Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: the location is good,close to MRT AND newton food court
Cons: Breakfast disappointing, plus the entrance cloaked in stinking smoke from filthy smokers by the door ,STOP THEM SMOKING WITHIN 20 MTRS OF ENTRANCE.
arrived late evening staff a bit off the ball, ordered connecting rooms over 3 months in advance , but on arrival told NOT available, told only 1 room booked , luckly had a hard copy of my booking and after a bit of encouragement staff member found my booking all ready , seems their system is manual and confusing to their staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrendous service, terrible food, smelly rooms

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: the moment I left
Cons: Need demolishing. Hidden fees, rude staff, the smell!
Location: Location is fine
By far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Rude staff, terrible food, smelly rooms, hidden charges...do not stay here! The food was expensive and inedible!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

intern

Posted May 9, 2017
Staff very unprofessional, when confronted told us why never issue breakfast voucher to guests checked in and her reply : was handled by internship student. When asked for refund, the night manager came out and said it could only handled by Duty manager. But unfortunately they never call or refund to the guest on the next day or upon check out. Lousy management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bed Frame is ok, the room floor is dusty.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The location is just nice, 3 bus stops away from Orchard road. walking distance to MRT.
Cons: The carpet is old and dusty. Shower tub is inside bathtub so it is not too convince for elderly and kids to go in.
I can request for early check in and high level. The location is just nice, 3 bus stops away from Orchard road. walking distance to MRT. The carpet is old and dusty. Shower tub is inside bathtub so it is not too convince for elderly and kids to go in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Close to MRT

Posted Apr 24, 2017
5 mins to Novena MRT, Shopping mall and Newton food court. Family Room is big and clean.
3 out of 5
by Yvette

Average

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was not very professional. There was a smell to the place that was not very pleasant. But for a 3 star hotel and price, it was not too bad.
3 out of 5
by Sim

Hotel Royal (1980s)

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Run down property with zero service mindset. It is amazing however that the hotel is still around when it seems like they still operate and function like a hotel in the 1980s. The only saving grace was the huge room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
First of all the staff should provide me the room request accordingly. Hotel should upgrade the slippers to disposal slippers. Hotel reception and cashier must arrange someone nicely and proceed check in or check out accordingly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Considering the price of hotels in Singapore I believe this hotel provides good value. Checked in early and was given one of the rooms in the suites. The rooms proved to be nice and modern and had all the facilities I required. Laundry facilities were also available free of charge which was an added bonus. Location was not bad as a bus stop was at the front of the hotel which had direct buses to Orchard Road and Chinatown, with Orchard Road being about 5 minutes away. If I was Singapore I would certainly stay here again having enjoyed my visit.