Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old colonial styling, nicely maintained and classy

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Only pleasant surprises at this old colonial style hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Love the veggie pizza the hotel restaurant made.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
My room was small and clean enough and pretty quiet. Staffs were helpful. The bathroom is small and the set up can be better. For example, hanging towels closer to the sink, providing a wash towel. The bath towel is so big in such a small space, it was a bit awkward to use. Power in the room requires the insert of a key card, and the window in my 2nd floor room is bolt, so the room is stuffy. In addition, the outlet of the air condition situated in the way that blows cool air at my head when I sleep. I am not sure if the other rooms have the same issues. The location is close to public transportation, restaurants. It is also convenient to hail a taxi. I had a veggie pizza at the hotel restaurant. It was thin crusted with very fresh ingredients, perfectly made. It was delicious. Thank you, chef.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Small but comfortable rooms - good amenities. Nice attached restaurant but very near to many other good places to eat. Good connections to public transport and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good area within 15 minutes by taxi to centre

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Great hotel in a nice neighbourhood. Staff very friendly and helpful. Has nice restaurant and bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Comfortable hotel, good location to local food!

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Staff members - reception and concierge. Good location for local foods.
Love this hotel. Excellent staff members (warm, friendly, helpful) and good location for local foods. Upon checking in, we were greeted warmly by the hotel receptionists. The receptionists that attended to us were Ms. Masrina and Noraisah We would also like to highly commend the Operation Manager, Delianna Liauw - she was exquisite, she asked how we were, are we comfortable, happy about the room, anything she can do further to assist!! She also recommended to us where and what is good to eat. Also a big thank you to the concierge guy (that attended to us in the morning) who hailed a taxi for us and helped us load our luggage into the cab. Thank you to the team mentioned above. They made our stay enjoyable and certainly whenever we are in Singapore, we will stay in this hotel again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Older hotel, and shows it. The room I got had no windows and smelt like it. Could hear everyone walking outside late at night so difficult to get some peace and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Pleasant Hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Mar 13, 2017
A litle remote but once you understand Singapore buses, it's easy to get around. Staff were exceptional but restaurant lacked the basics. Eggs on toast not on menu, steak poor, despite claim of NZ grain fed beef. Enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nostalgic, fantastic!

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Stayed in room 201 for 4 nights. The room is perfect for 2 adults. Not a lot of room bit we were out most of the time so no problems at all. They provide 2 bottles of water everytime they clean the room which was nice. The hotel is walking distance to either Tiong Bahru or Outram Park stns. But you can catch the bus located across the hotel. It is worth taking a stoll around the area as we discovered great places to eat, trendy cafes and nearby shopping centre. 100% recommend to stay in this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Location, bed was really comfy
Cons: Bathroom had a small step that I repeatedly stubbed my toes on. Ouch!
Location: Breakfast - Tiong Bahru Bakery, Lunch - Tiong Bahru Market (closed til May 2017), Dinner - Tiong Bahru Seafood Restaurant
If you are used to US hotel room proportions, you may find the room on the small size.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greece

nice small hotel but bedroom too small!

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: location, staff
Cons: bigger bedrooms
Location: good centre for restaurants and access to places in Singapore
Staff very helpful and friendly. adjacent restaurant facility for breakfasy and meals is good. The problem is that our room was tiny and nowhere to put luggage except on the floor. The little balcony saved the day.