Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Siti

Small new rooms with bad soundproofing

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Room was small, however newly renovated about half a year ago. Soundproofing however leaves something much to be desired.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Not a pleasure stay and the hotel is terrible

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Unfriendly Staff We reached SG on late flight, when reached hotel the counter staff is so unfriendly, no greeting and when we process check in she dun even bother with eyes contact with her customer. We so tired at time and lazy to talk much. Dirty bed We though after this we can have a goos rest but When around 4am, we felt something special crawling on our bed. So we call to reception request to change our bedsheet or do something with it, when the staff came to our room after he check our bed and help us to change the room. According to him it have to take long time to clean the bed. Which no choice by 4am we pack our luagges again n move to another room. On Sunday when we want to check out. Is really a shocking for us. In the lobby is full with "couples" waiting for the rooms at the lobby. Now I know why the bed so dirty. won't go back stay with this hotel any more.
5 out of 5
by Dominic Susini from singapore

Very very nice hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Was really impressed by the improvements to this hotel. staff was helpful as always. wish tv volume could be louder
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia, Perth

Close to public transport and food shops

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Clean and newly renovated
Cons: Staff smiling and also welcoming. Wifi not to turn off and not being able to sign back in after 12.15pm the next day
Location: Good location and easy public transport or taxi
Overall of the hotel appearance and cleanliness I give top marks but unfortunately the checking in process is a bit lengthy and also frustrating at times. Not sure as to why there is a need of taking everyone's particular as this is the first time this ever happens. Staff working behind the desk also needs to be a bit more cheerful and not make it like we need them more then they need us. A simple smile and also a simple jesture of saying enjoy your stay would be nice.
3 out of 5
by danielle from Perth, Western Australia

As good as what you pay

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel 81 Gold is a hotel that is located in the red light district of Singapore. The price for the hotel though that you are paying for it was too good to be true for an average hotel. The hotel was not the cleanness with seeds from the previous guest not sweeped away. We ended up cleaning the hotel room ourselves during our stay. Even though we requested for a non- smoking room our first room stunk like cigarettes. Even our second room had the smell but was still better. Upon returning to our hotel after a day out, we are surrounded by dressed up ladies surrounding the hotels and sleasey looking men. Even with these negative points. There are Some positives as well. There are good food all around as well. One of our favourites were Sin Huat Seafood and Rochon Beancurd House. Overall, for the price you pay, you get what you pay for. Only thing is that even though they were at the hotel, I would not suggest to stay at this hotel with children unless you want to explain oto than what the women are doing.
1 out of 5
by KJ from USA

Redlight District - Hotel by the hour

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels
Beware this hotel is located in the middle of the Redlight District! Just outside the front door is a line of h@@kers to choose from. If you want a sketchy neighborhood, like ladies for hire, enjoy illegal penalty by death activity, and excessive crowds then this is your hotel. - If not please stay away - .It was dirty and reminds me of a place you should rent by the hour not a room for travelers, especially not for business professionals. Only positive was neighborhood had cheap street vendors and decent food. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this hotel and neighborhood.
1 out of 5
by oleg valyn from boracay

Horrible place for massage boys and girls

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels
One of the horrible place where I ever stayed before.. Rooms do not correspond to the pictures. Massage boy use the place for xxx
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2011 on Hotels
convenient location near temples and places of interest. clean room, comfortable bed, well laundered crisp bed linnen. very satisfied, good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What You Pay Is What You Get

Posted Oct 24, 2011 on Hotels
Just needed a place to bunk-in for the night. Staff are rather unfriendly and inefficient.