Ratings based on 1,530 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great hotel in a great location!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and efficient staff. Room was large, clean and very comfortable. Ate at the Chinese restaurant on 2nd floor - amazing food and service
Location: Across the street was a huge mall, outdoor food market with 100 stalls, short walk to the ocean with sandy beach, restaurants, playground.
We have stayed in downtown Singapore many times but this time we stayed in the Roxy area and loved the nieghborhood. Great shopping, food markets, restaurants, etc. The Grand Mercure was very nice. We would definitely stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jenny, Thank you for this fantastic review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Klaus Gottschalk General Manager Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to buses

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Communication concerning "middle of the night" international flight arrivals and room reservations.
Location: Easy access to bus routes to most 'touristy' places
Easy access to buses and around the corner from small mall with a good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Klaus Gottschalk General Manager Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Good clean hotel with free transport.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Location: Plenty of various sized malls nearby, eating options within ten minutes walk are unlimited. Beach is ten minute walk away.
Used the free bus to and from airport to hotel. Easy check in. Upgraded room, beware work on new MRT station going on in Marine Parade, noise starts 8.30 am. Good sized clean room with everything you need. Excellent cafe and restaurant in hotel, didn't fry the bar. Used free bus in morning to nearest MRT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for this fantastic review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Klaus Gottschalk General Manager Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala lumpur

Conveniently located on east coast

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Great shopping and food across the street. Free parking below. A 5 min drive to the beach park. Its perfect for us. Staff are efficient and friendly and rooms comfortably sized. Beds were firm and comfortable, great for a good sound sleep. First room we got the only fault was a strong smell of urine in the toilet. But the new room they changed us to actually smelt really fresh. We had no other complaints and had a wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nameno1oneman , Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, here in the historic and vibrant Katong district on Singapore's beautiful East Coast! We hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Klaus Gottschalk General Manager Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Free Shuttle to airport

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Best thing is getting the shuttle free to the airport.
Cons: Service of rooms could be more timely. More than two coffee serves would be nice also.
Location: Not a convenient location unless you want to be close to the airport.
My son had stayed here with on a business trip and recommended it but we found it quite depressing. They didn't service the room till 3.15 on the second day and then only when I had to ask as we needed fresh towells. When the room was "cleaned" there was still a tissue left on the floor and the desk wasn't dusted. There is a bad sewerage smell emanating from the bathroom sink when water is used. Pool was OK and the staff downstairs were helpful and accommodating. Not really convenient to the city and had to use cabs a lot. Buses were the only public transport which we did use to get to Chinatown one day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of our hotel! We hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Klaus Gottschalk General Manager Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Service above and beyond

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Absolutely first class service from all staff members!
Cons: Nothing
Location: We chose this as an ideal location between the airport and the cruise terminal. It was a pleasant surprise to discover a large shopping centre nearby.
I was part of a family of 8 people, which included my 90 years old mother, staying at the Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy prior to embarking on a cruise. I wish to commend all of the staff for their excellent service. When I checked in a day after my other family members, the reception staff member amended my booking to ensure my room was on the same level as the rest of my family. The staff in the Executive Lounge were fantastic. The food service was excellent and the reception staff in the lounge went out of their way to ensure all of our needs were anticipated and catered for (eg checkout, luggage collection, transport and seating arrangements). My room was spacious and very comfortable. I wish to extend my heartfelt thanks to all of the staff for making the start of our much anticipated family holiday so relaxing and enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Genral Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Frank, Thank you for another great review of our hotel! We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Klaus Gottschalk General Manager Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Appreciated complimentary birthday gifts/tokens. Safe. Fast room service. Good look-out to the front of the hotel and water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear TN, Thank you for the fantastic review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your birthday-stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Klaus Gottschalk General Manager Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Change the wooden frame chairs in the room.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and food outlets in walking distance. Good shopping just across the road.
Waited 10 minutes to check in. Day later the hotel management called to apologise for the delay. Also complained about pillows too soft and not supportive. They had immediately supplied two firmer pillows. Thumb up for their staffs. They really care. Room was clean and adequately equipped, however, hope they could change the old and uncomfortable chairs with the ugly wooden frames.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Klaus Gottschalk General Manager Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was great and comfy

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Hotel was great and comfy but construction in front of the hotel was a bit inconvenient and disturbing at times
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Klaus Gottschalk General Manager Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice unobstructed pool view!

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Fast housekeeping service, when we requested for ice and pillows, it arrived within minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Klaus Gottschalk General Manager Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy