besides the couch. It's probably nicer in the summer when you can eat at the outside front patio tables. Overall very nice place to stay. Interesting history to the Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Julia C., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and want all of our guests to be happy and comfortable.We love that you enjoyed your stay and the history of the 1820 House but wish that we could have made it a perfect stay.I will ask the staff to mention that the breakfast is meant to be enjoyed in the restaurant,at the tables.You are very important to us and we learn when guests point out certain things and try to find a solution.Please do not hesitate to call the front desk with any issues.The heating/cooling unit in the room can be set up to give you both hot and cold air and we provide bottled water for guests at the front desk.Thank you again for your kind words and hope to see you again in the near future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Romantic charm

Posted Jan 21, 2018 on Hotels
Not for you if you are looking for slick, spacious modern bathrooms, but the charm, beauty and gracious service made it a wonderful experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Julia C., Hotel Management
Thank you, David, for the great review! We are delighted that you loved your stay and the service provided by the staff.Hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2018 on Hotels
Old, but nice establishment. Friendly staff. Basis self-serve "breakfast".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Julia C., Hotel Management
Thak you for the five stars review! We love that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you took the time to write a review.Hope to see you again on your next trip to Simsbury.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2018 on Hotels
Cons: very dim lighting, very high bed, no table with adequate room or lighting to work Pros: ordered room service and food and service was very good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Julia C., Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback.We listen to each suggestion and try to accommodate each guest based on their needs.Some of our rooms have very large desks that are better suited for business travelers. Please never hesitate to contact the front desk, we are happy to change your room or provide solutions to any issue. I hope you give us another chance to make a better impression.
5 out of 5
by Raymond

Charming B&B. You feel like family here

Posted Dec 23, 2017 on Hotels
The Simsbury 1820 House is an amazing place to stay. So much charm and character. Room was huge (we stayed in the carriage house with 2 king beds). Beds were very comfortable, room and huge batheroon were clean. Front desk staff was very hospitable. I wanted to stay somewhere other than a standard hotel, and this place fit the bill nicely. I will definitely stay here again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017
Thank you,Raymond, for the five star review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.We appreciate that you took the time to write the review,during the busy holiday season.Have a Merry Christmas and hope to see you again soon!-Julia C.