Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Super friendly staff and a nice Hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Great and friendly Staff. Close to Market. Not far from Chinatown.
Cons: Not very close to trains. Building is a bit dated.
Location: See Main Review.
I really want to thank the staff at this hotel for helping to make my stay in Singapore more enjoyable. They were extremely helpful and friendly; far more than one would normally expect.In my view, the quality of the staff elevated a fairly middle-of-the-road hotel to a superior experience. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained and cleverly decorated but it is an older building and showing its age in places. My room had only a very small window and it was fitted with exterior panels which blocked most of the view (except downward to the street). This would prevent direct sunlight from overheating the room but it also meant little or no direct sunlight in the room at any time. From a location perspective, the hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes walking to the nearest transit rail station which is not super convenient but there are buses out front so, once you've figured them out, it's not hard to get around. Relative proximity to excellent food in Chinatown is an asset. Don't overlook the Tiong Bahru Market around the corner which has an excellent food court and some pretty interesting market stalls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent hotel near station

Posted Feb 17, 2017
decent hotel near station rooms good staff ok, rooms good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great hotel, right smack in tiong bahru

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Rooms were fantastic though abit small
Location: Lotsa food and a great local heritage area
Only downside is not near an MRT station, great food all around
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2017
good hotel near station wifi good tv good and fridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Return visit

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Well maintained hotel in traditional building close to town. Staff very helpful, rooms may be small but well decorated, well equipped and very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Very convenient to MRT station and nearby have good food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Cool concept hotel. Near SGH is a plus point. Near tiong Bahru market and the cafes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and quite convenient hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The character of the place, the smell of the hotel and its convenience to many eateries
Cons: The room door was a bit tricky to close. we took a lot of time trying to close the door everytime we went out. Hotel should ensure that this is fixed
Location: Close to eateries, pubs etc. There is a hawker centre nearby. Generally location is not too bad and between 2 MRT stations (15 min walk)
Quite happy with my stay in this hotel. It has many eateries around. Only thing is room has no window so we were ignorant as to what is the weather like outside. It is between 2 MRT stations so it is a bit difficult when taking the MRT
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Traditional building close to town

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Price, comfort, cleanliness, good condition, facilities in room
Location: Close to restaurants, bars. Easy for transport
Room quite small, but very comfortable and reasonable value for money. I would stay again in this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Hotel was very good and clean, but very small and the breakfast was boring without many options...