Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Shangri-La was a Shangri-La.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Everything except check in which should improve after the reconstruction and redecorating of the new lobby and reception area.
Cons: Men's spa area with massage attendants as an option.
Location: Lunch at Pollen's located at Gardens by the Bay and visiting the gardens was enchanting.
Check in was a bit cumbersome since the hotel is under reconstruction of the main lobby and reception desk areas. Too many folks checking in for the one person, eventually two, to handle the number of guests arriving. However, after that confusion the staff couldn't have been more polite and accommodating. The buffet lunch was one of the best I have ever seen and the food was delicious. The room was very clean and neat and the beds very comfortable. Used the pool and work out area and they were very clean, modern and spacious. The men's locker room was obviously a spa at one time and the only thing missing was the availability of massage by the male attendants. You can get massage from female attendants at the Hotel Spa (nit convenient) but a choice and convenience of location at the men's locker room with sauna, steam and hot tub would be much nicer. The Cantonese restaurant in the hotel is amazing and the Italian restaurant is also very good. Checkout was easy and the cabs arrive right on time whenever requested. Overall the experience was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Reto Klauser, Vice President and General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ron, Warm greetings from Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind compliments about the hotel. Your feedback has been shared with the team for continuous improvement of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Reto Klauser Vice President and General Manager Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Satasota, Fl

Wonderfully beautiful hotel.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Fabulous hotel with great amenities! Great buffet for breakfast and lunch and dinner. Cantonese restaurant superb.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Reto Klauser, Vice President and General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ron, Warm greetings from Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore. Thank you for taking the time to share this positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your compliments about the amenities and dining offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards, Reto Klauser Vice President and General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oasis in Singapore

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Our third stay this year. It's good but a lesser experience given current renovations & no foyer. The staff are first rate & working under difficult conditions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Reto Klauser, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, Greetings from Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore.While we are glad that you had an overall positive experience, we are sorry to hear that certain aspects fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with our team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Reto Klauser Vice President and General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

high quality hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Great hotel; excellent facilities and room. Got some inexact tour info from concierge at Valley desk but we figured it out. Fitness club and locker facilities were awesome! Enjoyed all & excellent attendant. Chinese restaurant in hotel was let down. Service was slow and food was not anything special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Reto Klauser, Vice President and General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Warm greetings from Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore. Thank you for taking the time to share this overall positive review of the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and service provided, and appreciate your feedback about Shang Palace's offerings which provide us with an opportunity to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

My Private Haven

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Sense of comfort and luxury, brilliant rooms and good service.
Cons: Summit room was very busy in the morning, some had to wait to get a table
Location: Didn't go to any
I recently spent 3 nights in the Valley Wing at the Shangri-La Singapore on the way back to Perth after a month away. I had spent the previous 4 weeks with different people every day and just wanted some alone time. From the time I arrived until it was time to head off I didn't leave the hotel, it was just what I needed. The rooms have every conceivable luxury and are very spacious and comfortable . The staff are friendly and courteous. The Valley Wing experience meant that nearly everything was included, the Summit room breakfast was a great way to start the day and with drinks, afternoon tea and canapés available in the lobby until 10pm I didn't feel the need to leave. Lounging by the pool in the spacious gardens I adjusted quickly from the long flights from Italy and soon felt relaxed and pampered. I would definitely return to this hotel if I was going back to Singapore .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Reto Klauser, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for sharing this positive review of the hotel. We are heartened to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Valley Wing and in particular, enjoyed the room, breakfast at Summit Room and service. Thank you for your kind compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Reto Klauser Vice President and General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ChCh NZ

Pwrfect for R & R

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Great location away from the hustle & bustle but a short walk to the shops at Orchard Rd - or the wonderful Botanic Gardens. Staff were exemplary - great gym facilities and pool. Yummy meals in the restaurants and great cocktails ! The nightly entertainment in the lobby bar was a real bonus - great way to finish the day. Highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Reto Klauser, Hotel Management
Dear Gins101, Warm greetings from Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore! Thank you for taking the time to share this positive review of the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your compliments about our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Reto Klauser Vice President and General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Not bad hotel, but a little bit old. Pool is OK but not excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Reto Klauser, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your feedback about certain shortfalls in offerings you have experienced. I have shared your feedback with our team who continually strive to ensure our guests enjoy seamless and positive experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Reto Klauser Vice President and General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to Orchard Road

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location, big and clean rooms, gardens.
Cons: Service. However I must say that evening staff in the lounge were friendly and attentive.
Location: Shopping on and beneath Orchard Road. Visit the Botanic Gardens which is 20 mins walk (not 10 as advised by the concierge). Hop on hop off bus
We found that we could do everything in about 3 days, although we went for 5. The hotel was the first Shangri-la which I have to say, having stayed at other hotels in this chain, was a disappointment. We usually stay in the Club rooms so I expected the best. However.... - Location was good but the hotel needs some refurbishment. - The rooms were big and clean. The beds were uncomfortable. Turn down service needs some improvement. - Club lounge does not serve Champagne in the price. This is extra. Every other Shangri-la I've stayed at, serves Champagne at this price. For that matter, every other hotel in the same price bracket serves Champagne at this price. - Gym bathrooms were dirty. - The food at the restaurants was good but service need improvement. Although we could have breakfast in the lounge (which was sometimes slow), we did venture to the buffet for some variety on a few occasions. However, we noticed that there was no coordination or supervision in the restaurant. If you left your seat to go to the buffet, chances were that someone else was sitting there when you returned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Reto Klauser, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us which gives us the opportunity to continually improve our hotel facilities and service standards. We strive to create positive and memorable hotel experiences for our guests and sincerely apologise for falling short of your expectations during your visit. We have noted your comments about our guest room, Horizon Club experience, amenities and service which we have shared with our team who are reviewing your comments to ensure that your concern that were raised are addressed and resolved. We apologise once again for your disappointing experience and hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and recover your impression of the hotel. Best regards, Reto Klauser Vice President and General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Garden Living

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Great staycation with my family with 2 kids (1.5 and 4.5 years old) The service from the reception to staff at the pool have been amazing :) Nice, helpful and attentive. Pool is great for children, with many shallow play areas suitable for both my kids. It is quite a walking distant to the nearest shopping centre but there are frequent shuttle to the city. We took an evening stroll out which is nice :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Reto Klauser, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It brings us utmost pleasure to be able to provide you with a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Reto Klauser Vice President and General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly atmosphere and clean

Posted Aug 18, 2016
We had a great stay with the family in one of the Horizon club rooms. The staff are extremely friendly and a special thanks to Cory for being so accomodating for a late checkout due to our flight delay. A fantastic stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Reto Klauser, Hotel Management
Dear Africa, Thank you for taking the time to share this positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular enjoyed the service you received. Thank you for your compliments, we will share them with the team and we look most forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Reto Klauser Vice President and General Manager