Ratings based on 644 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel, fantastic position, very close to MRT

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The hotel is authentically old style Singapore, offers great value, quite comfortable, great breakfast, very helpful staff and the position is perfect
Location: In Little India, with lots to see and do and places to eat, and very close to a MRT.
Hotel Perak was lovely to stay at, the position is fantastic, the hotel staff are very helpful, the hotel offers a great breakfast.. A really lovely Singapore place to stay if you like to be in amongst the life there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could do better for the price

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Cons: Improve wifi upstairs its so easy to do...............................................................................................................
Average hotel with good staff, rooms are worn. TV has no cable stations and wifi was weak on level 3. No elevator as well. Bfast was ok and location near many shops and food places. Train stn 80 mtrs away.
4 out of 5
by Richard

Thumbs up for the Perak

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Perak Hotel is comfortable and homely and is good value for the price. For me a hotel is a place to sleep, have a shower, eat brekky and stow your luggage. The hotel is clean, the bed is comfortable, the air- con is good, the shower is hot and works well and the staff are friendly and helpful. It is in a fab location (in Little India) surrounded by great eateries and the MRT is at the end of the street (30 second walk) Definitely be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Friendly hotel in Little India

Posted Nov 30, 2016
From the moment guests are offered an orange juice while checking in, the staff at this small hotel go out of their way to make travellers feel at home. The rooms aren't large but the hot water is hot and the aircon as cool as you want to set it. Also there is a new train station (on the Downtown line) right near the hotel and the Indian food of Serangoon Road is just around the corner. Convenience, value for money and great staff combine to make this my favourite hotel in Singapore.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy Access to Rest of Singapore

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very near Rochor MRT station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

Helpful hotel staff

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The friendliness of the staff.
Location: Well placed for transport and interesting area to walk around.
Pleasant hotel with excellent transport facilities next to MRT. I had a minor accident walking in the city and the hotel concierge was most helpful and gave me some first aid which very much appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Happy with stay

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Price, proximity to MRT, friendly staff
Cons: A few repairs to the room would help aesthetically
Location: Very close to MRT. Close to Little India, easy enough to get to / from airport with couple of train changes.
Stayed 5 nights. Staff always pleasant and smiling. Got a welcome drink of OJ on arrival and shown to room. Had booked a single room but got a double bed so very happy with this. Room in need of a bit of care - paint off walls and some marks in bathroom, and some slight stains on some linen with towels that were cleaned daily but not exactly fluffy ( but they did their job ). Room cleaned and organised each day. No TV guide and difficulty finding English speaking channel, but did not come to Singapore to watch TV. Air conditioner cold and had to be turned off at night time. Room quiet at night, bed comfortable enough. Shower hot and adequate flow. Room has safe and some storage facilities. Breakfast in foyer area - fruit, one cereal and one option for breakfast each morning ( eggs and beans, or eggs and friend rice, or similar ) plus toast and tea / coffee. Not extensive but adequate to start the day. Free wifi in foyer area, reasonable speed for me. Brochures in foyer area on things to see and do. Very close to MRT - about 100m and within walking distance to main street of Little India. I felt safe and comfortable here and although it could do with a little TLC, for the price I paid in what is otherwise a very expensive city, I thought it was very good value for money and I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

eh

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: addressing the issues I wrote about above.
Location: Very convenient to MRT and lots of things to see.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was great because it was so close to the MRT; However, the hotel was close to a bar that had loud music until late at night so if you are sensitive to noise (as I am) I would not recommend this hotel. Also, every morning, very early, someone would be rolling things up and down the hallway (there was a tile floor) which always woke me up, which wasn't pleasant since the music lasted until 3 am every night. The first set of towels I was given appeared to have dried up paint or something on them which made me a bit concerned about what the towels are used for. The air conditioning until looked like it had never been cleaned and was full of dust. There was no mini-bar and the safe did not work. Wifi did not work in the room so you had to go to the common area/dining room to use it which was inconvenient. I wish there was a way to clarify this on Expedia so that you can know in advance about the wifi not being available within the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: the room is clean, facilities are new, Wifi also good
Cons: Food
Location: Good location, easy to get taxi, nearby Mustafa Centre
Staffs are helpful except the Bangladeshi receptionist who worked on the first day we reached there. Very stern and not smiling at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce hotel in Little India

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Small but friendly. Excellent position
Cons: It was fine
Location: Close to the Indian Centre and shopping centres and restaurants and little shops. Area full of life.
The position was excellent and the staff really helpful and friendly. Liked the old fashioned touch to the decor.